Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

Matua

There was an article in the herald some years back about some North Shore union wanker who had a Kiwi mate over and took him to a club union game on the north shore of Sydney. His mate was surprised by the type of crowd that union attracted in Oz, it`s much more of the everyman`s game in NZ. And obviously from what you`re saying an everyman`s game that is also played in private schools, not dominated by them and inextricably linked to them like here in Oz.
Yup. There's a couple of good private schools in the Auckland comp, but the Super 8 which is the top school comp in NZ is all state schools.

All the Catholic schools in NZ are state-intergrated as well, I don't know if that's the same in Oz.

titoelcolombiano

I wish Aussies and Kiwis would stop calling RU "Rugby" or referring to "Rugby and League". It's offensive to the memory of all the players who were banned and discriminated against by RU authorities.

RU regarded RL as a form of Rugby Football when it suited them. That's how they justified imposing lifetime bans on those who played RL. They didn't ban anyone who played Soccer or any other code.
Completely agree, we sat back and let them take ownership of the word too easily. We should follow the French lead and refer to the sport as Rugby 13's to make a point

flippikat

Completely agree, we sat back and let them take ownership of the word too easily. We should follow the French lead and refer to the sport as Rugby 13's to make a point
Fair point, especially with the top-tier American Rugby Union competition using the name "Major League Rugby".

13's is the key to distinguishing our game from Rugby Union - especially if RU competitions increasingly use the word "League" as a synonym for "Competition" or "Championship" - especially in those countries that are not traditional RU/RL markets, where confusion over the two codes (from a spectator perspective) is a huge risk.

Wb1234

It started in the early 90s if I remember correctly

Aussies are stupid for allowing this

there are two rugby codes. Neither is entitled to monopolise the word rugby. Least of all union where most of the oldest surviving rugby clubs are in rugby league

Fair point, especially with the top-tier American Rugby Union competition using the name "Major League Rugby".

13's is the key to distinguishing our game from Rugby Union - especially if RU competitions increasingly use the word "League" as a synonym for "Competition" or "Championship" - especially in those countries that are not traditional RU/RL markets, where confusion over the two codes (from a spectator perspective) is a huge risk.
I don't know if terminology in NRL marketing has been covered on threads about the Las Vegas excursion.

Americans will, not unreasonably, see the game played by National Rugby League teams as "Rugby". Language like "Rugby and League" will come across as utter gibberish.

Gobsmacked

Look I often enjoy reading the opinions on these forums, I read many things I wouldn`t think of or know about in a million years, but posters coming on to pick arguments for the sake of picking arguments and filling threads with ridiculously argumentative twaddle is a little exasperating.
That's pretty much all a forum is 🤷‍♂️

taste2taste

I don't know if terminology in NRL marketing has been covered on threads about the Las Vegas excursion.

Americans will, not unreasonably, see the game played by National Rugby League teams as "Rugby". Language like "Rugby and League" will come across as utter gibberish.
Call league '6 tackle Rugby' in the USA.
Even the most uneducated would then know the difference.
We don't want our sport mistaken for thiers, Rugby Union has been played in the USA for over 100 years and failed to take off.

Major league Rugby's tv audience and attendances have dropped by 50% since its inception in 2018

MugaB

jim_57

I’m assuming it’s just an opinion piece saying Bears should partner with Christchurch/South Island.

Having the same colours as Crusaders is counterproductive and could put off potential supporters outside of Canterbury. They could play more on the white which Crusaders don’t seem to use judging by google images.

They’d still have to loosen their “non-negotiables” for it to be an OK idea. 1 game in Sydney at the very most and if they do that they should never be home team at Magic. NZ teams played enough home games in Australia during covid to last us all a lifetime.

haha, let’s ignore decades of dross from the warriors and pretend because they are great for one season the country is ripe for a second team!

as for the bears, yeh a company based in NS running a club playing in Christchurch will work a treat.

MugaB

haha, let’s ignore decades of dross from the warriors and pretend because they are great for one season the country is ripe for a second team!

as for the bears, yeh a company based in NS running a club playing in Christchurch will work a treat.
Manly took games to Christchurch annually for 3 seasons, expand on that..
Not much different to souffs in perf

Wb1234

Another positive contribution to the thread

yet when pippen does similar on the Perth threads you have a major sook