Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

This is the right thread for this.

I'm on a work retreat.

I don't usually drink at all, but have had 1 beer, 15 scotch and cokes, 5 glasses of Shiraz, and 1 shot of Drambuie.

I am tipsy right now.

I don't know why I am advertising this tbh.

I've never drank so much in my life.

This is the rigjt thread for this.

I'm on a work retreat.

I don't usually drink at all, but have had 1 beer, 15 scotch and cokes, 5 glasses of Shiraz, and 1 shot of Drambuie.

I am tipsy right now.

Gotta love the warm hug of a drambuie.

It was really nice!

The last time I drank in this amount, I was 21, and it was for my mate's 21st, and it was all beer.

I'm quietly chuffed that we had that much to drink and still feel lucid.

I feel ok, actually.

Tipsy, but ok.

I'm on a work retreat.

I am tipsy right now.

No wonder you don't usually drink. By the sounds of it, it would cost you a fortune to get drunk.

I'm on a work retreat.

I am tipsy right now.

I call that Wednesday night.

Actually no I don't. 15 scotch and cokes would literally kill me. Mostly because 15 cokes would kill me, but that much scotch would probably finish me off when added to a bottle of red. I can hold my booze but unlike your muscular, front-rowy self, I am a small halfback.

No wonder you don't usually drink. By the sounds of it, it would cost you a fortune to get drunk.

Lol

Thanks...I think!

I'm a big bloke, so that probably helps absorb the alcohol.

It was a really fun night, and I've never been drink before, and I'm not totally sure I'm drunk now, because I feel light-headed, but lucid.

But I never really realised how a few drinks with co-workers and friends makes people open up. I

Actually no I don't. 15 scotch and cokes would literally kill me. Mostly because 15 cokes would kill me, but that much scotch would probably finish me off when added to a bottle of red. I can hold my booze but unlike your muscular, front-rowy self, I am a small halfback.

I'm pretty surprised I don't feel sick - I drank a fair bit, and I never drink.

But I totally see why people do - it makes people open up.

It was a great night!

I used to be big drinker. My partner in crime is now a dead alcoholic.

Then I married a woman who didn't drink.

Devine intervention, said the agnostic reformed piss head.

Lol

Thanks...I think!

I'm a big bloke, so that probably helps absorb the alcohol.

It was a really fun night, and I've never been drink before, and I'm not totally sure I'm drunk now, because I feel light-headed, but lucid.

But I never really realised how a few drinks with co-workers and friends makes people open up. I
Good to hear mate. Just remember to drink a fair bit of water before bed. Otherwise you might decide to never drink again.

I wouldn't say I'm necessarily a big drinker. Doctors would probably say I drink too much, but in all honesty I very rarely drink to get genuinely pissed. Partly because I'm old enough now that hangovers are ridiculously unpredictable, partly because it can be a very expensive exercise and partly because it has very unpredictable consequences for my anxiety. I also enforce at least four alcohol free days a week because when I was selling wine I was getting into it a bit too often, which is a problem when you can nail a bottle of red over dinner and get up at 7am for work no worries. Five bottles a week is not good even if it wasn't the norm, so I made sure I didn't get to that level.

I can understand why the stuff is so addictive though. When my anxiety or depression is really bad it's really hard not to wipe myself out.

I, personally, vowed to not drink heavily because my mum was a hardcore alcoholic (a bottle of Johnnie Walker Red a day, and a 5L cask a week), and I have seen what it has done to her; at 61 years of age, she in and out of hospital, and basically waiting for her liver to quit on her. It breaks my heart.

But I let the peer pressure of work colleagues get to me tonight, and I had a great night.

I wouldn't say I'm necessarily a big drinker. Doctors would probably say I drink too much, but in all honesty I very rarely drink to get genuinely pissed. Partly because I'm old enough now that hangovers are ridiculously unpredictable, partly because it can be a very expensive exercise and partly because it has very unpredictable consequences for my anxiety. I also enforce at least four alcohol free days a week because when I was selling wine I was getting into it a bit too often, which is a problem when you can nail a bottle of red over dinner and get up at 7am for work no worries. Five bottles a week is not good even if it wasn't the norm, so I made sure I didn't get to that level.

I can understand why the stuff is so addictive though. When my anxiety or depression is really bad it's really hard not to wipe myself out.

I'm not going to judge people who like a drink; certainly tonight has shown me why people like drinking socially.

I used to drive my mates when I was young; they wanted to get hammered, and I didn't, so I drove. But it was different.

For the first time in a long time, I participated in the drinking tonight, and it was so fun - everyone was relaxed, and funny things (which weren't really that funny) made me crack up for ages.

I'm not ever going to judge people - I respect everyone.

I'm just pretty sure I should be dead by now lol.

I hit it pretty hard in my twenties, so when I stopped drinking shortly after I turned 30 I was very surprised to discover I was a massive introvert. I had been drinking since my late teens just so I could be bothered socialising and meeting women. I started drinking again when I became a father but usually only a beer or two at a time.