Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL's growth mindset points to 18th team. And it ain't Perth.

The NRL getting their act together and finally admitting Brisbane 2 is the worst case scenario for them.

The Lions have a good niche and enjoy bandwagon support when they are going well but it was only just before covid their average attendances had slumped into the teens. They still very much rely on expats who live in Brisbane and have adopted the Lions and expats who support the away team for the bulk of their audience. TV ratings show that their total support isn't that much greater than the crew that show up to the Gabba.

This is not good for any rival code in Brisbane. Before Brisbane had a second NRL side, there was room to breathe for them and if you were a casual sports fan that wanted something to do when the Broncos weren't in town, they had clear air. Not any more. This was a must from the NRL and as we all know, was well overdue.
Lions will be happy they're not competing against the Brisbane Firehawks for the corporate dollar. Easts Tigers are based in the same region as the Lions.

Wb1234

Newcastle in RL heartland has been a financial basketcase , does that mean they should be culled? Or that RL is struggling in the Hunter?
Huh this is really shifting the goal posts

the cowboys too I guess. For most of their history they were an even bigger financial basket case and their entry in the nrl added massive travel costs given their geographical isolation

Newcastle in case you dont realise is a rugby league heartland

they played in the crl and played in the first season of rugby league in 1908

they produced the greatest ever rugby league player in the games history

how this compares with a foreign sport trying to establish itself in rugby league heartland baffles me

the facts are the brisbane lions only became popular when the afl gifted them 3 straight grand finals. Once that stopped their crowds slumped .

If afl was established in qld they wouldn’t need so much extra support from afl house

as I said before the fact the broncos play so many night games means families have been neglected. So with more day games now fans will obviously have more choice which is bad for the lions

the cowboys too I guess. For most of their history they were an even bigger financial basket case and their entry in the nrl added massive travel costs given their geographical isolation
Cowboys have been financially stable for the last 15 and a half years since they were sold by News Ltd to the Cowboys Leagues Club.

News Limited offloads Cowboys

Posted Tue 28 Aug 2007 at 11:33am

The North Queensland Cowboys NRL team has been sold by News Limited to the Cowboys Leagues Club.

Cowboys chief executive Peter Parr says the deal was done during a phone hook-up with News Limited yesterday afternoon.

He says it gives leagues club members a stake in their team.

"As we've said on many occasions, if there was a professional sporting organisation where the community should have a stake in the club it's the Cowboys, given the overwhelming support we get from the community," he said.

Posted 28 Aug 2007

The Cowboys experienced financial problems in 1995 because the NSWRL clubs forced then to cover the travel and accommodation expenses of the Sydney clubs when they played in Townsville. On top of this, Cowboys had to cover their own flight and accommodation costs when they played outside of Townsville. It cost the club about $800k in 1995.

I've shown you the extract from Neil Cadigan's book that covers this part of the Cowboys' history, so knock off your lies. This ain't the first time you've lied on this subject.

20 YEARS IN THE SADDLE NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS 1995-2014 by Neil Cadigan.

Here's a snippet from page 41.

"An agreement, as requested by the NSWRL after pressure from other clubs, to pay not only for the travel of the Cowboys to away games but also visiting clubs to Townsville, a prohibitive cost estimated at about $800,000 a year."​

As far back as the 1990s the Cowboys were in the top three clubs for drawing revenue from sponsorship. Brad Walter from NRL.COM confirmed this.

Admission criteria

All clubs had to meet a Basic Criteria based on playing facilities, administration, solvency and development.

To determine which teams survived, clubs were ranked for the 1995, 1996, 1998 and 1999 seasons on:

• Home crowds (1. Broncos, 2. Knights, 3. Eels);
  • Away crowds (1. Broncos, 2. Eels. 3. Roosters);
  • Competition points (1. Storm, 2. Broncos, 3. Bulldogs);
  • Gate receipts (1. Broncos, 2. Storm, 3. Knights);
  • Profitability (1. Bulldogs, 2. Panthers, 3. Sharks), and;
  • Sponsorship (1. Knights, 2. Broncos, 3. Cowboys).

Canard

Newcastle in case you dont realise is a rugby league heartland

they played in the crl and played in the first season of rugby league in 1908

they produced the greatest ever rugby league player in the games history

how this compares with a foreign sport trying to establish itself in rugby league heartland baffles me

the facts are the brisbane lions only became popular when the afl gifted them 3 straight grand finals. Once that stopped their crowds slumped .

If afl was established in qld they wouldn’t need so much extra support from afl house

as I said before the fact the broncos play so many night games means families have been neglected. So with more day games now fans will obviously have more choice which is bad for the lions

You think a team in RL heartland struggling financially is OK, but an expansion team in a foreign city is struggling?

Do you realise how stupid that is ?

Wb1234

You think a team in RL heartland struggling financially is OK, but an expansion team in a foreign city is struggling?

Newcastle is a rugby league town
It doesn’t need gimmicks for its team to survive

beisbane isn’t an afl town

Bullshit, like the Broncos they appeal to the whole city. The play there games at the Gabba for example.
It's "their". Not "there".

Why did the Lions build their social club in Logan?

Not exactly a central location for people from the greater Brisbane region, is it?

The Lions are using their social club to fund fumbleball in Logan. They were gifted Cronulla Park for the Springwood Pumas despite there being interest to field a rugby league club at the location.

Their training ground is in Ipswich. They're clearly targeting the south side of Brisbane.

The only link they have with the north side is their VFL team plays in Moreton Bay.

Firehawks were going to play all of their games at Lang Park. Dolphins plan on sharing their games between Lang Park, Dolphin Oval and Sunshine Coast Stadium.

Face it buddy, the Firehawks planned on having a citywide appeal. The Dolphins were brought in to represent Moreton Bay and Sunshine Coast. Abdo spoke of the 800k who live in Moreton Bay and Sunshine Coast as a reason for the Dolphins getting the licence.

The Lions have seriously dodged a bullet and remain the only professional football club from Brisbane that's based on the south side. Firehawks would have been based just a few kilometres away from the Lions.

To be fair, you think it's okay that the Bulldogs and Sharks rely on gaming machine revenue and the annual grant from the ARLC to offset their inability to generate strong income from football operations. Both clubs generated less than $10m from football operations in 2019. Only one-third of their revenue came from football operations. A team from the heartlands should be able to do better than that.

Pneuma

To be fair, you think it's okay that the Bulldogs and Sharks rely on gaming machine revenue and the annual grant from the ARLC to offset their inability to generate strong income from football operations. Both clubs generated less than $10m from football operations in 2019. Only one-third of their revenue came from football operations. A team from the heartlands should be able to do better than that.
This would be a good forum if you just stfu.

Canard

Where did the Doggies finish in the ranking of clubs at the end of the 98 season?

Why do you think culling one of the biggest teams in the League is sensible thinking?

Can you show me the average crowds and members of Sydney teams for the last Decade? And where do the Dogs rank?

Gobsmacked

That's why the NRL grant is more than enough to cover all thier cap and expenses.
They generate tv revenue, which is reimbursed through the grant.

You're looking at an outdated model.
Irrelevant.
The Storm football operations are practically nothing .. but they're the most watched NRL team..
Which in reality means they're worth a bucket load to the NRL.

Catch up mate.

Gobsmacked

We are in a new era.

Currency of today is: Eyes on screens.
YouTube, Twitter , Facebook ,snapchat, Instagram, tick-tock... pay tv ..Netflix ect ect...

The money is in eyes on screens.
You phone, tablet or TV . IT Doesn't matter which but that's where subscribers are, advertisers are.
Screens and our entertainment of today. Nearly all of our entertainment.

For those today still going on about crowds or merchandise ect.
Please catch up and fast.

The next change is around the corner, streaming services, well already happening.
The next competitor for rights to the NRL could be Stan or Netflix.
Or something completely new entirely.
So please forget about the club houses and pokies ffs

We are in a new era.

Currency of today is: Eyes on screens.
YouTube, Twitter , Facebook ,snapchat, Instagram, tick-tock... pay tv ..Netflix ect ect...

The money is in eyes on screens.
You phone, tablet or TV . IT Doesn't matter which but that's where subscribers are, advertisers are.
Screens and our entertainment of today. Nearly all of our entertainment.

For those today still going on about crowds or merchandise ect.
Please catch up and fast.

The next change is around the corner, streaming services, well already happening.
The next competitor for rights to the NRL could be Stan or Netflix.
Or something completely new entirely.
So please forget about the club houses and pokies ffs
Why not both? That’s only the model if that’s what you choose. The biggest afl clubs are getting around $11-12mill from tv and making around $15-20mill from fanbased revenue. This is pushing their revenue to $80-100mill a club as opposed to the $25-30mill nrl clubs who make no effort to increase their active fan engagement are bringing in.

so yes clubs could be lazy, sit back and hope the nrl grant just keeps increasing to cover their shortfalls, or they could get better, much better, at fan appeal and make a lot more money.

Gobsmacked

Why not both? That’s only the model if that’s what you choose. The biggest afl clubs are getting around $11-12mill from tv and making around $15-20mill from fanbased revenue. This is pushing their revenue to $80-100mill a club as opposed to the $25-30mill nrl clubs who make no effort to increase their active fan engagement are bringing in.

so yes clubs could be lazy, sit back and hope the nrl grant just keeps increasing to cover their shortfalls, or they could get better, much better, at fan appeal and make a lot more money.
Sure. Be nice.
When there's a big fight on in boxing or UFC, the money is in views..they make money selling tickets also of course.
This is where everything is headed.
Lucky for League, it's super palatable on TV! 😁

Pneuma

AFL good.
NRL lazy.

Endless repetitive praise for his Idol Gil.

League fan? I think not.

Pneuma

Not if all the stands are empty... A Thurs night game at ANZ with 16k people, I quickly change the channel
I continue to watch the game because, from memory, the crowd doesn’t run on the field, pass the ball and make tackles. And TV ratings for Thursdays tend to show that people, when they turn on the telly to watch footy, actually watch the footy. Crowd size may be interesting but it’s not why 99% watch the game.