Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New rule

rasaint

I have had my say on other threads.

Boardlumps good post because I was going to mention the close in dummy half trys etc but thought ‘ nah already said enough it’s over because it’s over 4 dragons out on suspension and all the nrl administration and commentary conglomerate are singing the same hymn.

However, when I watched Nathan Cleary score that very good close in running crash over try ( his 1 st one) the last Titans defender whacked him in the head as he scored. Let me be clear there was nothing intentional in the Titans guy tackle who I think was AJ Brimson. Just that Nathan had cut through and the Titans guy was desperately reacting to make up ground and dislodge the ball or get under him whatever. ( yes a bit like Fui in some respects). That happens at times every weekend and it’s why some blokes who score crash over trys get up looking pretty dusty. Yet it can be argued ‘where is the duty of care by the defender, direct forceful late hit to the head and so forth’.

Oh dear more contradictions. Very soon ; if not this weekend the inevitable’ balanced’ approach already being put forward will be introduced before seriously, all the contradictions break the games back.

thebigredv

LOL look at the mess V'landys has landed us in in the cowboys game. 13 v 11 and the game turns around completely. The game that we know is looking pretty dead. Plus, theres been other head high tackles missed by the scrambling cowboys so its a lottery which is going to be interpreted as all sorts of bias.

FlameThrower

The new rules make the game quicker, BUT are making the game, a game of luck and referring decisions.
And in a space of 10 minutes the game can swing wildly if you are down 1 or 2 players.
I get player welfare, but this has swung too far and has huge impact on the game. Not to mention all of a sudden everything is going on report. But then again other players get away with identical tackles and not penalised or called out....
The Bunker now can swing and control the game more than ever, with reviewing an awarded TRY , and looking for some obscure angle in super slow motion that calls into doubt a TRY awarded in front of the ref in real time......

Illusion

And in a space of 10 minutes the game can swing wildly if you are down 1 or 2 players.
I get player welfare, but this has swung too far and has huge impact on the game. Not to mention all of a sudden everything is going on report. But then again other players get away with identical tackles and not penalised or called out....
The Bunker now can swing and control the game more than ever, with reviewing an awarded TRY , and looking for some obscure angle in super slow motion that calls into doubt a TRY awarded in front of the ref in real time......
The way the game was last year with changes I'm ok with , but the way they are going this year , like I have said before it wont be the game we have known .... The new game should be called something else with all its changes there will be no need for forwards as the next thing they will scrap will be the scrums .... They days of the big forwards taking the ball up will die out .... We will have a game full of quick players that can scoot from dummy half .... The changes with the tackling now , will really bring the little fast players to the game ..... Anyway a couple of more changes to the game by V"Landys will just about see me changing sports .... Netball looks good to me on Saturday afternoon at least they are better to look at than a bunch of meat heads ...... :)

denis preston

Trent Merrin retired too early. Imagine he could be a sensation with his offloads. Thats one positive here second phase play should be revitalised. Perhaps , ultimately the ruck may not be so heavily scrutinised to compensate.

We always wanted a more open game but 4 to 5 blowout scores every week wont look good and this coupled with 2 to 3 teams only premiership contenders. Looks like rugby league rulebook amendment 2950 coming up !

Inisai Toga

Trent Merrin retired too early. Imagine he could be a sensation with his offloads. Thats one positive here second phase play should be revitalised. Perhaps , ultimately the ruck may not be so heavily scrutinised to compensate.

We always wanted a more open game but 4 to 5 blowout scores every week wont look good and this coupled with 2 to 3 teams only premiership contenders. Looks like rugby league rulebook amendment 2950 coming up !
.. regards Merrin, could never understand why the backs didn’t follow him like a drovers’s dog.

Dragon David

What I am waiting to see is the top teams copping what we and some other clubs have copped with sin bins and send offs and see how they feel about the new rules then. Maybe the top team coaches have instilled more discipline in their players to adhere to the new rules and therefore they will continue on their winning ways with the same squad each week.

thebigredv

Last night when the Cowboys got down to eleven I counted at least three tackles they made that could have been bins or killer penalties. If that had happened the worse team would have won the game. Is that what fans want?

It's the same as how they miraculously put away whistle on the six again calls in the last 20 of the match. I don't blame the refs, there's too much expected of them.

Agree with Griffin they need to be consistent now. We will have a mass of players missing from every game of every round...except maybe roosters.

Gourley's Socks

I can appreciate the intent of the new rule. I can even accept that the application of it will be inconsistent throughout the match as referees are subject to an increase in fatigue just as are the players.

What I cant tolerate though is the lack of transparency after the fact - when the time-criticality is removed. I'm speaking specifically of the MRC and to a lesser extent the judiciary.

There was a laughable puff-piece in the SMH a couple of weeks back about the MRC process but just how difficult would it be for the NRL to publish the minutes of these meetings?!

At least then fans would know why one tackle was deemed worthy of a charge while another (eg Kafusi) was not.

rasaint

Agree Gourley. The whole MRC and Judiciary thing is an increasingly capacious animal imo.

Lack of transparency to fans who actually provide the $$$ for the whole gravy train to continue. Why not publish grading reasons why a tackle is reckless or careless and why grade 1 but not 2 or 3 etc. I will tell you why it won’t happen….it then opens up a bigger can of worms. Related to this fans have basically no idea why the 6 again is called as they watch the game.

Why Fui a ‘reckless tackle’ with big suspension and another ‘careless’ eg Herman E’se or what about Tupouniua roosters apparent head high and head slam gets …drum roll …careless grade 1.? Fui was judged to have head highed backward facing Papanhuzen as he frantically tried to shut down a quick Storm backline move when we were one short. Papenhuyzen stayed down and no doubt was genuinely concussed. Oh that’s ‘reckless’ not ‘careless’ is it?

It seems to me that the grading system is influenced by the end result of whether the player stays down, the profile of the player ( vlands specifically mentions Paps as an elite player) the perceived power of various clubs and a few other bits and pieces. I may be wrong. My point is we never know.

BTW Adam Clune stop being so fair dinkum and stay down mate. I reckon you have saved two roosters forwards from suspensions in the last two seasons.

Now we have reached a point where we have head high, shoulder charge, chicken wing, crusher, head slam, Cannonball, hip drop tackles and the broader ‘dangerous contact’ outlawed. At the moment it seems headlock, gang tackles, Cumberland throws over the leg are still legal.

The point I’m making is ‘rugby league’ has tied itself up now into knots with all the increasing new age approach and rules. Every game has tackles that are ‘shades’ of one of the plethora of now outlawed rules. The referee and now the bunker with all the high tech slow mo, is charged with assessing all this in real time. Assessing split second reactions of players. There is no reset to rugby league unlike Gridiron or even Aussie rules with marks and bounce restarts. It’s a continuous game of advantage where at nearly every tackle a ruck has some sort of infringement occurring and the referee only intervenes where the infringement is judged to have sufficiently sufficiently disadvantaged a team. It’s a challenge and trust me I know first hand.

Good on Andrew Johns and even Greg Alexander for taking the road less travelled and at least expressing concerns on behalf of ‘customers ‘ as described by the NRL new age administration lol.

It may be churlish but I’m watching Gardening Australia on the ABC tonight.

Dragon David

Agree Gourley. The whole MRC and Judiciary thing is an increasingly capacious animal imo.

Lack of transparency to fans who actually provide the $$$ for the whole gravy train to continue. Why not publish grading reasons why a tackle is reckless or careless and why grade 1 but not 2 or 3 etc. I will tell you why it won’t happen….it then opens up a bigger can of worms. Related to this fans have basically no idea why the 6 again is called as they watch the game.

Why Fui a ‘reckless tackle’ with big suspension and another ‘careless’ eg Herman E’se or what about Tupouniua roosters apparent head high and head slam gets …drum roll …careless grade 1.? Fui was judged to have head highed backward facing Papanhuzen as he frantically tried to shut down a quick Storm backline move when we were one short. Papenhuyzen stayed down and no doubt was genuinely concussed. Oh that’s ‘reckless’ not ‘careless’ is it?

It seems to me that the grading system is influenced by the end result of whether the player stays down, the profile of the player ( vlands specifically mentions Paps as an elite player) the perceived power of various clubs and a few other bits and pieces. I may be wrong. My point is we never know.

BTW Adam Clune stop being so fair dinkum and stay down mate. I reckon you have saved two roosters forwards from suspensions in the last two seasons.

Now we have reached a point where we have head high, shoulder charge, chicken wing, crusher, head slam, Cannonball, hip drop tackles and the broader ‘dangerous contact’ outlawed. At the moment it seems headlock, gang tackles, Cumberland throws over the leg are still legal.

The point I’m making is ‘rugby league’ has tied itself up now into knots with all the increasing new age approach and rules. Every game has tackles that are ‘shades’ of one of the plethora of now outlawed rules. The referee and now the bunker with all the high tech slow mo, is charged with assessing all this in real time. Assessing split second reactions of players. There is no reset to rugby league unlike Gridiron or even Aussie rules with marks and bounce restarts. It’s a continuous game of advantage where at nearly every tackle a ruck has some sort of infringement occurring and the referee only intervenes where the infringement is judged to have sufficiently sufficiently disadvantaged a team. It’s a challenge and trust me I know first hand.

Good on Andrew Johns and even Greg Alexander for taking the road less travelled and at least expressing concerns on behalf of ‘customers ‘ as described by the NRL new age administration lol.

It may be churlish but I’m watching Gardening Australia on the ABC tonight.
Very nicely worded and phrased rasaint.

TruSaint

A

Thumbs up here.

There's a handful of pundits willing to say what's happening and Johns is one of them.

Seems to me everyone is scared shitless of upsetting PVL. Privately, I would guess they hate the game at the moment as its shadow of what it was.

PVL will claim it's not litigation, but player welfare. That's BS.

The NRL are scared of potential litigation down the track and refer to the NFL payout of some 1 billion dollars. Fact is the NFL lost that case as a result of "duty of care". Not one player suing the code. The NRL have introduced HIA assessments, blood bins, etc now for years. There will always be the risk of legal action whether you send people off or not. That's why insurance exists.

rasaint

Hi All didn’t see the game as I said I’d watch the ABC gardening show. Just had a look at the highlights on NRL app and saw Dugan recklessly smash our new chap Burns in the face. Our bloke staggered off blood pouring from nose and to HIA. The highlights had Cummins the ref asking the bunker was it 10 mins or ‘something more’. The bunker must have down played it hahahahaha….

The new rules seem to have lasted 5 days and already being redrafted with big notation ‘no send offs’? Or is it possible no send offs unless it’s an elite player that is donged? I also saw Cody Ramsey get recklessly smashed head high on the highlights also and then failed HIA. ( Again why are our blokes so fair dinkum and keep getting up). The Sharks chap ran across with a big swinging arm, I think that got a 10 minute sin bin and a stern look from Cummins hahahahaha…..

Seriously, I will have a look at the full game tomorrow. It seems some of my opinion and observations may be coming to fruition.