Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL's growth mindset points to 18th team. And it ain't Perth.

Wb1234

These two probably share texts on Thursday nights ‘watching the league?’ ‘Nah crowds too small. I’m watching the afl instead. Shit game but I’m really enjoying the crowd!!’
‘Yeah what a great crowd, I’m really enjoying the crowd!’.
Even though your joking I believe there are lots of league fans like this

they jump on the afl bandwagon because the crowds are big

Colk

It is an absolute terrible game to watch so if they are doing that then they are pretty simple

Pneuma

I’ve been to park footy for decades with crowds as low as 50. Anybody who thinks crowd size is a determinant for watching a game is simply not a true fan of the game.

A cherry picked stat from 2019 shouldn't be the basis for kicking out clubs.

In the list Decade the Doggies average crowd has matched any club in Sydney.

Whether you like it or not, they are a big club.
It's not a "cherry picked" statistic. It's straight from a report commissioned by NRL clubs a couple of years ago.

How about you do your own homework and collect data on attendances from the last decade?

Wb1234

It is an absolute terrible game to watch so if they are doing that then they are pretty simple
Agreed

but fair play to them their crowds and membership are amazing for such a terrible sport

we need to try harder with the product we have

clubs are so lazy

Canard

It's not a "cherry picked" statistic. It's straight from a report commissioned by NRL clubs a couple of years ago.

How about you do your own homework and collect data on attendances from the last decade?

Link to my post a few days ago, below

The Dogs are one of the top drawing Sydney sides in the comp for the last 15 years. FACT

Wb1234

I’ve been to park footy for decades with crowds as low as 50. Anybody who thinks crowd size is a determinant for watching a game is simply not a true fan of the game.

That’s keen

I went to Henson park a few times but if it’s not the top level I wont

Do you honestly think that someone who has followed a club there whole lives is "selfish" for not wanting to see there club cease to exist?

Why do you think it's "wrong" for a small and unviable Sydney club to be relegated to the NSW Cup, but "okay" for all nine BRL clubs to endure the same fate in 1987?

The BRL had fans who supported them for decades -- many since they were children -- yet they had to sit back and accept the demise of their clubs because there was no safety net to bail them out.

I take it you didn't get good grades in English?

From my post a few days ago

That's just two clubs you cherry-picked, sorry, compared.

You failed to calculate the average attendances over the specified time frame.

If you look at the state of rugby league in England you would do the opposite of whatever they think

imagine actually being a rugby league fan then coming to Australia and picking one of the two states that don’t play the game

then blame the nrl for it

I’d have come to Sydney and lived in a city where the game I supposedly love is the dominant sport

where you are spoiled for choice of games too and people to talk to the game about
English clubs don't have the luxury of funding their teams with gaming machine revenue.

Canard

Why do you think it's "wrong" for a small and unviable Sydney club to be relegated to the NSW Cup, but "okay" for all nine BRL clubs to endure the same fate in 1987?

The BRL had fans who supported them their for decades since they were children, yet they had to sit back and accept the demise of their clubs because there was no safety net to bail them out.

I take it you didn't get good grades in English?

You keep creating childish strawman arguments in response to my posts.

I didn't mention the BRL, or the Broncos joining the NSWRL almost 40 years ago (there was no relegation of the BRL)

As for your snide little smartarse comments, stick to the topic.

It's mystifying that you think passionate fans are selfish for not wanting to be culled.

Canard

That's just two clubs you compared. You failed to calculate the average attendances over the specified time frame.

The time frame was from 2009 onwards.

Name a Sydney club that's had a substantial bigger average crowd over this time frame?

You have no grasp of RL history if you deny the Bulldogs haven't been well supported in Sydney for the last 4 decades

You keep creating childish strawman arguments in response to my posts.

I didn't mention the BRL, or the Broncos joining the NSWRL almost 40 years ago (there was no relegation of the BRL)

No relegation?

Pull another one mate.

The BRL was relegated to second-tier status in 1988. Don't take my word for it. Here's what BRL commentator David Wright said in the lead up to the 1987 BRL grand final between Pastoral Brothers Leprechauns and Redcliffe Dolphins:

"With the introduction of a Brisbane team into the Sydney competition next year, we won't really see the competition in its current format ever again."

At the end of the 1987 season the BRL lost 60 players to the NSWRL:

The changing face of the Brisbane Rugby League premiership was illustrated by the make-up of a 27 man squad chosen to prepare for the National Panasonic Cup (knock-out) competition trial match against Toowoomba.

Ian Stains, James Sandy and Bob Keogh were the only survivors from the Brisbane team beaten 14-2 by Penrith in the first round of the 1987 competition.

The reason for the new look, was the fact 60 or more players from the BRL had been lost to the New South Wales Rugby League, which now boasted three new clubs – Brisbane Broncos, Gold Coast Giants and Newcastle Knights.

Ross Strudwick, who had coached Brothers to the 1987 BRL title, was appointed Brisbane representative coach, with his die drawn to play Port Moresby in the first round

Brisbane had fielded a side in the ‘Super Sevens’ in Sydney, but had been eliminated in the preliminary rounds. Players who contested the Sevens, but failed to make the Panasonic Cup squad, were Guy Harvey (Norths) and Brent Daunt (Diehards).

The three preliminary rounds of the 1988 Woolies pre-season rugby league competition ended with BRL newcomers, Logan City qualifying for the semi-finals, along with, Souths, Seagulls Diehards (formerly Valleys) and Redcliffe.

Brisbane Panasonic Cup squad: Mick Anderson (Wests), Jeff Burns (Brothers), Steve Bleakley (Redcliffe), Peter Coyne (Diehards), Glenn Haggath (Ipswich), Bill Holmes (Diehards), Brett Johnstone (Ips), Tony Jones (Bros), Kieran Jackson (Norths), Tony Jemmott (Wynnum), Bob Keogh (Red), Terry Mulcahy (Logan), Mark McIntyre (Easts), Brett McCarthy (Bros), Lex Neal (Red), Brian Naylor (Wynnum), Vince O’Brien (Bros), Gavin Payne (Ips), Ken Robertson (Ips), Rob Raiteri (Wyn), Brad Samuelson (Wyn), Ian Stains (Easts), Darren Smith (Easts), James Sandy (Red), Chris White (Souths), Jason Wallace (Logan).

Darren Smith would go on to carve out the most illustrious career, representing Australia 12 times (including five Super League Tests) and Queensland 22 times at State of Origin level.

A number quality players missed out on that initial squad, among them Stephen Boys, Peter Shields, Scott Czislowski, Neil Wharton, Bob Hudson, Paul Bartier, Steve Davis, Ray Kelly, Steve Parcell, Wayne Cullen, Kelly Egan, Ziggy Strasser, Greg Walker, Steve Cherry, Troy Evans, Curtis Powell and Floyd Hill.

So the depth in the BRL was still impressive.

Sponsorship and media coverage of the BRL dried up and it ceased to exist in 1998.

As for your snide little smartarse comments, stick to the topic.

You're the one always talking about "cones" and "weed".

It's mystifying that you think passionate fans are selfish for not wanting to be culled.

Am I selfish for not wanting the BRL clubs to die?

Am I selfish for wanting the Logan Scorpions back?

You don't seem to give a f**k about the BRL clubs that were relegated to second-tier status after 1987, yet you get all sooky when some one says the NSWRL clubs should be dealt with the same callous indifference that the NSWRL had for the BRL. There was no welfare provided to the BRL clubs to keep them afloat, yet you want our game to waste $45m each year propping up unviable clubs from Sydney. The fans of the Sydney clubs and the chairman of the ARLC are quick to dismiss funding expansion teams in "rusted on AFL states", yet they're keen on spending $45m each year on nine small clubs from Sydney.

“Forget wasting millions in rusted-on AFL states. We must undertake a full analysis [of growth markets] but Perth does not have a huge league audience. Then there’s the concern around flying NRL players five hours when we already hear criticism of player workloads and how taxing the season is on the stars of the game.” Peter V'landys on expansion in Western Australia

Do you really care about the Sydney clubs, or are you just sucking up to the NSWRL fans?

I recall you calling the Scorpions a "plastic" club, whatever that means. It must piss you off that they made the Woolies Pre-season grand final in 1988.

Canard

No relegation?

Pull another one mate.

The BRL was relegated to second-tier status in 1988. Don't take my word for it. Here's what BRL commentator David Wright said in the lead up to the 1987 BRL grand final between Pastoral Brothers Leprechauns and Redcliffe Dolphins:

"With the introduction of a Brisbane team into the Sydney competition next year, we won't really see the competition in its current format ever again."

At the end of the 1987 season the BRL lost 60 players to the NSWRL:

The changing face of the Brisbane Rugby League premiership was illustrated by the make-up of a 27 man squad chosen to prepare for the National Panasonic Cup (knock-out) competition trial match against Toowoomba.

Ian Stains, James Sandy and Bob Keogh were the only survivors from the Brisbane team beaten 14-2 by Penrith in the first round of the 1987 competition.

The reason for the new look, was the fact 60 or more players from the BRL had been lost to the New South Wales Rugby League, which now boasted three new clubs – Brisbane Broncos, Gold Coast Giants and Newcastle Knights.

Ross Strudwick, who had coached Brothers to the 1987 BRL title, was appointed Brisbane representative coach, with his die drawn to play Port Moresby in the first round

Brisbane had fielded a side in the ‘Super Sevens’ in Sydney, but had been eliminated in the preliminary rounds. Players who contested the Sevens, but failed to make the Panasonic Cup squad, were Guy Harvey (Norths) and Brent Daunt (Diehards).

The three preliminary rounds of the 1988 Woolies pre-season rugby league competition ended with BRL newcomers, Logan City qualifying for the semi-finals, along with, Souths, Seagulls Diehards (formerly Valleys) and Redcliffe.

Brisbane Panasonic Cup squad: Mick Anderson (Wests), Jeff Burns (Brothers), Steve Bleakley (Redcliffe), Peter Coyne (Diehards), Glenn Haggath (Ipswich), Bill Holmes (Diehards), Brett Johnstone (Ips), Tony Jones (Bros), Kieran Jackson (Norths), Tony Jemmott (Wynnum), Bob Keogh (Red), Terry Mulcahy (Logan), Mark McIntyre (Easts), Brett McCarthy (Bros), Lex Neal (Red), Brian Naylor (Wynnum), Vince O’Brien (Bros), Gavin Payne (Ips), Ken Robertson (Ips), Rob Raiteri (Wyn), Brad Samuelson (Wyn), Ian Stains (Easts), Darren Smith (Easts), James Sandy (Red), Chris White (Souths), Jason Wallace (Logan).

Darren Smith would go on to carve out the most illustrious career, representing Australia 12 times (including five Super League Tests) and Queensland 22 times at State of Origin level.

A number quality players missed out on that initial squad, among them Stephen Boys, Peter Shields, Scott Czislowski, Neil Wharton, Bob Hudson, Paul Bartier, Steve Davis, Ray Kelly, Steve Parcell, Wayne Cullen, Kelly Egan, Ziggy Strasser, Greg Walker, Steve Cherry, Troy Evans, Curtis Powell and Floyd Hill.

So the depth in the BRL was still impressive.

Sponsorship and media coverage of the BRL dried up and it ceased to exist in 1998.

You're the one always talking about "cones" and "weed".

Am I selfish for not wanting the BRL clubs to die?

Am I selfish for wanting the Logan Scorpions back?

You don't seem to give a f**k about the BRL clubs that were relegated to second-tier status after 1987, yet you get all sooky when some one says the NSWRL clubs should be dealt with the same callous indifference that the NSWRL had for the BRL. There was no welfare provided to the BRL clubs to keep them afloat, yet you want our game to waste $45m each year propping up unviable clubs from Sydney. The fans of the Sydney clubs and the chairman of the ARLC are quick to dismiss funding expansion teams in "rusted on AFL states", yet they're keen on spending $45m each year on nine small clubs from Sydney.

Do you really care about the Sydney clubs, or are you just sucking up to the NSWRL fans?

I recall you calling the Scorpions a "plastic" club, whatever that means.

There was no formal relegation though was there? It was capitalism pure and simple that led to its slow demise.

The BRL was already becoming 2nd to the Sydney comp well before 88.

The Scorpions didn't even exist in the BRL top grade until after 87, so even by your definition they aren't a real BRL team.

Who are you so angry about events that occurred before you were even born? And why do you think current should suffer for it?

The time frame was from 2009 onwards.

Name a Sydney club that's had a substantial bigger average crowd over this time frame?

You have no grasp of RL history if you deny the Bulldogs haven't been well supported in Sydney for the last 4 decades
Your maths is as shit as your English.

You asked me to compare attendances over the last decade.

Now you're going back to 2009?

You know that a decade is ten years, right?

You said the Broncos joined the NSWRL "almost 40 years ago". They entered the competition in 1988. That's 35 years ago.

Why should I care if the Bulldogs were big 40 years ago when the NSWRL was just a tiny Sydney competition?

In 1983 the Bulldogs averaged just 9,690.

Go back 40 years ago and kids in rural Queensland were running around in BRL jerseys and didn't give a f**k about the NSWRL. Don't take my word for it. Listen to Shane Webke say it on Ch7:

"As kids, we use to run around in Brisbane teams jerseys like Norths and Souths. We certainly weren't wearing Sydney jerseys. We knew of the Sydney grand final, but certainly the prominence was our competition and that was in Brisbane." -- Shane Webcke

The fact is the NRL is bigger and more than the NSWRL ever was and it's time old codgers from Sydney accepted it. The fact remains that the Bulldogs are not one of the biggest clubs in the NRL.

Canard

Your maths is as shit as your English.

You asked me to compare attendances over the last decade.

Now you're going back to 2009?

You know that a decade is ten years, right?

You said the Broncos joined the NSWRL "almost 40 years ago". They entered the competition in 1988. That's 35 years ago.

Why should I care if the Bulldogs were big 40 years ago when the NSWRL was just a tiny Sydney competition?

Go back 40 years ago and kids in rural Queensland were running around in BRL jerseys and didn't give a f**k about the NSWRL. Don't take my word for it. Listen to Shane Webke say it on Ch7:

"As kids, we use to run around in Brisbane teams jerseys like Norths and Souths. We certainly weren't wearing Sydney jerseys. We knew of the Sydney grand final, but certainly the prominence was our competition and that was in Brisbane." -- Shane Webcke

The fact is the NRL is bigger and more than the NSWRL ever was and it's time old codgers from Sydney accepted it. The fact remains that the Bulldogs are not one of the biggest clubs in the NRL.

I didn't say 40 years ago, I said for the last 4 decades they have been one of the biggest clubs in Sydney. Their crowds support this fact.

You know the meaning of the word almost, right?

Webcke is the same age as me, and I agree with his view even though it's slightly romanticised.

In the early 80s, QLDers would watch the Sydney comp on Saturday on the ABC and the Brisbane every Sunday. With the BRL being equal to Sydney in coverage and press coverage.

Ironically at this time the two most well supported Sydney teams in QLD were Parra and the Dogs.

By 85/86 the BRL was starting to take a back seat to Sydney though, as the player drain became a flood and press coverage (Rugby League Week) etc became more Sydney focused.

It was also rare to own a jersey in those days as merchandise wasn't what it was now, maybe he means T-Shirt. And finding a Sydney jersey in a QLD shop would have been virtually impossible.

There was no formal relegation though was there? It was capitalism pure and simple that led to its slow demise.

The BRL was already becoming 2nd to the Sydney comp well before 88.

The Scorpions didn't even exist in the BRL top grade until after 87, so even by your definition they aren't a real BRL team.

Who are you so angry about events that occurred before you were even born? And why do you think current should suffer for it?
Scorpions played BRL C Grade in 1987 and reached the grand final, so they were still a BRL club.

I was born before 1988.

Thank you for bringing up capitalism, as it backs up my point nicely and exposes the foolishness of your position.

If it's all down to capitalism then why do you support a socialist system that props up unsustainable clubs?

NSWRL were killing the BRL off the field because the NSW Government legalised gaming matches across licenced venues back in 1956, whereas the rest of the states prohibited them until the 1990s. It wasn't capitalism that led to the NSWRL relegating the BRL into a second-tier competition. It was gambling revenue generated by suckers playing the pokies at Leagues Clubs for the best part of 30 years.

Fast forward to today and the Bulldogs are still reliant on gaming machine revenue to make ends meet because the money they generate from football operations is not enough to cover the costs of running a team in the NRL. The Sydney market has decided it doesn't want to invest enough of its money and time into keeping this club fiscally viable, so the Bulldogs have to rely on gaming machine revenue and the annual grant from the ARLC to survive. Receiving welfare is a form of socialism, no matter how you try to spin it.

The Scorpions didn't have the luxury of being bailed out by the governing entity during their hour of need in 2002. It's why they're defunct. You don't care that Logan hasn't had a club of its own in the Queensland Cup for more than 20 years.

Canard

NSWRL were killing the BRL off the field because the NSW Government legalised gaming matches across licenced venues back in 1956, whereas the rest of the states prohibited them until the 1990s. It wasn't capitalism that led to the NSWRL relegating the BRL into a second-tier competition. It was gambling revenue generated by suckers playing the pokies at Leagues Clubs for the best part of 30 years.

Everyone knows this though, it's not some new fact that you've stumbled upon and need to educate us poor rubes about. It's ingrained in the folklore of the Broncos formation.

It's like telling people that the first Origin game was the third in interstate series in 1980.

What I don't understand is why you seem to hold a grudge against the Sydney clubs who paid QLDers more money then there clubs could, and what do you want done about it 40 years later?

I mean I could easily say that the BRL ruined the Cairns comp by poaching players by offering higher salaries, but that's a bit nutty isn't it?

And yes, I couldn't give two shits about the Scorpions, they weren't a traditional BRL team and existed for a blink of an eye.

mongoose

Jesus do you ever stop? The TV ratings prove that dross buggers like you are the exception. Normal people watch football for the football. You must be a really unpleasant human to live with.
C'mon, you can't say the TV product suffers when the ground is full of empty seats? I watch most games but if its Thurs or Fri night, Bulldogs vs Cowboys at ANZ and there is 65k empty seats and no atmosphere to speak of then my interest and excitement as a neutral drops. Anyone who values their time would agree,

Pippen94

Everyone knows this though, it's not some new fact that you've stumbled upon and need to educate us poor rubes about. It's ingrained in the folklore of the Broncos formation.

It's like telling people that the first Origin game was the third in interstate series in 1980.

What I don't understand is why you seem to hold a grudge against the Sydney clubs who paid QLDers more money then there clubs could, and what do you want done about it 40 years later?

I mean I could easily say that the BRL ruined the Cairns comp by poaching players by offering higher salaries, but that's a bit nutty isn't it?

And yes, I couldn't give two shits about the Scorpions, they weren't a traditional BRL team and existed for a blink of an eye.

Brisbane comp consumed the Ipswich comp which was one of the strongest going at the time