Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old Photos Thread

parra pete

stahl-family-photo-late-1800s.jpg

this is an old photo ive found

That was Jack Aregent and his family...What a great shot. :lol:

attachment.php

That last game at Cumberland was an absolute cracker.
Almost 20 000 in the ground that day, and one of the best atmosphere's of any game I've been to at that ground.

The photo doesn't do it justice. The ground was jam packed, even though it doesn't look it.
One of the bestest days of my life.

It needed to be like that...Where else could the fans get mud to pelt at the referee...

True.

Also, it's funny that Rex Mossop had to park his RX7 inside the ground behind the grandstand.
It used to get a bit of ice cream and stuff thrown on it. It may have even been coined once, but fair dinkum, these days it would get stolen or fire bombed.
Those were the oh so innocent days. :)

I've just sent you a couple more from 1962 Bart. An intersting article is the one about Bob Bugden signing on and the amount he was going to cost the Club over 5 years. Lucky there was no SALARY CAP in those days....
Contributions from Parra Pete... click to enlarge and view.

8. Bob Budgen contract article
9. Brian Hambly knock-out punch versus England
10. Ken Kearney signed as coach
11. 1962 various clippings

Attachments

• bob bugden.jpg
    bob bugden.jpg
    186 KB · Views: 31
  • brian hambly.jpg
    brian hambly.jpg
    179.3 KB · Views: 33
  • killer kearney.jpg
    killer kearney.jpg
    136.3 KB · Views: 22
  • 1962 season parra.jpg
    1962 season parra.jpg
    198.7 KB · Views: 25

12. Parra Pete's home, named Cumberland Castle as a permanent reminder of great days gone by....

Attachments

• Cumberland Castle.jpg
    Cumberland Castle.jpg
    126 KB · Views: 53

Casper The Ghost

Oooohhh Geees, so many childhood memories come flooding back but not as clear as Para Petes. When I was 4-5 (1961/62) my family moved to Rydalmere until I was 11. Ron Lynch lived close by so through him via Dad got to watch Parramatta play at Cumberland, Sydney Sports Ground and the SCG. I loved going to Cumberland.

Made a friend of an older boy whose parents owned a fruit shop in the Rydalmere shopping center opposite the station, and out back there was a dirt laneway and his father erected some goal posts off the fence, so got to hone my toe kicking skills against many older boys. Competitions galore. For 2 years never won, always near last as I could not kick the long shots but then I came of age and started winning most of the comps for the next 4 years even beating young teenagers as well.

I was not allowed to play footy as parents had me working in their shop or walking greyhounds or going to greyhound, trotters or gallopers race tracks around the state as dad owned a few. Greyhounds was his big interest. We had a large paddock to the side and behind the BP station on busy Victoria Rd next to the shop so Dad had his horses there, plus mums chooks pen and vege gardens and lots of sheds. I used to regularly walk the dogs along Victoria Rd until one got away from me and was killed on the road. Dad belted the sh*t out of me. I was 8/9 years old.

When I was finally allowed to play footy I got picked in front of better players because of my goal kicking. Won so many games for my teams being a toe kicker but I was not that good a player. Always working with family which stopped me training. When family moved to Bronte/Waverley 1968 I used to go down to Queens Park and practice goal kicking there or at Waverley Oval mostly on my own. No Joke, as an 11 year old I was consistently kicking goals from the sidelines back around 40 meters and occasionally could kick them from half way, with wind assistance.

My best kick ever was on my own, Queens Park, 1970, 13 years old. Did A Hazem El Masri, from right sideline with a howling gale blowing across right to left, I kicked the ball almost down the sideline from near the half way, but very high and let the wind do the rest. Over the black dot it went and hit the small hill behind the posts back another 15 meters or so. To watch the hook of the ball curve so far around, knowing I planned that shot exactly... had me jumping up and down screaming with my Parramatta jumper on. Shame there was no one else there to witness that kick.

Sorry, I am talking about me..... After viewing all the old photos in this link, have had quite a few tears rolling down while reminiscing these memories set against a back drop of a lonely childhood, deprived of the opportunities to explore dreams I had back then. I left home by the time I was fifteen. It was the best thing I ever did. It saved my life.

Ron Lynch, if you ever read this post, thanks for all the great memories. You took a real interest in me and spent time with me. You were the reason I became an Eels fan for life. Love you lots mate. A true gentleman with a great heart.

parra pete

Oooohhh Geees, so many childhood memories come flooding back but not as clear as Para Petes. When I was 4-5 (1961/62) my family moved to Rydalmere until I was 11. Ron Lynch lived close by so through him via Dad got to watch Parramatta play at Cumberland, Sydney Sports Ground and the SCG. I loved going to Cumberland.

Made a friend of an older boy whose parents owned a fruit shop in the Rydalmere shopping center opposite the station, and out back there was a dirt laneway and his father erected some goal posts off the fence, so got to hone my toe kicking skills against many older boys. Competitions galore. For 2 years never won, always near last as I could not kick the long shots but then I came of age and started winning most of the comps for the next 4 years even beating young teenagers as well.

I was not allowed to play footy as parents had me working in their shop or walking greyhounds or going to greyhound, trotters or gallopers race tracks around the state as dad owned a few. Greyhounds was his big interest. We had a large paddock to the side and behind the BP station on busy Victoria Rd next to the shop so Dad had his horses there, plus mums chooks pen and vege gardens and lots of sheds. I used to regularly walk the dogs along Victoria Rd until one got away from me and was killed on the road. Dad belted the sh*t out of me. I was 8/9 years old.

When I was finally allowed to play footy I got picked in front of better players because of my goal kicking. Won so many games for my teams being a toe kicker but I was not that good a player. Always working with family which stopped me training. When family moved to Bronte/Waverley 1968 I used to go down to Queens Park and practice goal kicking there or at Waverley Oval mostly on my own. No Joke, as an 11 year old I was consistently kicking goals from the sidelines back around 40 meters and occasionally could kick them from half way, with wind assistance.

My best kick ever was on my own, Queens Park, 1970, 13 years old. Did A Hazem El Masri, from right sideline with a howling gale blowing across right to left, I kicked the ball almost down the sideline from near the half way, but very high and let the wind do the rest. Over the black dot it went and hit the small hill behind the posts back another 15 meters or so. To watch the hook of the ball curve so far around, knowing I planned that shot exactly... had me jumping up and down screaming with my Parramatta jumper on. Shame there was no one else there to witness that kick.

Sorry, I am talking about me..... After viewing all the old photos in this link, have had quite a few tears rolling down while reminiscing these memories set against a back drop of a lonely childhood, deprived of the opportunities to explore dreams I had back then. I left home by the time I was fifteen. It was the best thing I ever did. It saved my life.

Ron Lynch, if you ever read this post, thanks for all the great memories. You took a real interest in me and spent time with me. You were the reason I became an Eels fan for life. Love you lots mate. A true gentleman with a great heart.

That's a nice, but sad story Casper. I have never met Ron Lynch, but a former business partner of mine toured with him on the 1967 Kangaroos, and he agrees with you "Thirsty Lynch" is a good bloke...
I have plenty of memorabilia, especially from the early sixties. I feel embarrased to keep asking Bart to put it onto this thread.
I never missed a game (that I can recall anyway) from 1960-1966 when I got transferred with employment to the bush. Parramatta WAS my LIFE. I suppose, much to the detriment of my school studies, but I managed to land a job at the end of the 1961 season, and my move into the Country was the best thing that happened to me. I left the Public Service in 1985 - and since then I've had the opportunity to be a Publican, Motelier and a full time journalist and newspaper proprietor, until my 'retirement' in November 2007.
Good luck to you Casper. You put a lot of thought into your posts, and I, for one, enjoy reading them...

Raudonikis

Great work here people,very interesting.I have only been following parra since the magpies were punted 10 yrs ago.So my early memories are from lidcombe but this is great stuff and i hope some more are forthcoming.