Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Clubs forced out of QLD Cup

typicalfan

There is obviously something very wrong with the NSW cup for clubs like Manly and Canberra to want to send their players 1000 km north for an interstate competition.

What are the benefits for these clubs to send their players to the Qld cup. I'd think it would cost a heap more than keeping them here representing a local team.

No one here has the full story, it's all speculation. What we do know is that these two clubs weren't the only clubs looking at playing their 2nd tier out of Qld. We also know that despite the extra travel arrangments and associated costs, these two clubs especially were still willing to send their 2nd tier to Qld instead of playing in the NSW cup.

Geoff Carr has never explained this or addressed these issues. Both clubs despite the ultimatums still have shown a desire to play out of Qld but are basically being cornered into playing in the NSW cup.

There must be something crook with the NSW cup.

When you look at the Qld Cup, you see representation right across Qld. The NSW cup appears to be Sydney only teams with one Central Coast team. It obvious something is unattractive about the NSW Cup to the point that no Newcastle or other regional teams aren't represented, lest Manly and Canberra want out. We should all be made aware of what the issues are as it appears serious.

I think the Raiders saw it as an opportunity to strengthen ties with a club they already had ties with.

But in reality save a true national 2nd tier, the NSW cup is lightyears from the QLD Cup, the NSW Cup is almost a mirror image of the old metro cup with a few other dots on the map.

Smiley

http://www.facebook.com/notes/queensland-cup/souths-logan-canberra-raiders/10150093655664304

"Canberra Raiders forced to cut links with the Souths Logan QLD Cup team entirely from 2012, the Raiders will not be permitted to place players with Souths Logan after 30 June 2011 if the Raiders want to have them eligible for the NRL team in the remainder of the season. The Raiders have said they hope to be able to continue to have a link with SL in juniors. Incredible that the NSWRL can get away with this, which is so obviously inconsistent with the good of the code of rugby league. We can only hope the Independent Commission decides to intervene."
Can't believe the NRL have done this.

RIP souths logan

I hope once established the IC do away with any of the selfish pricks involved in the death of a great QLD club, and contributing to RL's demise in a thriving area.

This decision is everything that is wrong with this code... too many bodies trying to look after #1 and no one thinking about the game as a whole. The AFL must be sitting back and laughing at us. Embarrassing.

The sooner we get a proper Reserve Grade competition (where all 16 clubs are represented) up and running, the better.

Deadly

RIP souths logan

I hope once established the IC do away with any of the selfish pricks involved in the death of a great QLD club, and contributing to RL's demise in a thriving area.

This decision is everything that is wrong with this code... too many bodies trying to look after #1 and no one thinking about the game as a whole. The AFL must be sitting back and laughing at us. Embarrassing.

If Souths Logan can't survive without being propped up by a club that also wants the benefits of participating in the NSWRL Junior Reps then stuff Souffs Bogan.

So much for the Q Cup being such a superior standard compared to the NSW Cup. Souffs ran last every year anyway before the Raiders, looking to hedge their bets, got into bed with them.

boxhead

This is absolutely ridiculous, a decision made by a total wanker pushing his pro-NSW "it's all about us, no one else matters" views. Horrible to see.

correct decision made

well done NSWRL

the QRL has to prop up their own clubs and not weaken the NSWRL comp

and the Raiders can't have it both ways and chose to participate in NSWRL comps that suit them.

when will you blokes understand this is not about NSW v QLD, its about RL v the rest...

this decision does not strengthen RL. It weakens it, we are the only professional sporting organisation that shoots itself in the foot to the cheers of its own fan base.

Would the AFL make a decision like that that weakens its products? No
You need to ask yourself why...

the answer, they do what is best for the GAME
not some pissy state organisation... imagine for one moment the AFL blocking the GWS from helping fund grass roots footy in both western sydney and a Victorian area... it wouldnt happen, and thats because they make decisions in the best interest of the GAME, they dont have state bodies waring with each other like we do

and thats why they are earning more $$, thats why they have teams across the country, and thats why despite a better product and better ratings we are lagging behind them, significantly.

It's the old saying about not being success on the field unless your successful off it. We are disadvantaging ourselves with poor administration. Decisions being made in the vested interests of state bodies and not the interest of RL nationally.

And these decisions are championed... but the same people complaining about this very style of selfish administration. RL fans, the ultimate sado's eh?

cleary89

Wah wah wah. Good on them. f**k the raiders and them picking and choosing which comps they can play in.

skeepe

Absolutely ridiculous. Geoff Carr should f**k off and die immediately. He is single-handedly destroying the game with his Sydney-centric, myopic positions.

He is a cancer on this great game of ours, surely the worst administrator in the history of the sport.

Geoff Carr, f**k you you f**king merkin.

Yes, good on damaging rugby league nationally, for the betterment of a pissy state body that will be made redundant within a year. Whooooooo!

BDGS

Canberra are back in the SG ball and Harold Matthews competitions. Patience people always pays off.

Jason Maher

I know the Dragons have had links with both Brisbane Brothers and the Burleigh Bears in the past, as well as fielding a side in First Division/NSW Cup. Not sure why these associations ended.

Spitty

when will you blokes understand this is not about NSW v QLD, its about RL v the rest...

this decision does not strengthen RL. It weakens it, we are the only professional sporting organisation that shoots itself in the foot to the cheers of its own fan base.

Would the AFL make a decision like that that weakens its products? No
You need to ask yourself why...

the answer, they do what is best for the GAME
not some pissy state organisation... imagine for one moment the AFL blocking the GWS from helping fund grass roots footy in both western sydney and a Victorian area... it wouldnt happen, and thats because they make decisions in the best interest of the GAME, they dont have state bodies waring with each other like we do

and thats why they are earning more $$, thats why they have teams across the country, and thats why despite a better product and better ratings we are lagging behind them, significantly.

It's the old saying about not being success on the field unless your successful off it. We are disadvantaging ourselves with poor administration. Decisions being made in the vested interests of state bodies and not the interest of RL nationally.

And these decisions are championed... but the same people complaining about this very style of selfish administration. RL fans, the ultimate sado's eh?

In 2011 how many AFL feeder teams are allowed to play in the outer state competitions?

Give up? 0, Zero, none, nil, nada, not 1.

Over the past few years the AFL have allowed teams from expansion area's to play in various Victorian league's, because the standard of competition in the expansion area isn't good enough. But even that's been eliminated now with the advent of the NEAFL.

And why did the AFL stop the Lions, Suns, Swans and Giants from playing in Victorian Comps and invent a league for them to play in? Because NEAFL doesn't necessrily serve the AFL clubs well, but it serves the target area's tremendously. The stronger the local governing body is, the stronger the sport is in the local area.

So saying that the AFL wouldn't do what the NSWRL is doing is ridiculous, because they've just done it. The only difference is the AFL clubs have embraced the concept as good for the game in their local area, not bitched and moaned about it because it's not in the clubs best interest.

http://www.coffscoastadvocate.com.au/story/2010/12/16/new-comission-country-rugby-league/

The Independent Commission will comprise 26 members; eight commissioners and one representative each from the NSWRL, the QRL and the 16 NRL clubs.

Interests of the CRL will, theoretically, be handled by the NSWRL.

During his address, Carr stressed the game in regional areas will continue to be run by a volunteer base, negating suggestions that the NSWRL, QRL and CRL structures will be dissolved.