Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal part 2

Are you happy with the new TV deal?

Look I'm sure those few that post in here that are much more savvy than I about it all may correct me here but I think Smith set the game up beautifully to really progress forward, only to be knifed constantly by the news propaganda machine and just basically got sick of the shit and left, Grant got pressured into cutting him away as well with pressure from same said propaganda machine and along the short sighted clubs. I think Smith set the game up to kick the game winning penalty goal from infront and Grant took the kick instead and hit the crossbar.

Just my opinion, I'm sure others will add/disagree with me.
Agree with this 100%. The deals been botched badly when we had the news merkins by the balls.

Grant shit his pants yet again and pandered to News and the clubs instead of hanging on that little bit longer. Weak as piss.

johnny plath

I can see the Sudney clubs jumping up and down and refusing to host the game and the ARLC back down and play games in QLD especially during daylight savings.

Back to the basic scheduling is all that's required. 80% of this forum know which games are blockbusters,which teams should play twice a season, which games should be played on public holidays, afternoons and which games at night, but some American or European business that's never heard of Australia let alone RL will schedule games at f**ked up times, days & will also bow to pressure and give Brisbane their current 7 day turn around, Friday night games.

Off topic, but this is a bit of a furphy and easy whinge target. In the first 20 rounds next season the Broncos, along with parra and tigers have nine 7 day or more turnarounds, the lowest in the comp. heres the breakdown of 7 day or more turnarounds:

Bulldogs 14
Sharks 14
Cowboys 13
Manly 13
Panthers 12
Raiders 12
Warriors 12
Dragons 11
Knights 11
Rabbitohs 11
Roosters 10
Storm 10
Titans 10
Broncos 9
Eels 9
Tigers 9

so is the problem the 7 day turnaround, or the fact they play friday nights?

Undervalued
sht schedule
lost our only ever decent ceo over it
no expansion
allowed News ltd to publicly humiliate us
lost the promised 4th fta game

apart from the increase in $ value on the last deal and the all games live if your a fox subscriber it was pretty poor outcomes in most areas.

taipan

Undervalued
sht schedule
lost our only ever decent ceo over it
no expansion
allowed News ltd to publicly humiliate us
lost the promised 4th fta game

apart from the increase in $ value on the last deal and the all games live if your a fox subscriber it was pretty poor outcomes in most areas.

" As a famous call girl in London once stated" He would say that."

Undervalued :Based on your financial expertise on broadcasting rights?
Sh*t schedule: For the moment yes.Friday 6pm is a bummer.
Lost our only decent CEO over it:.Over what ? You have inside info? I certainly don't.Some people complain Smith went too early.
No expansion: Until the situation becomes clearer after grassroots and clubs are financially underpinned.Not being on the agenda,does not mean no chance.
Allowed News to publicly humiliate us: LOL. Rupes spitting the dummy ,his 2IC behaving like a child and throwing out his toys,then their rag papers stating the NRL will not get anywhere near $1bn.Yep I want to be humiliated .:sarcasm:Smith made these guys look like immature businessmen.
Lost the promised 4th FTA game.About the only one I could go into bat fully with you on.

" As a famous call girl in London once stated" He would say that."

Undervalued :Based on your financial expertise on broadcasting rights?
Sh*t schedule: For the moment yes.Friday 6pm is a bummer.
Lost our only decent CEO over it:.Over what ? You have inside info? I certainly don't.Some people complain Smith went too early.
No expansion: Until the situation becomes clearer after grassroots and clubs are financially underpinned.Not being on the agenda,does not mean no chance.
Allowed News to publicly humiliate us: LOL. Rupes spitting the dummy ,his 2IC behaving like a child and throwing out his toys,then their rag papers stating the NRL will not get anywhere near $1bn.Yep I want to be humiliated .:sarcasm:Smith made these guys look like immature businessmen.
Lost the promised 4th FTA game.About the only one I could go into bat fully with you on.

Based on the fact NRL is the number one tv sport and has four major event audiences a year and still cant get the best $ for media contracts in Australia
believe or not believe why Smith left, or don't have an opinion. I base mine on the laws of probability and timing
expansion, been saying that since 2008, be saying it again in 2028 at this rate
they spat on us, and we just smiled and gave them a good deal. Yeh we made them look right fools
glad we agree on something! (though you did agree on the scheduling point as well lol)

BuffaloRules

Come on mate... lets be fair dinkum here..

They will never be in a better position to expand than come 2018 - at the very least they should have a 2nd Brisbane team as it would be a no brainer for the TV partners ...

The decision not to is weak from the NRL leadership and smacks of influence from all the clubs but the Broncos in particular...

taipan

Come on mate... lets be fair dinkum here..

They will never be in a better position to expand than come 2018 - at the very least they should have a 2nd Brisbane team as it would be a no brainer for the TV partners ...

The decision not to is weak from the NRL leadership and smacks of influence from all the clubs but the Broncos in particular...

I actually agree with that viewpoint mate,except the Bronco's aspect.Think it is based more on funds available now and how it is to be divided.
I also agree with the point of clubs wanting their pound of flesh,and let's face it both Smith and Grant have stated all along,the underpinning financially of clubs was paramount.

Remember 2018 is still 2 years away ,and the current bidders including PR's Pirates would at least be ready in terms of sponsors,grounds,etc ,except of course players .Then again there is nothing to stop the NRL from having expansion during the 2018/22 Tv deal.
We still don't know the final TV figure with Sky NZ and internationals to come.

I have no personal faves in the NRL admin,these are just my views.

It boils down to IMO:-
Ensuring all NRL clubs are financial.Surely the SL war losing clubs sent the message out.
Ensuring grassroots is getting decent monies,and Grant has given a figure which escapes me ATM.That has been neglected also in the bush for too long.
And International aspect be given more priority.
Bring in two teams now ,take the money from future fund/stadiums? grassroots? .
If the previous dipstick who ran the game,got us what teh code was worth ,install of blowing the lot,expansion may well have been decided.

If I knew exactly how the money is to be split<I I could give a better answer.

No one is talking about two teams now but why not during 2018-23 announce it now and sell the game as part of this deal? No one ever expands mid deal then hopes to sell that extra game when a price has already been decided. The NRl's revenue has nearly tripled in a just a few years, selling the ninth game would have covered some of the cost and the extra cost is more than manageable whilst still maintain grass roots and bailing out the existing clubs. AFL has no problems doing it, even Union has expanded three times on the back of improved tv deals including at top tier and with a national second division.

it is a lack of strategic vision for the game and to some degree a lack of balls imo. We all had high hopes when the commission took over and they got a massive revenue increase but very little has come out of the last 3 years. Lets hope we see more bang for our buck over the next 8!

Billythekid

I actually agree with that viewpoint mate,except the Bronco's aspect.Think it is based more on funds available now and how it is to be divided.
I also agree with the point of clubs wanting their pound of flesh,and let's face it both Smith and Grant have stated all along,the underpinning financially of clubs was paramount.

Remember 2018 is still 2 years away ,and the current bidders including PR's Pirates would at least be ready in terms of sponsors,grounds,etc ,except of course players .Then again there is nothing to stop the NRL from having expansion during the 2018/22 Tv deal.
We still don't know the final TV figure with Sky NZ and internationals to come.

I have no personal faves in the NRL admin,these are just my views.

It boils down to IMO:-
Ensuring all NRL clubs are financial.Surely the SL war losing clubs sent the message out.
Ensuring grassroots is getting decent monies,and Grant has given a figure which escapes me ATM.That has been neglected also in the bush for too long.
And International aspect be given more priority.
Bring in two teams now ,take the money from future fund/stadiums? grassroots? .
If the previous dipstick who ran the game,got us what teh code was worth ,install of blowing the lot,expansion may well have been decided.

If I knew exactly how the money is to be split<I I could give a better answer.

This feels like a massive copout to me. How much more money does the game need to be making before expansion becomes a reality? Under Gallop that actually seemed like a legitimate excuse, we probably weren't in a good enough position. Now though after the last tv deal and the current it's hard to swallow that excuse with the massive increase in funding (and in general massive increase in revenue we have seen under Smith).

I also question how much of the increase is going to the areas you're talking about. Which stadiums in particular are the NRL putting money towards? Where is the extra focus on the International game, I don't really see much money going that way. How much money is actually going to grass roots footy and the bush?

This whole argument of having to support the existing clubs is a never ending circle. The more money we make the more we give to the clubs and the more we spend.

How much is expansion going to cost us? A team in Brisbane is likely going to be one of the more successful clubs in the comp and brings instant benefit to the tv deal. A team in Perth obviously will need some support and doesn't bring as much in terms of tv money but it's not an AFL like situation. NRL clubs cost far less and Perth is likely to be more successful than clubs like GWS.

This is one of the situations where the game has to be forward thinking. Expansion has long term benefits and waiting too long can have long term negative impacts. The longer we wait the harder it will be to crack into these new markets (Perth in particular is getting harder and harder with the new AFL stadium and the rise of the BBL).

taipan

Based on the fact NRL is the number one tv sport and has four major event audiences a year and still cant get the best $ for media contracts in Australia
believe or not believe why Smith left, or don't have an opinion. I base mine on the laws of probability and timing
expansion, been saying that since 2008, be saying it again in 2028 at this rate
they spat on us, and we just smiled and gave them a good deal. Yeh we made them look right fools
glad we agree on something! (though you did agree on the scheduling point as well lol)

Yes it is the no 1 sport,but unfortunately those clowns in the media and media stations base their ad income and figures on 5 caps and the regionals are given short shift.I have argued with fumbleballl fans till I'm red in the face,the regionals should be taken into account

The laws of probability suggested the Japanese would not attack Pearl Harbour.They were caught with their pants down. Unless I know for sure,I leave guesswork for the pundits.There are quite a few possibilities.

I have stated all along,I am pro expansion and more so Perth.Perhaps if you looked at Gallop and his underselling of the code for two contract deals,and leaving nothing in the bank in 2012,you might see why expansion never eventuated
You have shown us to be more concerned about Perth getting in ,and not giving a stuff about the NRL clubs already in.B*gger their fans it's all about me.

Put simply the code needed money,it had little.That's your starting point.If we had got a deal $800m and another FTA game we would still whinge, and who misses out.You be the arbiter.
Let's just spit out a couple of clubs ,Wests Tigers and Titans,that should please you.:roll:

taipan

This feels like a massive copout to me. How much more money does the game need to be making before expansion becomes a reality? Under Gallop that actually seemed like a legitimate excuse, we probably weren't in a good enough position. Now though after the last tv deal and the current it's hard to swallow that excuse with the massive increase in funding (and in general massive increase in revenue we have seen under Smith).

I also question how much of the increase is going to the areas you're talking about. Which stadiums in particular are the NRL putting money towards? Where is the extra focus on the International game, I don't really see much money going that way. How much money is actually going to grass roots footy and the bush?

This whole argument of having to support the existing clubs is a never ending circle. The more money we make the more we give to the clubs and the more we spend.

How much is expansion going to cost us? A team in Brisbane is likely going to be one of the more successful clubs in the comp and brings instant benefit to the tv deal. A team in Perth obviously will need some support and doesn't bring as much in terms of tv money but it's not an AFL like situation. NRL clubs cost far less and Perth is likely to be more successful than clubs like GWS.

This is one of the situations where the game has to be forward thinking. Expansion has long term benefits and waiting too long can have long term negative impacts. The longer we wait the harder it will be to crack into these new markets (Perth in particular is getting harder and harder with the new AFL stadium and the rise of the BBL).

Look I don't have figures available,wish I did.The proof will be in the pudding if or if not,the money is not used in large amounts for grassroots and Internationals and clubs.And that's not a copout.

Gallop left us with zero in the bank.I wouldn't be debating the issue if he had secured close to the AFL figure $780m earlier on and hadn't left the code in the red in 2012.
I am pro expansion,always have been, even prior to SL.I agree with a 2nd Brisbane side and Perth.I guess you work on the grants the clubs will get in 2018 $11m??? that would apply to Brisbane.Perth would need a lot more.
I hate to admit it but the fumblers have a hell of a lot more cash to waste on GWS than we do.

NB None of us know the impact of the WA economy with all the reductions in staff in the mining industry.I have read some disturbing reports about the State finances coming up.

If I had my way,I would have 20 teams apart from, Brisbane and Perth.I would include a 2nd NZ side and another Qld side.

taipan

No one is talking about two teams now but why not during 2018-23 announce it now and sell the game as part of this deal? No one ever expands mid deal then hopes to sell that extra game when a price has already been decided. The NRl's revenue has nearly tripled in a just a few years, selling the ninth game would have covered some of the cost and the extra cost is more than manageable whilst still maintain grass roots and bailing out the existing clubs. AFL has no problems doing it, even Union has expanded three times on the back of improved tv deals including at top tier and with a national second division.

it is a lack of strategic vision for the game and to some degree a lack of balls imo. We all had high hopes when the commission took over and they got a massive revenue increase but very little has come out of the last 3 years. Lets hope we see more bang for our buck over the next 8!

There is a first time for anything.Money gets paid upfront by ch9 to the NRL .
If the Tv ratings boom and the crowds are at record levels and memberships ditto,expansion could still be there.

It was stated at the time of the deal that another game would not bring in additional TV monies now.ch9 honcho reckoned another Brisbane side would be worth $20m pa.ch9 is still under the control of their financial backers,so Gyngell's point was not taken up.

The AFL has more money available to waste on GWS,the NRL does not.They have their own clubs up in arms over the monies given to GWS and the GC sunburns.$20m each pa:lol:
Please don't use the union mob as an example.The Rebels put the ARU into financial .
meltdown,the Force are leaking money and the Brumbies had financial issues.

BuffaloRules

It was stated at the time of the deal that another game would not bring in additional TV monies now.ch9 honcho reckoned another Brisbane side would be worth $20m pa.ch9 is still under the control of their financial backers,so Gyngell's point was not taken up.

The AFL has more money available to waste on GWS,the NRL does not.They have their own clubs up in arms over the monies given to GWS and the GC sunburns.$20m each pa:lol:

The NRL revenue come 2018 will be more than what the AFL revenue is now under their current deal.

So the AFL can support several basket cases now yet the NRL cannot at the very least expand to a huge heartland city of 2,5 million that at the moment is represented by one team?

The risk is absolutely minimal and would only require the $12 million a year of the grant and no additional funding of the likes that the AFL is pumping into West Sydney and Gold Coast.

So $60 million for 5 years out of the $2,5 to $3 billion the game will get in that time. I reckon Nine would even pony up part of that for the chance to have 2 Brisbane teams playing each week.

Yet there is no strategy, no plan, no timetable for any expansion to occur...

BuffaloRules

Well Richo had to spend 9 months doing something!

In regards to expansion, apparently not a lot has came out of Richo's long review.

We don't even get a "four years time" sidestep like Gallop gave us in 2011...

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...-clubs-stability/story-fn2mcuj6-1226078111848

With an independent commission to run the game delayed, but likely to come on board later this year, Gallop has never made a commitment to expand in 2013.

Gallop flagged 2015 - for the first time - as a possible entry date.

"Personally I would have thought we would get to 18 teams by 2015," he said.
"It might come earlier but we should be giving our existing clubs a couple of years with the new television money to get themselves stable before we introduce new teams into the competition."
The new broadcast deal is expected to fetch somewhere in the vicinity of $1 billion, a massive increase on the current contract.

Funnily enough, the new TV deal that started in 2013 was supposed to give the existing clubs a couple of years to get themselves stable...

Now they don't even bother to make up a future year when expansion might happen :)