Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Melbourne Stadium

Are we really going down this path again?? I thought this thread was about the Melbourne Stadium?? Ok you asked for it...

a) you are wrong, get your geography right mate, SFS as the crow flies is closer to Balmain than Homebush..fact. If you don't believe me go on google earth and work it out.

b) they offered them a better deal

c) it is a far superior stadium to watch games at

d) it is irrelevant where the team plays. we are one of the only Sydney clubs which is close to breaking even. Why? It is simple, because we share our games around.

Now lets get back onto the stadium topic.

I don't give a flying fig how close Balmain is to the SFS. The SFS is in Moore Park. Moore Park is a suburb in the EASTERN Suburbs. The club's name is the WESTS Tigers. And if you REALLY want to play the distance game, go on google earth and tell me how far Moore Park to Campbelltown is. :thumb

Pretty sure it's 31.5, that's what I keep hearing Goddo...

Lockyer4President!

The always reliable internet rumour mill told me that they can add a few thousand temporary seats for soccer games behind the goals, which would probably take it up to 34K.

Quidgybo

The always reliable internet rumour mill told me that they can add a few thousand temporary seats for soccer games behind the goals, which would probably take it up to 34K.
I believe the plan is that during the soccer season some of the seats behind the goal will be removed to provide a standing room terrace, hence the difference in capacity for the two sports - 31,500 all seated vs 34,000 with seats and standing room.

Leigh.

Goddo

I wonder if there is a future for standing terraces for rugby league, especially in grounds with hills now. Sort of let fans have a standing room area... I think it would work well.

Lockyer4President!

I believe the plan is that during the soccer season some of the seats behind the goal will be removed to provide a standing room terrace, hence the difference in capacity for the two sports - 31,500 all seated vs 34,000 with seats and standing room.

Leigh.

Ahh, that makes more sense.

Evenflow

There hasn't been an update for a while so here's some pics that have been posted on various forums. Looks like it's coming along very nicely.

30kgf35.jpg

334rklj.jpg

2uhal1j.jpg

25g5std.jpg

k0loo8.jpg

Goddo

They should so level olympic park when its done. Horrible little ground, not even fit for high school athletics.

Goddo

You can see a tiny part of the roof is finished in the bottom right hand corner of that last photo (the tiny bit that looks like a spiders web)- Between the triangular glass and louvres they will have a water catching drainage system installed from the inside. Training and office facilities will be top class.

The Storm, Melbourne Rebels (S15), Melbourne Demons (AFL) and Melbourne Victory will be sharing the facilities iirc. The new A league team Melbourne Heart hasn't decided where it will be based but will play here last I heard.

Looking forward to the first game there with the roof lit up Purple and a sell out crowd. Future looks a lot brighter for the Storm. :)

Looks awsome. Nice steep terracing like in Europe will really put you on top of the action and help create a great atmposphere. Looking forward to getting across next year to see a game there. I am so envious, Wake up WA Govt!!

Slackboy72

It's amazing what can happen when politicians decide to get behind their local sport.
Unlike in NSW where cnuts like Bob Carr wanted us all to go to art galleries instead.

Goddo

Slackboy, Melbourne beats the sh!t out of Sydney on cultural things like museums, galleries, theatre and other live entertainment.

Sydney rests on its laurels of having a beautiful harbour and a few nice buildings. Generally, the place is a mess... some suburbs really need complete leveling and rebuilding. Occasionally Sydney does something awesome, like the Opera House, Bridge or Olympics, but usually the people who enabled it to happen were treated like sh!t and it almost didn't happen (Bradfield on the Bridge, Utzon with the O House et cetera)

NSW Governments (both sides) since the 70s and NSW's paranoid media (We all know how bad they are on footy, well they are just as bad at everything else) have a lot to answer for in this regard.

The Metro is another classic example. Sydney's transport infrastructure is terrible and will only get worse. A large capital investment is needed NOW. I remember hearing that Sydneys transport system is now concidered on par with 3rd world countries. People are constantly whinging about how bad it is, yet everytime a Government says "Okay we have a plan, lets do something but it will be costly" they get shot down from every direction imaginable... Don't vote for the Liberals if you want to see progress on this.

Anything worth doing isn't cheap or easy. Napoleon leveled Paris and cleared out its slums to make it the city it is today. We sort of need to do the same...

This state is going nowhere fast...

Slackboy72

Oh definitely, my point is though that in NSW sport has always been seen as a nuisance. A distraction for uneducated bogans and hooligans.
In Victoria it is seen as a vital cog in the social and cultural lifeblood of the community. Why is the MCG the world class facility that it is?
Because the Vic Govt have poured millions into it because they feel it is a jewel in the crown of public infrastructure. They feel that football is as important to people as
the poeple feel it themselves.
What has NSW done that is similar?
You can't help but think that NSW governments despise their people for wanting basic services and infrastructure.

griffo346

whats the capacity of the new ground minimum would have to be 40k if given a chance for world cup selection

In regards to the comment re standing end, this is a great idea. Many people do enjoy standing at a RL game and if done right does add to the atmosphere. Warrington built a cheapish stadium with one end covered terrace standing and everyone raves about it a s agood mix between old and new.

warrington_halliwelljonesstadium1.jpg