Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Yep.
Looks as though that will be the highest, but amazing effort from the metro this arvo with a late run to challenge the west of the state.
Tomorrow, fire dangers will be much worse in parts of the state (not the metro) because winds will be stronger. Not sure we'll see the same amount of high records being broken though, although there may well be in northern parts.
The southerly will taper conditions somewhat here and through some central parts.
Anything north of a line from about Newcastle/Mudgee/Condobolin are under Catastrophic Fire Danger levels, excluding parts of the Northern Rivers. The winds are the major concern, which we didn't really have to worry about today.
The RFS are warning that people in the Catastrophic zone should consider leaving their homes tonight or early tomorrow. Don't wait until a fire starts (if indeed one does) because as we saw with Black Saturday, it can very well be too late by then.

Haynzy

A nice cool 34 in Adelaide today.
I walked into my kitchen this morning and said 'I've made it!'

Basketball was hot this morning at 11.30 but I was only coaching, the poor kids were stuffed and saturated at the end of the game.

A nice cool 34 in Adelaide today.
I walked into my kitchen this morning and said 'I've made it!'

Basketball was hot this morning at 11.30 but I was only coaching, the poor kids were stuffed and saturated at the end of the game.

Good to hear mate.
Indoor was cancelled for any games after midday today. It was a smart move. My 12 and 14 yo's usually play between 2 and 4 pm.
It was only low/mid 30's before 12 pm but wasl still stifling inside the centre. Anytime after that would have been dangerous for kids with breathing issues. It was a workplace safety and general public health issue.
Young Suity refereed 4 games of indoor football there this morning and was buggered when he got home.
Thank god they didn't have to play this arvo.

Good question. I dunno. The box fans were generally more expensive though so I'd guess them. Then there's those weird dyson fans with no blades, which were more expensive still. They work on magic I think.
They have a dyson one that cools in summer and heats in winter ... if i didnt think that only wankers have such expensive fancy looking shit i might get one

Haynzy

Good to hear mate.
Indoor was cancelled for any games after midday today. It was a smart move. My 12 and 14 yo's usually play between 2 and 4 pm.
It was only low/mid 30's before 12 pm but wasl still stifling inside the centre. Anytime after that would have been dangerous for kids with breathing issues. It was a workplace safety and general public health issue.
Young Suity refereed 4 games of indoor football there this morning and was buggered when he got home.
Thank god they didn't have to play this arvo.
Yeah, I felt for our Refs. They'd been going since 8 and those big tin basketball courts have been baking for a few days. It was like a sauna.