Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

mongoose

Why do you think I focus on Sydney?

I'll tell you why.

There are serious problems in our game and society. Unfortunately, many of them are caused by the selfish practices of the NSWRL/ARLC and its clubs.

Over the last 100 years we've seen the NSWRL rape and pillage every other rugby league competition in Australia and New Zealand to prop up its small clubs. This has caused serious damage to rugby league in every region outside of Sydney. The local competitions in Adelaide and Perth were crippled when the NRL abandoned them at the professional level so nine clubs in Sydney could survive.

The worst part is for the last 66 years the NSWRL clubs have used gaming machine revenue to parasitise a) every other rugby league competition and b) people from Sydney who have a gambling addiction. Many people have gambled away their life savings on the pokies at Leagues Clubs. Some have gone on to lose their families and jobs. Some have committed crime to fund their addiction. Some have taken their own lives. The NSWRL clubs do not care about the lives they've ruined. Nor do they care about the rugby league competitions outside of Sydney that have been plundered into extinction.

Losing so many rugby league competitions from Australia and New Zealand is going to hurt us over the upcoming decades. People are pulling their kids out of contact sports due to the revelations about head trauma and the irreversible effects it has on the brain. Adults no longer have the time to play the game on the side as they're working longer hours than ever. The NSWRL clubs are not at fault for this, but the fact they've spent the last 40 years plundering competitions into extinction across Queensland, New Zealand and rural NSW will exacerbate the problem. The NSWRL clubs are now trying to put a band-aid on this problem by killing everything under the NRL so they can a) improve the size of their squads and b) develop players under a centralised system. This will be great for the first 5 or 10 years, but problems will arise after that because the system that they recruited these players from will be so watered down that there will be fewer players to select. It's typical of the NSWRL clubs though, as they operate on a day to day basis without considering the long-term consequences of their actions.

The NSWRL fans on this site hate my guts because I'm forcing them to pull their heads out of the sand and address these problems. They don't want to because all they care about is the success of their clubs and having a spin on the pokies.
you don't need to bring this into every thread though, just stick to the topic

Hypothetically if there was a NZ2 would the best kids stay in NZ or still come over to Australia at 15 like most of the good ones seem to do? And if they do stay would that weaken the existing 16 Australian clubs?

Matua

Hypothetically if there was a NZ2 would the best kids stay in NZ or still come over to Australia at 15 like most of the good ones seem to do? And if they do stay would that weaken the existing 16 Australian clubs?
Most likely the best best ones will still get snapped up by the Sydney clubs, unless the new club becomes a powerhouse more attractive to young players, unlike the Warriors.

siv

Do they all have to be U20s?
No

Just someone outside of the Top 30

But cant earn more than the 30th Top 30 player

Otherwise they move into the Top 30

There is talk of changing this 6 Development group to be 10 RG contracted players

For those who do not understand the point @Matua and @Te Kaha are making about declining participation in New Zealand killing the game.

Back in 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992 the BRL ran four grades: A grade; Reserves; C grade and Colts. So you're looking at squads of about 40 or more to cover three open age grades, plus another 20 or so players to cover Colts. That's about 60 players per team and equated to 600 people playing in the BRL. Add to that the amount of people playing in the NSWRL Premiership and its lower grades.

If the ARLC and Sydney clubs get their way then we'll have 17 professional clubs with squads of 35 to 45 players. That'll mean we will have roughly half as many people earning money from the game than we did in 1988. Queensland Cup and NSW Cup will be a shell of their former selves with and struggle to make money from sponsorship and corporate hospitality, so they'll eventually become Park football competitions and the skill level will be poor.

I get that salaries were much lower before Super League, but the talent pool was strong enough to support a semi-professional system. We're getting close to living in an age where you're either a full time rugby league player or don't play at all because people are working longer hours that ever. If we go down the path that the NSWRL clubs want then we'll kill the game at the grassroots level and have nowhere to recruit talent. The days of having skilful halves like Allan Langer and Jonathan Thurston wowing audiences will be over as they'll be replaced by "athletes" who don't know the intricacies of the game.

Pneuma

Why do you think I focus on Sydney?

I'll tell you why.

There are serious problems in our game and society. Unfortunately, many of them are caused by the selfish practices of the NSWRL/ARLC and its clubs.

Over the last 100 years we've seen the NSWRL rape and pillage every other rugby league competition in Australia and New Zealand to prop up its small clubs. This has caused serious damage to rugby league in every region outside of Sydney. The local competitions in Adelaide and Perth were crippled when the NRL abandoned them at the professional level so nine clubs in Sydney could survive.

The worst part is for the last 66 years the NSWRL clubs have used gaming machine revenue to parasitise a) every other rugby league competition and b) people from Sydney who have a gambling addiction. Many people have gambled away their life savings on the pokies at Leagues Clubs. Some have gone on to lose their families and jobs. Some have committed crime to fund their addiction. Some have taken their own lives. The NSWRL clubs do not care about the lives they've ruined. Nor do they care about the rugby league competitions outside of Sydney that have been plundered into extinction.

Losing so many rugby league competitions from Australia and New Zealand is going to hurt us over the upcoming decades. People are pulling their kids out of contact sports due to the revelations about head trauma and the irreversible effects it has on the brain. Adults no longer have the time to play the game on the side as they're working longer hours than ever. The NSWRL clubs are not at fault for this, but the fact they've spent the last 40 years plundering competitions into extinction across Queensland, New Zealand and rural NSW will exacerbate the problem. The NSWRL clubs are now trying to put a band-aid on this problem by killing everything under the NRL so they can a) improve the size of their squads and b) develop players under a centralised system. This will be great for the first 5 or 10 years, but problems will arise after that because the system that they recruited these players from will be so watered down that there will be fewer players to select. It's typical of the NSWRL clubs though, as they operate on a day to day basis without considering the long-term consequences of their actions.

The NSWRL fans on this site hate my guts because I'm forcing them to pull their heads out of the sand and address these problems. They don't want to because all they care about is the success of their clubs and having a spin on the pokies.
Potato

Pneuma

For those who do not understand the point @Matua and @Te Kaha are making about declining participation in New Zealand killing the game.

Back in 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992 the BRL ran four grades: A grade; Reserves; C grade and Colts. So you're looking at squads of about 40 or more to cover three open age grades, plus another 20 or so players to cover Colts. That's about 60 players per team and equated to 600 people playing in the BRL. Add to that the amount of people playing in the NSWRL Premiership and its lower grades.

If the ARLC and Sydney clubs get their way then we'll have 17 professional clubs with squads of 35 to 45 players. That'll mean we will have roughly half as many people earning money from the game than we did in 1988. Queensland Cup and NSW Cup will be a shell of their former selves with and struggle to make money from sponsorship and corporate hospitality, so they'll eventually become Park football competitions and the skill level will be poor.

I get that salaries were much lower before Super League, but the talent pool was strong enough to support a semi-professional system. We're getting close to living in an age where you're either a full time rugby league player or don't play at all because people are working longer hours that ever. If we go down the path that the NSWRL clubs want then we'll kill the game at the grassroots level and have nowhere to recruit talent. The days of having skilful halves like Allan Langer and Jonathan Thurston wowing audiences will be over as they'll be replaced by "athletes" who don't know the intricacies of the game.
Potato again

you don't need to bring this into every thread though, just stick to the topic
No one sticks to the topic. Not even you. I created a post about revenue from football operations and it was quickly derailed by the knuckle draggers who frequent Sydney pubs and Leagues Clubs.

My comment about the impact of Sydney clubs killing junior competitions and the BRL is similar what @Matua and @Te Kaha are describing. Our game doesn't learn from its mistakes because it only cares when Sydney is negatively impacted.

Truth be told we don't have a deep enough talent pool to expand at the professional level and should contract down to a 12 team competiton. No one will think of doing it because that would mean rationalising Sydney. The only way way of introducing a second NZ team without diluting the local competitions is by rationalising Sydney and funding the local game.

Te Kaha

It's no wonder Australian League wants to Pillage NZ and the Pacific Islands. They don't care about League in NZ, they just want to prop up their comp. That's all this talk about a second team is, kill off the rest of the districts and zones and centralise the talent to cheery pick.

Pneuma

It's no wonder Australian League wants to Pillage NZ and the Pacific Islands. They don't care about League in NZ, they just want to prop up their comp. That's all this talk about a second team is, kill off the rest of the districts and zones and centralise the talent to cheery pick.

Bit out of date that. There’s been a resurgence in playing numbers and clubs like mine are reporting record registrations. It will be hard these days to maintain full tackle numbers but the way the clubs are offering the game, particularly at younger levels, is seeing good growth. Point remains though that full contact versions of both codes will probably not grow.

Te Kaha

Bit out of date that. There’s been a resurgence in playing numbers and clubs like mine are reporting record registrations. It will be hard these days to maintain full tackle numbers but the way the clubs are offering the game, particularly at younger levels, is seeing good growth. Point remains though that full contact versions of both codes will probably not grow.

And that's what its going on here. Full contact team sports are dying. There will come a time in the next few decades where "touch" will be the only Rugby played. The teenagers these days are playing basketball.
The concussion issue is not going to go away, and all its going to take is one class action lawsuit. Thankfully that can't happen in NZ. It's not legal to sue for personal injury.

Pneuma

And that's what its going on here. Full contact team sports are dying. There will come a time in the next few decades where "touch" will be the only Rugby played. The teenagers these days are playing basketball.
The concussion issue is not going to go away, and all its going to take is one class action lawsuit. Thankfully that can't happen in NZ. It's not legal to sue for personal injury.
Not sure about only touch being offered in time but it’s pretty clear both codes need to focus on offering the safest environment for kids to enjoy the games. If you are correct though we better enjoy watching footy while we can mate.

You do realise that this is being pushed by the Sydney clubs and Sydney media, right?

Te Kaha

Not sure about only touch being offered in time but it’s pretty clear both codes need to focus on offering the safest environment for kids to enjoy the games. If you are correct though we better enjoy watching footy while we can mate.

Collisions happen in contact sport, nothing can be done to stop that. Teenagers can't sign waivers only adults can. Unless contact is banned until players are 18 then concussion will always remain an issue and both Rugby codes are going to die. Unless by some miracle concussion can be prevented, its inevitable.

Soccer and fumbleball are also impacted by CTE.

siv

Back in 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992 the BRL ran four grades: A grade; Reserves; C grade and Colts
So?

Same period Sydney ran FG, RG, U23, U21, U19, U27, U15 and second divusion FG and RG

With each club running a A grade comp

The trick is to create opportunities not shrink them as you are suggesting

But establisjong the professional league structure and the part-time you will see around 500 extra players stay in the game from the 250 who graduate from U20s every year