Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL and its clubs are expected to palm-off expansion until 2014 or 2015

Of the three favourites which two teams make the most sense?

• Brisbane II

Votes: 137 67.8%
  • Central Coast

Votes: 55 27.2%
  • Western Australia

Votes: 182 90.1%

Raidersdave,

Brisbane Bombers won't work. Hence why they've got 0 public support since they launched their bid.

Ipswich has far more potential. The generational demographics are getting younger in the region, so therefore more people can be exposed to an Ipswich team at a young age. Similar to the Titans, they can be built up over a course of a decade and they will exclusively be "their" home team.

The Central Coast is exactly the same as Ipswich in that regard, only it has the corporate sector of the North Sydney district behind it. Much bigger too. It already has support, it already has many implementations in place. There are investors ready to secure a piece of what will be a strong, well supported, regional side.

You must be one of those people who aren't sure how the business world runs exactly and therefore come up with some jaffers of conclusions. Businesses only invest in what they believe will be strong investments that will reap rewards. It's no coincidence that the CCBears have the most investors on board already with many more to come. When media moguls are working their magic behind the scenes, when more sponsors keep coming on board and when the brand itself keeps growing nationally.

If the CC wasn't viable there wouldn't be 90 business sponsors and partners, a number of big name investors, a number of corporate heavies and 7400 members all putting their money where their mouth is. If all clubs and bids had this same dedication from it's fans/sponsors, then the game would be in a healthier state. Why hold it against us because we can accomplish in 3 years without a team what some clubs can't in 40+ years with a team? The magic word is CRITERIA!.

Raiderdave

Raidersdave,

Brisbane Bombers won't work. Hence why they've got 0 public support since they launched their bid.

Ipswich has far more potential. The generational demographics are getting younger in the region, so therefore more people can be exposed to an Ipswich team at a young age. Similar to the Titans, they can be built up over a course of a decade and they will exclusively be "their" home team.

The Central Coast is exactly the same as Ipswich in that regard, only it has the corporate sector of the North Sydney district behind it. Much bigger too. It already has support, it already has many implementations in place. There are investors ready to secure a piece of what will be a strong, well supported, regional side.

You must be one of those people who aren't sure how the business world runs exactly and therefore come up with some jaffers of conclusions. Businesses only invest in what they believe will be strong investments that will reap rewards. It's no coincidence that the CCBears have the most investors on board already with many more to come. When media moguls are working their magic behind the scenes, when more sponsors keep coming on board and when the brand itself keeps growing nationally.

If the CC wasn't viable there wouldn't be 90 business sponsors and partners, a number of big name investors, a number of corporate heavies and 7400 members all putting their money where their mouth is. If all clubs and bids had this same dedication from it's fans/sponsors, then the game would be in a healthier state. Why hold it against us because we can accomplish in 3 years without a team what some clubs can't in 40+ years with a team? The magic word is CRITERIA!.

the 2nd SE Qld bid needs to be Brisbane
the days of the Broncos having a city of over 2 million to themselves are over
even if a 2nd Franchise from Brisbane were only half as succesful as the Broncos are ATM .. they would still be by far the most succesful of any of the proposed expansion teams

a team called Ipswich will not be followed by anyone from outside of Ipswich & thus you limit your potential supporter base & this base which is one of the lowest disposable income areas in all of QLD .... believe me
they aren't going to travel 80K's into Brisbane every 2nd week & 80K's back to watch their team even if they wanted to.... no way in hell...most wouldn't be able to afford to.

if you call the new side Brisbane ... you garner a far bigger potential market
everyone who doesn't follow the Broncos in Brissie ( & theres a lot)
hell even some that do
a far better proposition then limiting yourself to people from a bogan backwater to Brisbanes west.

And I know how the business world works just fine
your market has limitations based on its size & the competition in said market
Sydney ...plus the central coast ...& the Illawarra , from 80ks to the north .. & 80ks to the south
has 9 teams

thats too many
to make that number 10 .... is lunacy of the highest order

that is all ;-)

smithie

Raidersdave,

Ipswich has far more potential than Brisbane? You cannot be serious. Ipswich will never ever get the corporate support that a second Brisbane team will. Some people are seriously underestimating the large anti-Bronco element in Brisbane.

NRL-TGG

Guest Moderator
I don't see how these new comments from Gallop is "news" or creating new discussion.

It was always going to be pushed back to 2015.

2015 should see the introduction of the Brisbane Bombers and the WA Reds.

smithie

even if a 2nd Franchise from Brisbane were only half as succesful as the Broncos are ATM .. they would still be by far the most succesful of any of the proposed expansion teams

a team called Ipswich will not be followed by anyone from outside of Ipswich & thus you limit your potential supporter base & this base which is one of the lowest disposable income areas in all of QLD .... believe me
they aren't going to travel 80K's into Brisbane every 2nd week & 80K's back to watch their team even if they wanted to.... no way in hell...most wouldn't be able to afford to.

hell even some that do
a far better proposition then limiting yourself to people from a bogan backwater to Brisbanes west.

Sydney ...plus the central coast ...& the Illawarra , from 80ks to the north .. & 80ks to the south
has 9 teams

thats too many

that is all ;-)

Well said.

KeepingTheFaith

Nobody will follow an Ipswich team outside of Ipswich. Hell, nobody even wants to go to Ipswich from outside of Ipswich.

While I haven't been impressed with the Bombers all show and no go, Ipswich would be a waste of time.

cb4

hell even some that do

has 9 teams

thats too many

that is all ;-)

Not to argue a point of semantics with you, but I travel from Bathurst to where ever every week to watch the Sharks.

PB

has 9 teams

thats too many

that is all ;-)

There's a team in the Illawarra!?! Hmm I see a team train down here in Wollongong but i haven't heard Ray Warren and his cronies refer to "Illawarra" for more than 10 years now.. ;-)

geez even the local league is dying a slow and painful death...

Raiderdave

Not to argue a point of semantics with you, but I travel from Bathurst to where ever every week to watch the Sharks.

hardly what we are talking about here
would 20K people from Katoomba travel to Homebush to watch a side from Katoomba play there

thats what we are talking about here ............:?

Raiderdave

There's a team in the Illawarra!?! Hmm I see a team train down here in Wollongong but i haven't heard Ray Warren and his cronies refer to "Illawarra" for more than 10 years now.. ;-)

geez even the local league is dying a slow and painful death...

nawwww poor thing .... rabbie doesn't call em Illawarra
need a tissue :roll:

Harden the F up man ..... they play 6 games a year there
who cares what the F they're called ;-)

PB

nawwww poor thing .... rabbie doesn't call em Illawarra
need a tissue :roll:

Harden the F up man ..... they play 6 games a year there
who cares what the F they're called ;-)

I couldn't care less what they call them all i know having lived here on and off (and on again) over the last 15 years is the way it is trending there will be more kids playing AFL in the Illawarra than there are playing rugby league in the next 5 years (if there isn't already more), and the Carlton League has gone from this great mix of up and comers and past solid first graders (like Rocket Rod Silva, Jeff Hardy etc) to fewer teams with just average old park footballers trotting around.

All since the "merger"...

rednblack

hardly what we are talking about here
would 20K people from Katoomba travel to Homebush to watch a side from Katoomba play there

thats what we are talking about here ............:?

So no-one will travel from katoomba, but they'll travel FURTHER from the central coast to watch a team??

rednblack

Ipswich has far more potential than Brisbane? You cannot be serious. Ipswich will never ever get the corporate support that a second Brisbane team will. Some people are seriously underestimating the large anti-Bronco element in Brisbane.

If you look closely, I think you'll find that the post you quoted said that Ipswich would be better then the BRISBANE BOMBERS, not necessarily better than any other potential Brisbane bid that may come along.

rednblack

Manly does not lie between North Sydney and Gosford.
One can travel faster from the central coast to the CBD than you can Brookvale. The Northern Beaches are an isolated peninsula, which is essentially accessed by two major roads. It does not form part of the north shore nor northern suburbs of Sydney. As the crow flies, perhaps it is closer to the lower part of the central coast, but in reality, it is far from it. As I said in a previous post, both Parramatta and Newcastle are quicker and easier to get to than Brookvale from the Central Coast.

The cynic in me can't help but think Gallop is just buttering up to the clubs to get their support to keep his job into the future.

Lets say club grant goes up to $6mill a team and WA gets an extra $1mill for development, NRL has other extra expenses, refs, travel etc of $0.5mill a year that is $13.5mill a year to expand to 18 teams. That is likely to be less than 7% of the new revenuse for the NRL. Presuming the extra game a round adds value to the TV deal both by being an extra TV slot and opening up new audiences that % investment becomes even smaller, ideally cost neutral at worse.

Gallop has given no indication why the delay in expansion beyond the clubs current financial woes, delaying expansion is not going to solve that problem! AT best clubs could get a $1mill one off bonus payment out of money that could have been used for expansion, is that really going to make a blind bit of difference to clubs that rae losing more than that every year?

Rockin Ronny

has 9 teams

thats too many

that is all ;-)

You don't know anything about business.
You've proven time and time again that you haven't a clue - about anything.
the basis of the game has been Sydney for over 100 years. Just because the game has been run by idiots and cowards for 95% of that time doesn't mean that NSW is still a fundamental core for rugby league.

Your club is 5 minutes old and whored itself to Murdoch at the drop of a hat - yet you preach about reasons for expansion. This is why most here think you're an idiot and should simply f**k right off.

rednblack

hell even some that do

No, you fracture an existing market in the HOPE that people will follow another "generic" team.
If they can't identify the team as being "their's", why would they switch to support another broncos?
Give the team a location, an identity of their own, and people will follow because of the sense of ownership conveyed. Otherwise, people just won't change from their existing teams, and the new club will have zero support. The fact is, the team's location is as much a part of it's identity as the logo, colours, or icons. Calling another team Brisbane will simply not give them any unique identity, and will therefore work directly against them when the time come to "poach" supporters from other clubs.

Further, in relation to your use that tired argument of "too many teams in Sydney", the same can be said, looking toward the future, of any other city also. For instance, there are advocates on this forum for three, four, I've even heard calls for five Brisbane sides into the future, all just to even up the NSW/Qld ledger. If this were the case, your argument insists that all 5 would be called "Brisbane". How the hell would you expect that to sort itself out? If you're so hell bent on rationalizing the NSW market in order to introduce more teams in Brisbane, what areas would you have them represent? As far as I can tell, your opinion is that they should all be in the city (don't let the bogans near the new team!), all be called Brisbane so that the corporate sponsors will want a piece of them (even though most current Brisbane sponsors aren't local), and all play out of Suncorp. No wonder people laugh at you mate!