Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Brown guides St Helens to GF

64 Dragon

Possm, you do realise the club has no money. Steve Price is already getting some of it for doing nothing. You really think Doust will like paying another coach for not coaching?

St Georgio

Just get over your FETISH with Brown. He had a great team with no silver wear in the cupboard. He win a "B" grade grand final and all of a sudden he is a super coach and lord our saviour.

I ask you one question. Are you one of the supporters who banded around "DOWN BROWN" if so I rest my case.

The Only reason Nathan Brown didn't win in 2006 with us, was the Melbourne Storm Cheated the Salary Cap.
We smashed the Donkeys twice that year!

rainman44

I'd like to see the Club reverse their decision on our head coach. Offer Mary the assistants job, Cutter's job or pay him out.

I say appoint Brown as head coach on a 3 year deal before someone else grabs him.

Im with you all the way, Brown is ready and everyone just wait and see in his next coaching gig.

grouch

Yep. The only difference between Brown and Maguire/Robinson (both now NRL premiership winners) is that the perception of Brown is tainted by being thrown into the top job too early. His success in the ESL is equal to or better than those two, and really his prior NRL experience make him a better qualified candidate than them also.

rainman44

Yep. The only difference between Brown and Maguire/Robinson (both now NRL premiership winners) is that the perception of Brown is tainted by being thrown into the top job too early. His success in the ESL is equal to or better than those two, and really his prior NRL experience make him a better qualified candidate than them also.

That's why im so angry with the merkins running the show, dumb is not the word. Brown is the complete package now as his eye for talent is top shelf and experience is now ticked off and he is a smart football brain and I just hope to God one day soon I see Brown back running the show.

Jubileeboy

FMD.... I agree with you on this

(Checks outside for ending of the earth)

:)

Slippery Morris

If Saints go well next season under Mary then kudos to him. He will have gone through one of the worst off season in our history with all this rubbish going on with salary cap, rumours etc. I think David Waite had a worse off season as he did not have a full squad until weeks before kickoff and we all saw how well Saints did that season. One of the best they had. Maybe the same result will happen next season only they won't be cheated by a ref call in the Grand Final.

If Mary goes bad then good chance they can bring Browny back. He is a Dragon boy through and through and I am sure he will jump at the chance to come back and coach his beloved Dragons. Sure he may get a job somewhere else FOR NOW but if Mary struggles then he may be tempted to come back. Think of it as a win win. Trying to be optimistic here.

Only issue is how long will they give Mary if he is struggling? Hopefully not as much as they gave Price. They surely have learnt the longer they keep him the more damage he will do. If Saints can make the 8 then we can stop talking about our coach. Most of our comments have dominated this topic the last 2 years.

BennyV

Slip, i imagine that Mary will get a run of at least 2 years, regardless of results. This whole salary cap drama and issues with the squad is a fresh batch of excuses for an unproven coach to fail. I would go as far as to say that, unless we cop 2 wooden spoons in a row (which we wont) Mary has the job for 3 years and is pretty much untouchable. Even further evidenced by the media flood and guys like Timmo suggesting that dragons fans need to be patient and that it may take Mary 3 years to build us up again.

FlameThrower

Seriously you'd think this Club is going out if it's way to get the fans offside...last season we managed to get a decent membership tally, It will be very interesting to see how we go in 2015? Rumours or not, media hype or not - it does look like panic stations at the Club?

Slippery Morris

Memberships will be interesting. Makes you think that the club is holding off announcing any news on recruitment because they know it will impact people renewing their memberships. If guys like Morris and Merrin are gone it will pi$$ off alot of members and that will be the last straw for them to renew their membership.

bottle

Memberships won't be affected anything like people on here will likely prophesise. We had these same discussions last year, and the sky didn't fall in as was predicted.
There is s certain level of inertia when it comes to renewing memberships. Heaps of factors play their part, including fear of losing your 'good seats' never to get them back. The high level of consternation on the forums doesn't necessarily reflect the general fan vibe. We are a particular microcosm of the fan base. I get the feeling that there is, rightly or wrongly, a more positive outlook amongst the larger fan base with a new coach in place. Note, I'm not saying it's warranted, just that I think it exists.

TonyTrugett

Between Mary and Brown yes but not the club. Mary use to play games when Brown was the coach and wanted to be the coach back then and it's all his now.

Not sure about this. Browny used to sleep over at marys (not kidding) and used to drink at the towradgi beach hotel together

TruSaint

Good point. (bottle).

I was one of those whom predicted Armageddon last year. Didn't happen. And that was with Price in charge.

The club will get its quota, albeit average. To those whom dont renew, I get it. Same with those who do.

Time is an amazing healer of anger.

Im gonna sound like a broken record, but I dont have it in for Price or Mary. They are employees.

Doust and co need to step up and clear this mess we are in.

dragonreddy

Memberships won't be affected anything like people on here will likely prophesise. We had these same discussions last year, and the sky didn't fall in as was predicted.
There is s certain level of inertia when it comes to renewing memberships. Heaps of factors play their part, including fear of losing your 'good seats' never to get them back. The high level of consternation on the forums doesn't necessarily reflect the general fan vibe. We are a particular microcosm of the fan base. I get the feeling that there is, rightly or wrongly, a more positive outlook amongst the larger fan base with a new coach in place. Note, I'm not saying it's warranted, just that I think it exists.

Good points you make here Bottle, although i wouldn't underestimate the number of interstate red-v members who make up the numbers ,there is a significant number of interstate supporters for whom seat allocation isn't part of the equation.

Whilst the money coming from interstate supporters is less than Sydney based ones it is still needed by the club.

Hopefully you are right and no difference to the downside happens but i think if there is one more bad year there will be a big impact.

Nice footnote you may have saved yourself from a few attacks there.:D

bottle

[/B]

Good points you make here Bottle, although i wouldn't underestimate the number of interstate red-v members who make up the numbers ,there is a significant number of interstate supporters for whom seat allocation isn't part of the equation.

Whilst the money coming from interstate supporters is less than Sydney based ones it is still needed by the club.

Hopefully you are right and no difference to the downside happens but i think if there is one more bad year there will be a big impact.

Nice footnote you may have saved yourself from a few attacks there.:D

It wont help. Watch the usual suspects accuse me of defending Doust and Mary.:roll:

TruSaint

It wont help. Watch the usual suspects accuse me of defending Doust and Mary.:roll:

Bottle are you fair dinkum mate.?
You are Mary's cousin, and Priceys manager.
We all know that. Get serious man.

There you go...

Next :roll::roll::roll:

rainman44

Not sure about this. Browny used to sleep over at marys (not kidding) and used to drink at the towradgi beach hotel together
Mary is mates with everyone, ask Price how close they were. Mary did us a favour with Price but i had a good mate in those dressing rooms back then and Mary loved to do things that Brown didnt want done, eg Brown told the team to get changed and wanted the team out the back of kogarah oval to warm up and told Mary to get them out there asap so Mary decides to go to Barrett and ask him if he would rather stay inside the dressing rooms to warm up as it was wet and raining, Barrett said yes he would rather stay inside so Mary yells out to Brown and says the boys want to stay inside, Brown blew his stack and told everyone to get the f**k out there and told Mary that he is the f**king coach. My mate who worked for the club was right there and seen it all and thats only one of them.

BennyV

Thanks Dousty :sarcasm:

Get2dachopper!

Brown is the best coach available. Sign him. Pay out Mary using the money they were suppose to use for Bennett. It's not really that complicated.

Think of it akin to a bride not turning up on her wedding day leaving the groom at the alter. Sure, everyone will be up in arms initially. But after a period of time, it works out best for everyone.