Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ot- qantas

Yep just checked ...... the sky is where it should be. ...... still.

i tell you what. Anybody that works 7 days aweek, 12 hours shifts deserves to drop dead. It catches up with the system you know. If they are caught up in that trap they should stop awhile and smell the roses and the trees.

Its a big country, Australia. People sometimes should be prepared to broaden their scope.

I know one thing, Greenacres is the place for me. Farm living is the life for me. Land spreading out so far and wide. Keep Manhatten, just give me that countryside.

joyce-1.jpg

Wow! 6 million centre link customers nation wide & with the budget surplus banked by the Coalition all spent on insulation bats , obsolete laptops, outdoor classrooms & advertising costs for "why we should love Carbon tax" by Cate Blandette, our nation better hope the Chinks dont start lowering the price of commoditities or we are pharked . The worst part about this report is that I know that 95% of all the guys I personally know, struggling for work, are too proud to go to centrelink & are relying on piece work & any savings to get by. Kids removed from Child care centres/kindegartens to save money so they are now laying off staff & struggling too.
I would imagine all these useless dopes complaining about greedy people at these so called "occupy" rallies are centrelink recipients too. Thats right, living off the greedy peoples taxes.
What the country needs now more than anything is job creators. "greedy" people with a love of entrepreneurship & a love of money & the awesome things you can do with it(like buy the Sharks).
We need more Alan Joyces (& less soft cok hypocrites like cameron, Coombe, Brown, Gillard, Rudd) who will help this country & realise that this country runs on small business & the building trade. They need to lowertaxes for job creators(NSW payroll tax is the most obnoxious labor tax ever invented).
Public servants wages are a luxury & its about time they were performance based. (Nursing excluded)
THE number of Australians receiving government handouts has blown out in the four years Labor has been in power.

Centrelink "customers" have swollen to 7.1 million -- 600,000 more than the number of people receiving benefits in 2007. The total bill over the past year is $90.5 billion.

The number of people on the dole or Newstart allowance has risen by 25 per cent, more than any other benefit.

Almost 562,000 Australians are now on the dole, up from 452,733 in June 2007, and an extra 72,203 recipients have been receiving the benefit for more than a year.

The government cites the global financial crisis for the rise and said the number had been declining since.

"There has been a steady decline in the number of Australians on NSA over the past few years, falling by 4.4 per cent since September 2009," a spokesman for Chris Evans said. "These falls are continuing to occur at a time when global economic conditions remain weak, reflecting the strength and resilience of the Australian economy."

But the opposition claims the increase in the number of Australians receiving welfare benefits is another failure of the Gillard government.

"Labor's changes to the welfare compliance regime coupled with the economic conditions this government has presided over, means the taxpayers who are working and contributing to the economy are having to support more and more of those who aren't," said Kevin Andrews, Opposition spokesman on families, housing and human services.

The disability support pension tally has also shot up since Labor came to power. Some 819,000 people are receiving the benefit -- up 104,650 from 714,200 in June 2007.

Community Services Minister Jenny Macklin said the rate of growth in the number of disabled people receiving money was the lowest in the past three years. She said the government was tightening the eligibility criteria in a bid to get more DSP recipients into work.

"The Gillard government believes we can do better than a lifetime spent on income support for Australians who have some capacity to work."

But People With Disability Australia executive director Michael Bleasdale claims the move will just see people bumped off the DSP and on to the lower Newstart benefit.

"The government's intention is supposed to get people into jobs, but we don't actually think enough has been done to guarantee these people can get work, so the effect will just be that more people end up on Newstart and that is alarming," he said.

Youth allowance handouts have also shot up in the past four years, with almost 60,000 extra full-time students receiving money to help them study.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/massive-blow-out-in-dole-queue/story-fn6b3v4f-1226186699511

Maybe the Skys not falling & maybe it wont. But it is not far off.

Wow! 6 million centre link customers nation wide & with the budget surplus banked by the Coalition all spent on insulation bats , obsolete laptops, outdoor classrooms & advertising costs for "why we should love Carbon tax" by Cate Blandette, our nation better hope the Chinks dont start lowering the price of commoditities or we are pharked . The worst part about this report is that I know that 95% of all the guys I personally know, struggling for work, are too proud to go to centrelink & are relying on piece work & any savings to get by. Kids removed from Child care centres/kindegartens to save money so they are now laying off staff & struggling too.
I would imagine all these useless dopes complaining about greedy people at these so called "occupy" rallies are centrelink recipients too. Thats right, living off the greedy peoples taxes.
What the country needs now more than anything is job creators. "greedy" people with a love of entrepreneurship & a love of money & the awesome things you can do with it(like buy the Sharks).
We need more Alan Joyces (& less soft cok hypocrites like cameron, Coombe, Brown, Gillard, Rudd) who will help this country & realise that this country runs on small business & the building trade. They need to lowertaxes for job creators(NSW payroll tax is the most obnoxious labor tax ever invented).
Public servants wages are a luxury & its about time they were performance based. (Nursing excluded)

YEAH IT IS NOT FAR OFF, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU LOOK AT THESE FACTS

Doooommmedd Guv'ment I tell yuh..... Dooommed.

Headline: How good are nations at keeping the promises made at G20 summits? – Australia NO: 1 –
http://www.economist.com/blogs/dailychart/2011/11/grading-g20
0. Labor is still the Australian Govt – They are terrified of 2 years, 104 weeks, 730 days, 17520 hours, 1,051,200 minutes and 63,072,000 secs
1. Unemployment falls to 5.2% in Sept
2. Inflation 0.3% for Sept Qtr and 3.5% on year and 2.3% on trimmed rate, lower than expectation
3. Public Net Debts 6.1% GDP & Aust Govt deficit is 3.4% of GDP and compares to deficits of over 10 per cent of GDP in the US and UK. Best Fiscal consolidation & spending restraint in the last 20 years
4. RBA Interest rate 4.50%, compared to 6.75% when Howard was voted out.
5. For the whole of the 2010-2011 financial year, the economy grew 1.8 per cent, the ABS said. Despite all the natural disasters during the year
6. AUD Vs USD 1.04
7. Trade Surplus – $2B jun 2011- Australia’s $2 billion-plus trade surplus for June brought the tally for the last financial year to $22.4 billion – easily the biggest surplus in raw terms for the past 40 years of records compiled by the ABS
8. “ALP best manager of money, history shows” – George Megalogenis
9. Australian families depending on one breadwinner pay among the lowest amounts of tax in the world and have become better off under the Gillard Government – Natsem
10. Investment in the next year in mining and related infra-structure projects $140B
11. Labor’s Tax take 21.75% of GDP Vs 25% under Liberals
12. No interest rise for the 11th consecutive month Vs 10 consecutive rises under Howard/Costello. It is now expected no rises in the future with a prospect of 100/125 basis points cut by June 2012. 25 pts cut predicted on Melbourne Cup day.
13. The number of people filling for bankruptcy in Australia has fallen by 16%.
14. Australia safe from debt crisis: OECD
15. Credit Rating AAA
16. We are in Asia
17. business investment spending is expected to grow by 15 per cent this year and another 15 per cent next year. – Ross Gittin
18. Australia in good shape if another crisis hits, says IMF – 8/8/11
19. Australia Stock market has finally decoupled itself from US. On 8/8 ASX up 1.2% as DJ down 6%
20. Capex investment went gangbuster in July and retail up 0.7%
21. NEW Treasury analysis finds Mining played minor role during GFC, it says service industries such as retail – which received a hefty boost from Kevin Rudd’s stimulus package – were crucial in sustaining the economy during its darkest days.
22. Spending survey shows we are better off than we think – YOU would not believe it if you listened to our politicians, but household fuel and power bills eat up no more of our wallets than they did six years ago. And petrol eats up less. he only comprehensive survey of household spending – conducted once every six years by the Bureau of Statistics – finds domestic fuel and power accounted for 2.6 per cent of household spending in 2009-10, 2.6 per cent in 2003-04 and 2.6 per cent two decades earlier in 1988-89.
23. For the whole of the 2010-2011 financial year, the economy grew 1.8 per cent, the ABS said. Despite all the national disasters during the year. And the growth is not all attributed to the Mining sector. Households are not only spending, but saving
24. MASSIVE investment in resources and healthy household spending have delivered the best economic growth in four years and boosted the government’s chances of delivering its promised return to budget surplus.
25. Wayne Swan – Treasurer of the Year 2011
26. Global recovery stalled, says IMF, but Australia well-placed to weather economic turmoil. But the Australian economy has more scope to adjust than most countries, with the ability to slow its return to budget surplus if conditions get worse, and it will be buttressed by the continuing strength in Asia, the fund says.
27. iiNet predicts 27% cost drop on NBN
28. The Wobblebys won Bronze in Rugby WC
29. UNHCR has put its stamp of approval on the Malaysian Solution and dispel all the negative propaganda
30. BHP Billiton $80B Olympic Dam copper/uranium/gold mine in South Australia creating 6000 jobs during a decade-long construction phase, 4000 ongoing jobs at the mine and 15,000 indirect jobs.
31. “The Atlantic magazine named Gillard as one of its “2011 brave thinkers” for her resolute strength in pushing through a carbon tax. “Whether you see the move as politically expedient or as a principled course correction, there’s no denying the risk that it entails in a country where climate change is a wildly contentious issue,” writes Geoffrey Gagnon”
32. RBA again highlights unwinding of fiscal stimulus as an offset to strong private investment.A big tick for govt management of the budget – Stephen Koukoulas
33. The Inspector-General in Bankruptcies’ (IGIB) annual report for 2010/11 showed there were 23,102 new bankruptcies in the year, down 16 per cent from the previous year.It was the lowest number recorded since 2005/06.
34. The Credit Suisse 2011 Global Wealth report, which surveyed the world’s 4.5 billion adults, also revealed that Australia’s median wealth is the highest in the world at US $220,000.
35. Japanese national debt about to top 1 quadrillion yen. That’s 1,000,000,000,000,000. In Aussie dollars that 12,700,000,000,000.
36. AUSTRALIA is second best – almost but not quite the greatest place in which to live, according to the latest United Nations human development index. Norway pips us by a flared nostril. Australia scores 0.93 on a scale of 0 to 1, where 1 is the highest score possible. At 0.94, Norway’s margin over Australia is close to invisible
37. G 20′s 2nd Highest per capita GDP: Australia, $54,869, behind Singapore, $62,100 UAE $49,600 USA $47,132 Germany $40, 512
38. Another entry to my beautiful set of numbers, Morgan primary no jul/Nov L-NP 52.5, 49, 47, 45 Vs ALP 27.5, 29.5, 31, 34, courtesy of Ari #auspol
39. How good are nations at keeping the promises made at G20 summits? – Australia NO: 1

-------------------------------------------------------

Zaa Zaa - see #33 re bankrupcies mentioned in your previous post.

FACTS baby Facts.... dooommmmed Guv'ment I reckon

just keep quoting the Murdoch Press. If you repeat a lie long enough you will believe it.

So when's the Telecraps next projected date for the overthrow of PrimeMinister Gillard.

It's about time the Murdoch Meejah woke up to fact that the general public has accepted Prime Minister is our Prime Minister and will be around for some time yet. I think you might find that all the other Meejah has finally realised it.

It's the unhinging that will soon to be reported. The Polls are narrowing - the Wingnut is doomed. Two years to the next erection.

WATCH THIS SPACE.

(I love it)

just keep quoting the Murdoch Press. If you repeat a lie long enough you will believe it.
Conspiracy theorist now?
So when's the Telecraps next projected date for the overthrow of PrimeMinister Gillard.[/qoute] Either way, with approval rating in the hight teens, she is a dead red headed duck walking.

It's about time the Murdoch Meejah woke up to fact that the general public has accepted Prime Minister is our Prime Minister and will be around for some time yet. I think you might find that all the other Meejah has finally realised it.
Nobody thinks for a second that Gilalrd will remain prime minister. The caniving, sleazy, scumbag approach to left wing politics will ensure that . The longer she is in power the better it is for the coalition. All media & the labor party & 75% of the people that voted labor last time, all agree on that.
It's the unhinging that will soon to be reported. The Polls are narrowing - the Wingnut is doomed. Two years to the next erection.
Banans in pyjamas could win the next election from labor. It may be that you will have a miserable 20 yerars after that, especially if Abbott gets in.

WATCH THIS SPACE.

(I love it)
Loving seeing good hard working, self employed Australians pharked over by a useless government? Msut be good to be in a bubble of protection in a rare economic positive area of Australia & oblivious to what is avctually happening on the ground.

I for a second think that Prime Minister Gillard will lead the "doomed Guv'ment' to the next election in over two years. Everyday, everyway I believe the Lab doomed Guv'ment is making progress. The policy starved Fibs under Dr No are slipping .... the slide is on.

It will be a great two years too. All the reforms going through. We can all know that history will judge the "doomed guv'ment" but hey, thank f**k we went with Asia when we did.

The wiseman builds his house upon the rocks.

It just a shame for you guys that Bob Menzies and B A Santamaria are dead. But if you need to channel them just ask Brommie Bishop, she worked with them all.

Great front bench the Wingnut has compiled. The Poodle Pyne, 'Anna Nicholle' Sophie M, Brommie, Mesma, and whose that guy thats heart is not in it .... Malcolm. And that K.Hunt that is against our development. (hes the slime to watch)

The Libs future... is their past.

Sorry I digress. Two more years will the sky still be above us. Got to love that.

Let me know when you would like me to post the facts again. Not the Telecrap Murdoch Facts (like the phone hacking facts) but the 30 plus facts I listed above...

Everyday, everyway I believe the Lab doomed Guv'ment is making progress.
The you are wrong. I am sure in the "bubble" areas, nobody gives a damn. AT the coal face, in the work force, with the trades, there is utter hatred. Hatred at the way the government was formed despite more Australians voting coalition. HAtred at the scum bag antics of union insiders in knifing their own leaders. Hatred at the carbon tax policy. Hatred at all of their policies. Im sure you enjoying this government Quigs, irrespective of the job they are doing(because non-unions & right wing are your enemy) but the workforce & real Australia(exclude public servants) are not. There is no progress being made this government on anything.

^^>>toilet forum

Oh, there isn't one?

Then FFS make one and get this political shit out of here

spider

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/polit...hots-over-qantas-backfire-20111106-1n1vi.html

Inquisitors' cheap shots over Qantas backfire

On Friday it was there, live on TV, for anyone who cared to look - an example of why the Gillard government would emphatically lose office if an election were called this year.

In a Senate committee hearing room in Parliament House, Canberra, the government went on the offensive against someone who had directly challenged the power of the unions. Government senators and their Green allies took cheap shots, exaggerated, sneered, distorted, indulged in conspiracy theories, made personal attacks and did everything but exhibit an understanding of how to run a business.

Three Labor senators, Alex Gallacher, Doug Cameron and Glenn Sterle, all former union officials, were joined by two Greens senators, Bob Brown and Scott Ludlam, taking turns putting the boot into Alan Joyce, the chief executive of Qantas. Not one of this pack of inquisitors has ever run a substantial business but all have highly developed ideas of entitlements.

After 83 minutes of inquisition it blew up in the government's face. The opposition industrial relations spokesman, Senator Eric Abetz, asked Joyce what would have happened if the government had invoked section 431 of the Fair Work Act, which entitles the Minister for Transport to stop industrial action if it is damaging the economy.

Would that have pre-empted his spectacular action of grounding the entire Qantas fleet last weekend?
''Absolutely,'' Joyce replied. ''Section 431 is very clear. It would have stopped me taking the industrial action I was taking. And would have stopped the lockout.''

The great failure in this long-running, slow-burning, highly disruptive industrial dispute was the government's willingness to ignore the multiple pleas from the tourism industry to put an end to the months of industrial guerilla tactics being used by unions representing Qantas engineers, long-haul pilots, baggage handlers and caterers.

Similarly inert was the bureaucratic wing of the Labor Party, Fair Work Australia, which could see no justification for intervening in the dispute. Instead, a Fair Work tribunal found: ''It is unlikely that the protected industrial action taken by the three unions, even taken together, is threatening to cause significant damage to the tourism and air transport industries."

Both the government and Fair Work Australia thought it was fair for Qantas to continue losing $15 million a week, continue grounding flights, continue disrupting passengers, and continue to suffer a catastrophic decline in bookings as the unions continued their announced plan to ''slow bake'' the airline, and its customers, over a period of months.

Problem, what problem? This is how Labor's soft power has been working ever since it passed the Fair Work Act, which enormously expanded the rights of unions to take industrial action about anything they chose.
Fair Work Australia has been stacked with Labor appointments since it was set up in 2009. Of the 11 Fair Work Commissioners appointed by the Gillard government, nine are former union officials or union advocates, and the other two are career public servants.

This is the same Fair Work Australia which has found nothing wrong with the conduct of the former union official and Labor MP Craig Thomson, on whose survival in Parliament the government's fate depends. Friday's committee hearing was ostensibly about a bill proposed by an independent, Senator Nick Xenophon, which would limit the ability of Qantas to operate subsidiaries using foreign-based staff.

This is what Joyce had to say about the proposal: ''It would not make us any more Australian. It would not protect Australian jobs and would have the opposite effect. It would put our business in jeopardy and would threaten Australian jobs. The bill contemplates locking Qantas inside Australian borders.

''This is protectionism. No company can hide from the threat and opportunities of globalisation.''

I agree. Based on this proposed bill, and his performance on Friday, Senator Xenophon would be better named Senator Xenophobe.
Without a shred of evidence he challenged the veracity of a claim by Qantas that its international division lost $200 million last year.

Joyce responded: ''Several weeks ago we offered the ACTU an independent audit … [to] bring the conspiracy theories and the debate over this issue to a close. We are still waiting for a response.''

In full xenophobic mode, the senator then raised the spectre of Asian sweatshop workers stealing the jobs of Australian workers. Again, Joyce was obliged to dismiss his scare-mongering: ''The $400-a-month contract is a nonsense. These people are making $2000 a month. Our Thai cabin crew are paid 10 times the average salary in Thailand.''

Picking up the theme of Asian threat rather than Asian opportunity, Senator Gallacher raised the issue of Joyce's salary, and the decline in the Qantas share price, and linked the cutting of 1000 jobs with a proposal to start a premium airline in Asia.

Joyce responded: ''The job cuts … had nothing to do with the creation of an Asian airline, which is not going to lose one single Australian job.''

Senator Brown, typically, then ramped up the insults: ''You went about deliberately withholding your plan for a lockout from the Prime Minister and the Minister for Transport … ''
Joyce: ''That's not true, senator … ''
Brown: ''You were very obscure and devious … ''
Joyce: ''Sorry, senator, I think that's an absolutely inappropriate thing to say … The lockout wasn't our plan all along, so you're incorrect on that.''
Brown: ''You had a big stick behind your back and you didn't show it to anybody.''

Joyce: ''No, it's not true. The Fair Work Act gives us the option of taking industrial action as well. There has to be a balance between a company and its employees. Nobody is complaining about the massive industrial action by unions over an extended period that was killing Qantas. I had to do something.''
lol at xenophobe - he has no idea, and brown's bullying insults from a pack mob back-fired

geez the greens are made to look even dumber being led by this bloke

The truth is out there Spide. And it's coming home to roost.

Now don't you get to worried about what Senator Abetz has to ask. He is such a brilliant Legal Eagle.

My thinks that article is very selective reporting. I don't think Andrew Bolt could of written that article any better then that.

Qantas was only lucky that all those radical stressed out Pilots didn't do what Mr Joyce thought they would if he didn't enforce the lockout and ground the fleet. Yeah luckily all those radical Pilots that were still flying and some had three or four hours flight time in front of them when the order went out, didn't ditch their planes into the Pacific or Indian Ocean. Dat's what Joycee was worreed a'bout.

Oh and no mention of the simple fact that they (Qantas) just happend to forget to tell anyone that they had grounded the fleet and just kept on selling tickets for flights.

Look no further Spide, then the K.Hunt that Joyce answers to on the Qantas Board. Or just ask KFC Hockey and Tones mate Reithy who knew what. They are all in it up to Tones big wingnuts.

Love it. Ask Joe Blow in the street what he thinks of it.

PJ

I spoke with a friend of mine, a cousin and his partner who all work for Qantas in jobs ranging from middle management to low end, but not jobs involved in the negotiations.

I must say that I was surprised at how much they agreed with Joyce on this. Don't particularly like him, but thought he was right.

spider

i agree quigs, well written article pressing the opposing view

one does have to laugh at brown though and section 431 which coincidentally sat there untouched while the unions drained the business of $15m per week in revenue

imo, big red was too scared to make a call, as she is with wilkie on gambling reform

she was intereviewed the day before the grounding, so filled with splinters one would think she rode a slippery dip of fence pailings - 48 hours later after FWA step in she is all guns balzing

had joyce not returned serve, family members of mine flip a coin to see if they get out of the country on holiday. currently they are toasting joyce from a tropical island

She didn't have to make the call Spide, the powers were there in the act.

O'Barrell and Bailleau could of called it too before writing the letter with the help of Senator Albetz. Anyone could of called 431. Crikey even Joycee admitted to Doug that he had covered every point to which he could of gone to FWA and called in 431.

Did your family members know that Joyce had attended a few meeting in Albanese's office along with the Unions in the week prior to the grounding / lockout where all parties had agreed to stop all actions ( I can't recall the exact time but I think it was 30 days) pending mediation talks.

Now when are the family members due back from hols.

Prime Minister Gillard was a bit busy during the time that Joyce and Co conspired to ground the entire fleet costing what $70 million, lock out 17,000 australian workers, book 2,000 motel rooms in LA and Singapore.

I reckon Prime Minister Gillard was a bit concerned with the 34 Heads of Government she was entertaining at the time.

Hope the family enjoys the holidays as munch as I am going to enjoy the truth being revealled.

Joyce made the sole decision on Sat'dee morning my arse. Whats that saying in here, I've got more chance of Jennifer Hawkins wanting to bed me than that being dah truth.

spider

She didn't have to make the call Spide, the powers were there in the act
i bet in hindsight she wishes she did, then she wouldnt have looked silly in the presence of the chog delegates visiting

lets not forget how much damage the unions did over recent months and how much it cost the business at $15m per week, and as you pointed out the powers were there in the at which joyce invoked..

family due back inside 30 day limit

Spide Joyce had no reason to ground the entire fleet costing what $70 million, inconvenience what was it 60,000 travellers internationally and domestically, lock out 17,000 australian workers, book 2,000 motel rooms in LA and Singapore.

He had all bases covered to call in the FWA act and get a result or as he put it... bring it to a head.

It has now blown up in the face of the Qantas Board. They have trashed the brand locally and internationally. No matter what the likes of Shannahan and co print in the papers - even the Jocks are barking at Qantas. As for the average punter. Check the polls about what they think of Qantas and their decision. What its running at 65% to 35% against Qantas.

The faceless men only wanted to do a Patricks.... Thats all. And they did it at a time that was meant to embarrass the Government. They wanted it to drag on and on and on. Have you heard one FIB come out and complain against the decision.

The answer is a big Tony Rabbott NO!!!

You know why ? Because those arseoles knew all about it. And wanted / hoping to make the Government look bad. Well only 24 hours later Qantas was back in the air after orders from the FWA full bench. And they hated that decision...

Its not what Joycee wanted ... Its not what the FIBS wanted.... It has backfired on them and will do so when forced arbitration is put on them by the full board.

Its also about the job security too. Watch Joyce react to that.

$15 million per week. When forced arbitration is called Qantas will have to produce the books and prove this to the full bench. And those figures will have to be made public. Now have they pencilled in allthe losses from new branch airlines that Qantas has bought into... jetstar asia, the mob from NZ... all running at big losses.

its got nothing to do with the Qantas Company but will be interesting to see if Qantas wants to include other company losses in their numbers.

Remember Spide the truth is out their....... anyhow the Andrew Bolts of the world will report it how they like. But the man in the street is now walking in front of the Shannahans and Bolts and Gloria Jones of this world. Christ they are so Bromwyn Bishop.

spider

$70m for 24 hours - i think $15m over a week is a fair estimate, but as you mention, if they have to discolse documentation to substantiate this at arbitration then it will come to fruition

at the end of the day does a dollar amount lessen the extent of what was occurring - if i had a business and the employees wanted to hold a revenue gun to my head, i'd have the last laugh eventually

you are correct, it embarrassed the govt, and at a critical time - but you get that in the big show and in years to come it will be remembered as occurring under them

would there have been a different result from FWA had the country not had all those delegates to fly back home...

you are correct, it embarrassed the govt, and at a critical time - but you get that in the big show and in years to come it will be remembered as occurring under them

It's the big picture alright Spide. Like that Pommy entertainment bloke. Can't think of his name right now. He is host of the I.Q show.. Its a world wide hit and he has 2 million followers on twitter. He was one of the passengers grounded without notice. His tweets went out every couple of minutes about the sudden unannounced grounding.

2 million international tweet followers. Not 150 thousand "The Australian" readers.

Its the big picture Spide.

would there have been a different result from FWA had the country not had all those delegates to fly back home...

Not one iota. Only 15 of them were booked on Qantas. But the whole lot of those world leaders certainly knew of Qantas's decision. They would also be aware of how long it took Prime Minister Gillards FWA took to get Qantas Planes back in the air.

Re the decision, our democracy is wonderful even if you don't agree with certain decisions. The independency of the legal system is paramount. I think you must agree... the recent high court decision re asylum seekers is a fine example. No one thought that the Judges would come down with their decision in that case. Similarly the full bench of the FWA has three judges.

Now I know that Senator Abetz likes to flirt with the rulings of the law but that is how our system works.

Nope CHOGM had nothing to do with the FWA decision.

(dogs ... walkies now back in an hour.)

spider

Quigs said:
It's the big picture alright Spide. Like that Pommy entertainment bloke. Can't think of his name right now. He is host of the I.Q show.. Its a world wide hit and he has 2 million followers on twitter. He was one of the passengers grounded without notice. His tweets went out every couple of minutes about the sudden unannounced grounding.

2 million international tweet followers. Not 150 thousand "The Australian" readers.

Its the big picture Spide.
unfotunately ol' mate with his 2 million followers and their opinions are outweighed by the simple laws of supply & demand when it comes to airline tickets

Not one iota. Only 15 of them were booked on Qantas. But the whole lot of those world leaders certainly knew of Qantas's decision. They would also be aware of how long it took Prime Minister Gillards FWA took to get Qantas Planes back in the air.
precisely - which raises more concern as to why intervention was not taken sooner

obvioulsy juliuh wasn't concerned with the airline being killed by a thousand cuts

Ive just got a suspicion Spide that Qantarse might be just a bit rattled by all the dud investments the board has made and the decisions to partner into the highly competitive cheapo flight companies abroad. Big losses.

I reckon this will show up when the books have to be produced. Maybe just maybe a lot of dem tousand coots would be from the bad investments and dud decisions. I'm just saying that mind you. I will wait for the arbitrators decision.

Re Prime Minister Gillards intervention. Her involvement rattled the Q Team. They didn't anticipate she would go to the Fullbench of the FWA under the what was it 241 which they wanted.

Egg on the face for them I reckon.

Hawke - 1 month to sort out the Pilots strike.
Little Johnny - 6 months on the Waterfront.
PM Gillard - 24 hours for Qantas.

I don't know if anyone can really complain about her not getting the planes back in the sky. Even if it was with those over stressed mentally fatigued and potentially ill airline pilots.

Silly arguing against the person that introduced FWA into legislation .... that's Irish to me.