Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My QLD Team

bowen_1

This is the team i would pick, not sure what the selectors think

1. Bowen - in irresistable form; combo with thurston
2. Hunt - would work well here, switching between fullback and wing
3. Hodges - best centre in the game
4. Inglis - centre is his best position; tate is past it and too error prone
5. Graham - one of the most improved players in the comp, qld a bit light-on for wingers
6. Lockyer
7. Thurston
8. Civoniceva
9. Smith
10. Price
11. Crocker - aggression
12. Thaiday (Webb if fit) - big mobile forward; adds balance to the pack
13. Johnson - tackling machine

14. Berrigan - versatile; always a handful for the defence
15. Scott - great start to the year
16. Kaufusi - aus rep; big bopper
17. Carlaw - going well this year for once in his life

yawn

why is bowen a better interchange than hunt? imo bowen is too small to play wing. slater is the minimum size.

icewind

bowen_1 said:
This is the team i would pick, not sure what the selectors think

1. Bowen - in irresistable form; combo with thurston
2. Hunt - would work well here, switching between fullback and wing
3. Hodges - best centre in the game
4. Inglis - centre is his best position; tate is past it and too error prone
5. Graham - one of the most improved players in the comp, qld a bit light-on for wingers
6. Lockyer
7. Thurston
8. Civoniceva
9. Smith
10. Price
11. Crocker - aggression
12. Thaiday (Webb if fit) - big mobile forward; adds balance to the pack
13. Johnson - tackling machine

14. Berrigan - versatile; always a handful for the defence
15. Scott - great start to the year
16. Kaufusi - aus rep; big bopper
17. Carlaw - going well this year for once in his life

Tate is 25. Hardly 'past it'. Just in poor form. That said, I have always felt that he needs to learn to pass the ball a bit more, and I would not be averse to leaving him out should his form not warrant it, especially with the number of inform centres in the comp, ie hodges, tonga, bell etc and then theres inglis.

Coaster

My side

1 Hunt
2 Slater
3 Hodges
4 Tonga
5 Inglis
6 Lockyer
7 Thurston
8 Petro
9 Smith
10 Kafusie
11 Crocker
12 Thaiday
13 Johnson

My second side in case the first side gets injured

1 Bowen
2 Wesser
3 Tate
4 Bell
5 Falou
6 Prince
7 Cronk
8 Price
9 Berrigan
10 Ross
11 Thorn
12 Myles
13 Carroll

and some extras that have SOO experience that i cant fit in
PJ Marsh, Carlaw, Hannay, Ty Williams, Webb, Stagg, Rogers, Myers, Bowman, Flannery

Go you good things:shock:

Pistol

curious said:
My side

1 Hunt
2 Slater
3 Hodges
4 Tonga
5 Inglis
6 Lockyer
7 Thurston
8 Petro
9 Smith
10 Kafusie
11 Crocker
12 Thaiday
13 Johnson

My second side in case the first side gets injured

1 Bowen
2 Wesser
3 Tate
4 Bell
5 Falou
6 Prince
7 Cronk
8 Price
9 Berrigan
10 Ross
11 Thorn
12 Myles
13 Carroll

and some extras that have SOO experience that i cant fit in
PJ Marsh, Carlaw, Hannay, Ty Williams, Webb, Stagg, Rogers, Myers, Bowman, Flannery

Go you good things:shock:

Price will be the second prop picked
As i said before, Stagg hasnt played a game this year. Bowman has since given rep footy a break, Flannery is injured, Folau isnt within a bulls roar of Origin yet

bowen_1

icewind said:
Tate is 25. Hardly 'past it'. Just in poor form. That said, I have always felt that he needs to learn to pass the ball a bit more, and I would not be averse to leaving him out should his form not warrant it, especially with the number of inform centres in the comp, ie hodges, tonga, bell etc and then theres inglis.

To me he looks past it. Doesn't seem like he's been the same player since his neck injury. He used to be an awesome ball-runner, one of my favourite players in full flight. Hope he proves me wrong and gets back to his best.

Pistol

bowen_1 said:
To me he looks past it. Doesn't seem like he's been the same player since his neck injury. He used to be an awesome ball-runner, one of my favourite players in full flight. Hope he proves me wrong and gets back to his best.

did you not watch games two and three last year

he was awesome and i think he got man of the match in the third and narrowly missed out on game two

Sanchez

Sanchez said:
Bowen
Wesser
Inglis
Hodges
Slater
Lockyer
Thurston
Price
Smith
Civo
Crocker
Stagg
Johnson

Webb
Thaiday
Lillyman
Berrigan

upon further thought unlike my on the spot picks above i revise my team to:

Bowen
Inglis
Tonga
Hodges
Slater
Lockyer
Thurston
Ross
Smith
Price
Crocker
Civoniceva
Johnson

Webb
Thaiday/Nutley
Lillyman
Berrigan

if fit i would have flannery ont he bench instead of lillyman

Pistol

Sanchez said:
upon further thought unlike my on the spot picks above i revise my team to:

Bowen
Inglis
Tonga
Hodges
Slater
Lockyer
Thurston
Ross
Smith
Price
Crocker
Civoniceva
Johnson

Webb
Thaiday/Nutley
Lillyman
Berrigan

if fit i would have flannery ont he bench instead of lillyman

Carroll has to be there, Nutley has no chance

Pistol

carroll is still highly regarded by the selectors

if it were up to me, i would pick carlaw in my side, played 12 origins and 6 tests but as they say, form is temporary

Ghoulies

1. Hunt
2. Tate
3. Hodges
4. Tonga
5. Inglis
6. Lockyer
7. Thurston
8. Price
9. Smith
10. Civoniceva
11. Thaiday
12. Carroll
13. Johnson

14. Berrigan
15. Carlaw
16. Ross
17. Logan/Lillyman

With any luck selectors won't make the mistake of picking a specialist fullback on the wing again (like Wesser from game 3 last year and Slater in game 3 of the '04 series).

Pistol

Ghoulies said:
1. Hunt
2. Tate
3. Hodges
4. Tonga
5. Inglis
6. Lockyer
7. Thurston
8. Price
9. Smith
10. Civoniceva
11. Thaiday
12. Carroll
13. Johnson

14. Berrigan
15. Carlaw
16. Ross
17. Logan/Lillyman

With any luck selectors won't make the mistake of picking a specialist fullback on the wing again (like Wesser from game 3 last year and Slater in game 3 of the '04 series).

slater played all 3 on the wing in 04

but thats a hell of a side, i'll pay that

Pistol

Hunt
Tate
Hodges
Bell
Inglis
Lockyer
Thurston
Price
Smith
Thaiday
Carroll
Johnson

Ross
Berrigan
Carlaw
Myles

Coaster

My side was in jest, to just state that i could pick TWO Great QueenslandSOO sides.

Pistol you need to get Crocker in there somewhere.

Ok my real side inc. reserves

1 Hunt
2 Tate
3 Tonga
4 Hodges
5 Inglis
6 Lockyer
7 Thurston
8 Petro
9 Smith
10 Price
11 Johnson
12 Crocker
13 Carroll

14 Kafusie
15 Berrigan
16 Carlaw
17 Thaiday

Pistol

curious said:
My side was in jest, to just state that i could pick TWO Great QueenslandSOO sides.

Pistol you need to get Crocker in there somewhere.

Ok my real side inc. reserves

1 Hunt
2 Tate
3 Tonga
4 Hodges
5 Inglis
6 Lockyer
7 Thurston
8 Petro
9 Smith
10 Price
11 Johnson
12 Crocker
13 Carroll

14 Kafusie
15 Berrigan
16 Carlaw
17 Thaiday

in regards to crocker, i reckon the qld selectors will pick him mate tbh
but i personally think he is a liability, great for Origin with his aggro but can go overboard and in origin, that can come back and bite you on the backside

ur side smells of class though.. its a great team :)

do have a question mark on kaufusi but its ur opinion and as they say in the classics, "the proof is in the pudding" and "we'll wait and see where the chips fall"

yawn

the only reason crocker gets picked becoz he has red hair. that is BS. having red hair doesnt make u tuffer or a better player.