Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old Photos Thread

big boppa eel

I was. Standing in front of the grandstand, on the left side, on the asphalt.
I was 17.

Great game, was there with my dad and happen to be sitting next Paul Younnane's (spelling) mum she was funny saying "that's my boy" through the whole game, one proud mum, great great memories.

On behalf of Parra Pete... click to enlarge and view:

13. New Team for 16,000 Grand clipping
14. 1964 Third Grade Reunion Booklet
15. Page 2
16. Page 3
17. 1964 First premiership story clipping
18. 1964 State Cup photo

"The Team photo is of the 1964 State Cup Finalists beaten by Newcastle at Newcastle. Newcastle was a very strong Country team with players like Jim Morgan, George Smith, Alan Dagwell, Les Johns, Brian Burke, Terry Pannowitz, Gerry Edser (who later played for the Parra side) and I think from memory Don Schofield also. I remember travelling up by STEAM TRAIN..
A special supporters train for the game, with a couple of mates and a girl friend.
One of the players in the team Bob Lee was a good mate. He was in the 1964 3rd Grade Premiership team, and he gave me the invitation he had to the 40th Reunion to keep with my memorabilia.
Bob was an actor who had bit parts in Alvin Purple, and also featured in No 96, King Gee ads as well as many more. What you call a colourful personality..but a bloody good bloke.
Another of the 3rd grade side was Ken Cluff, who was an old school mate, and a bloody good bloke who was tragically killed in the early seventies in a car fire."

Attachments

• new team for sixteen grand.jpg
    new team for sixteen grand.jpg
    192.9 KB · Views: 23
  • premiers 1964.jpg
    premiers 1964.jpg
    146.1 KB · Views: 35
  • premiers 1964 001.jpg
    premiers 1964 001.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 27
  • premiers 1964 002.jpg
    premiers 1964 002.jpg
    121.6 KB · Views: 25
  • premiers 1964 003.jpg
    premiers 1964 003.jpg
    201.4 KB · Views: 25
  • state cup finalists 1964.jpg
    state cup finalists 1964.jpg
    191.9 KB · Views: 24

On behalf of Parra Pete... click to enlarge and view:

19. 1981 City v Country team lists
20. 1981 Country Team photos

"City V Country match at Bruce Stadium (Now Canberra Stadium) Canberra was noteworthy for a couple of reasons.

1 It was the first taste of Senior rep football for Brett Kenny and Peter Sterling...
2 Country 2 players Chris Houghton and Matt Goodwin, Keith Rugg. with the Eels, Robert Finch was Country centre, Winger Mal Graham is Country Coach
3 Paul (Woody) Field played SOO for NSW
4 Bruce (Pigdog) McGuire was Under 18 at the time and had not even played a senior game for Nowra Warriors before his selection with Country. He was in the Balmain Grand Final team of 1989, and later moved to Canterbury where he gaind Test selection. Whoever spotted him in the Under 18s at Nowra was right on the m,oney.."

Attachments

• city country 1981.jpg
    city country 1981.jpg
    203.2 KB · Views: 37
  • city country 1981 001.jpg
    city country 1981 001.jpg
    193.2 KB · Views: 46

parra pete

Thanks for putting them on Bart. Just with the Country team photos. I have circled players who had an eyebrow removed by team mates during the night...Terry Regan was the main suspect...:lol:

Gordy

Here are a few I have taken from a scrapbook I kept as a kid. I might have to try and date them at a later time. Sorry about the quality of some of them alot are taken from Big League's and RLW's e.t.c.

lol. Glenn West.
Nickname: Show Pony.

Good player though.

Hey Suity, What's the story with Glen West? Why the nickname? Just a bit before my time.

You're not him, are you? :lol:

Dunno really.
I was just a kid.
I always thought he was a bit of a glamour boy, - long flowing curly hair but always neat and trim - hence the nickname. As I said though, I liked him as a player. Quick, strong, and a good defender.
Scored many a good try.

Captain BF

You're not him, are you? :lol:

Dunno really.
I was just a kid.
I always thought he was a bit of a glamour boy, - long flowing curly hair but always neat and trim - hence the nickname. As I said though, I liked him as a player. Quick, strong, and a good defender.
Scored many a good try.

Haha no mate i'm definately not him. Just thought i'd ask as i know very little of him. Perhaps some of our older posters may have a recollection.

Casper The Ghost

That's a nice, but sad story Casper. I have never met Ron Lynch, but a former business partner of mine toured with him on the 1967 Kangaroos, and he agrees with you "Thirsty Lynch" is a good bloke...
I have plenty of memorabilia, especially from the early sixties. I feel embarrased to keep asking Bart to put it onto this thread.
I never missed a game (that I can recall anyway) from 1960-1966 when I got transferred with employment to the bush. Parramatta WAS my LIFE. I suppose, much to the detriment of my school studies, but I managed to land a job at the end of the 1961 season, and my move into the Country was the best thing that happened to me. I left the Public Service in 1985 - and since then I've had the opportunity to be a Publican, Motelier and a full time journalist and newspaper proprietor, until my 'retirement' in November 2007.
Good luck to you Casper. You put a lot of thought into your posts, and I, for one, enjoy reading them...

Thanks Para Pete, I enjoy your posts as well. What a most interesting life you had Pete. I am thoroughly enjoying your nostalgia........ a lot of....... if only this,..... if only that... would cross my brain as I look at these clippings and photos and then I look at my beautiful wife and 4 gorgeous daughters and I feel so very lucky and so loved.

I would not wish on anyone the childhood I had until I left home. It has many horrors come leaping out as one reads through each chapter, and yet, it has made me who I am. It would be great to meet you. If interested let me know when you are driving up the Hume Hwy and we can meet up. I also live in the rural. Send me a pm and I can send you my contact details.

All the best to you your extended families and other loved ones Pete.

Casper

Oooohhh Geees, so many childhood memories come flooding back but not as clear as Para Petes. When I was 4-5 (1961/62) my family moved to Rydalmere until I was 11. Ron Lynch lived close by so through him via Dad got to watch Parramatta play at Cumberland, Sydney Sports Ground and the SCG. I loved going to Cumberland.

Made a friend of an older boy whose parents owned a fruit shop in the Rydalmere shopping center opposite the station, and out back there was a dirt laneway and his father erected some goal posts off the fence, so got to hone my toe kicking skills against many older boys. Competitions galore. For 2 years never won, always near last as I could not kick the long shots but then I came of age and started winning most of the comps for the next 4 years even beating young teenagers as well.

I was not allowed to play footy as parents had me working in their shop or walking greyhounds or going to greyhound, trotters or gallopers race tracks around the state as dad owned a few. Greyhounds was his big interest. We had a large paddock to the side and behind the BP station on busy Victoria Rd next to the shop so Dad had his horses there, plus mums chooks pen and vege gardens and lots of sheds. I used to regularly walk the dogs along Victoria Rd until one got away from me and was killed on the road. Dad belted the sh*t out of me. I was 8/9 years old.

When I was finally allowed to play footy I got picked in front of better players because of my goal kicking. Won so many games for my teams being a toe kicker but I was not that good a player. Always working with family which stopped me training. When family moved to Bronte/Waverley 1968 I used to go down to Queens Park and practice goal kicking there or at Waverley Oval mostly on my own. No Joke, as an 11 year old I was consistently kicking goals from the sidelines back around 40 meters and occasionally could kick them from half way, with wind assistance.

My best kick ever was on my own, Queens Park, 1970, 13 years old. Did A Hazem El Masri, from right sideline with a howling gale blowing across right to left, I kicked the ball almost down the sideline from near the half way, but very high and let the wind do the rest. Over the black dot it went and hit the small hill behind the posts back another 15 meters or so. To watch the hook of the ball curve so far around, knowing I planned that shot exactly... had me jumping up and down screaming with my Parramatta jumper on. Shame there was no one else there to witness that kick.

Sorry, I am talking about me..... After viewing all the old photos in this link, have had quite a few tears rolling down while reminiscing these memories set against a back drop of a lonely childhood, deprived of the opportunities to explore dreams I had back then. I left home by the time I was fifteen. It was the best thing I ever did. It saved my life.

Ron Lynch, if you ever read this post, thanks for all the great memories. You took a real interest in me and spent time with me. You were the reason I became an Eels fan for life. Love you lots mate. A true gentleman with a great heart.

My dad knew Ron Lynch as well.
So did I, sort of.
His son played for the same team as me in a Balmain Knockout comp once.
At Birchgrove Oval.
Must have been while they were in Rydalmere, Casper.
I spent my childhood years growing up in Dundas.

By the way Casper, I was never my teams goal kicker. Unusually, we had an around the corner kicker in our team those days. He was very good as well.
I was a toe poker, and my best ever kick was similar to yours, on one of those REALLY cold windy afternoons in winter. They always felt colder when we were kids.
I was on the middle exposed ovals at St Pats at Dundas. The sun was setting, a few cumulous were just passing. The air had a bite.
I did the same thing as you - kicked it miles wide on purpose and the wind did the rest. Shame it was only at training though. :lol:

Parra Steve

I found a few old photos from an open training session i think from 89 or so, i'll scan them and post them up later.

Casper The Ghost

My dad knew Ron Lynch as well.
So did I, sort of.
His son played for the same team as me in a Balmain Knockout comp once.
At Birchgrove Oval.
Must have been while they were in Rydalmere, Casper.
I spent my childhood years growing up in Dundas.

By the way Casper, I was never my teams goal kicker. Unusually, we had an around the corner kicker in our team those days. He was very good as well.
I was a toe poker, and my best ever kick was similar to yours, on one of those REALLY cold windy afternoons in winter. They always felt colder when we were kids.
I was on the middle exposed ovals at St Pats at Dundas. The sun was setting, a few cumulous were just passing. The air had a bite.
I did the same thing as you - kicked it miles wide on purpose and the wind did the rest. Shame it was only at training though. :lol:

:lol: Our best moments are never in the spotlight.

Why don't we organise a Dally M award (The Spotlight) for the kicks no one saw???? :lol::lol:

Gees Suity, we might have come across each other when kids at Dundas and Rydalmere.

It seems we have more in common than what was provided from our first impressions of each other.:cool:

Gordy

Here are a few more I have found.

1. Muzz
2. 1977 GF Team
3. 1977 GF - Graeme Atkins struggles to break a tackle as Stephen Edge and John Chapman move in to put him down. (Graham Olling in background)
4. Guru

parra pete

Photo 3...Are you sure that is Graham Atkins...If I had to say who I thought it was I would have nominated Jim Porter...

Gordy

Photo 3...Are you sure that is Graham Atkins...If I had to say who I thought it was I would have nominated Jim Porter...

Yeah I think it is Pete. I did think it looked like him anyway, but it actually says it in the writing in the bottom right hand corner, but you can't read it. :)

Just one more on behalf of Parra Pete...

21.This is the writeup of Ken Thornett's first game for Parra in 1962.

"I was there, I saw it, and I knew I had just witnessed a player who would be the man to lead the team out of the Wilderness..
My all time favourite player, the bloke the call THE MAYOR.
I also travelled up from Sydney to watch Ken lead an undefeated Coonabarabran against Dunedoo in the Group 14 Grand Final in 1969. Coona lost its ONLY game of the year, going down 10-9...Ken played lock!!!!. Next year, Ian Walsh got him back to play for Parra, the team made the semi finals, but lost in extra time to StGeorge."

Attachments

• thornett first game.jpg
    thornett first game.jpg
    196 KB · Views: 26

parra pete

Just one more on behalf of Parra Pete...

21.This is the writeup of Ken Thornett's first game for Parra in 1962.

"I was there, I saw it, and I knew I had just witnessed a player who would be the man to lead the team out of the Wilderness..
My all time favourite player, the bloke the call THE MAYOR.
I also travelled up from Sydney to watch Ken lead an undefeated Coonabarabran against Dunedoo in the Group 14 Grand Final in 1969. Coona lost its ONLY game of the year, going down 10-9...Ken played lock!!!!. Next year, Ian Walsh got him back to play for Parra, the team made the semi finals, but lost in extra time to StGeorge."

Thanks again Bart. If people enjoy reading these articles, I will send more.
Ken Foord..the intercept king, passed away a couple of years ago. It was spectacular to watch him pluck them out of the air, game after game..
Thanks for giving an old bloke a chance to recall those great days of my youth..