Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: the game day cook off thread

Hmmmm Coral Trout, Spannish Macks, Mudcrabs basic tucker here in The Park. Young bloke across the road used to supply me on a regular basis with the above mentioned tucker but unfortunately (and I am being 110% serious here) the poor bloke is 30ish and has recently suffered some very serious mental issues. (even hospitalised him)

But I have other sources so 'we' won't starve.

True story - when I was down the far south of NSW back in the late 70s early 80s I had a big indiginous mate who used to dive for lobsters. I'd buy 5 of them off him for $20.00. My kids grew up eating them like kids ate chops and veggies. Never went without fish, oysters and sometimes scallops. Arhhhhhhhhhhhhh the memories.

Surely

When I was in cairns I used to chuck an esky full of kfc on the flight to horn island and the boys would send back an esky full of cray tails, got sick of them after a while, who’d have thought.

good thread
I go the standard steak on the webber. I want to get one of those crazy smokers and start doing brisket pulled pork etc.

if you have twitter, suss @mrhektik ( sharks fan) or @HDragonsFan. his foods is foods porn. he dead set has 9 bbqs.

I do my own buffalo wings. buy the wings as they are, trim em myself.
have my own spice blend of flour salt pepper garlic powder cayenne pepper chilli flakes etc, deep fry them in a wok,

Buffalo sauce is as follows

1 x stick of butter. ya fat f**ks. haha
salt
pepper
3 bottles of franks red hot
cayenne pepper for extra goodness

goes good with a blue cheese dressing aswell which is your cheapest blue cheese and mayonnaise blended in the magic bullet.

good thread
I go the standard steak on the webber. I want to get one of those crazy smokers and start doing brisket pulled pork etc.

if you have twitter, suss @mrhektik ( sharks fan) or @HDragonsFan. his foods is foods porn. he dead set has 9 bbqs.

I do my own buffalo wings. buy the wings as they are, trim em myself.
have my own spice blend of flour salt pepper garlic powder cayenne pepper chilli flakes etc, deep fry them in a wok,

Buffalo sauce is as follows

1 x stick of butter. ya fat f**ks. haha
salt
pepper
3 bottles of franks red hot
cayenne pepper for extra goodness

goes good with a blue cheese dressing aswell which is your cheapest blue cheese and mayonnaise blended in the magic bullet.
Good stuff!
We have a serious contender here!!

When I was in cairns I used to chuck an esky full of kfc on the flight to horn island and the boys would send back an esky full of cray tails, got sick of them after a while, who’d have thought.

My sister in law ( my wife grew up in Port Moresby) was importing crays from PNG for a few years.
Supplying Coles I think.

She’d come over with 20 at a time.
I was running out of ways to cook them.
Suddenly the PNG govt decided they should be making the money and not her.

Eion

I had it
Same shit as all the rest

One of the blokes I went with ate hamburgers only for 8 days.
I dunno, I reckon it’s definitely better than the maccas / Burger King types over there. But the yanks do froth over it when imo it just compares to a good fast food burger over here. Our maccas shits all over the yank version.

I do like the very limited menu In n Out menu though.

Tell youse what, envy is a sin.

So sinners yesterday I created a boiler full of beee-utiful pea and ham soup. Ended up with four 2 litre containers full. Months of May and June are now covered. The wife doesn't eat it but I do share it with her because that is the type of bloke I am. There is a fart in every spoonful.

And before you ask it is as thick as Dasoup. I could stand the wooden spoon in it.

So sinners yesterday I created a boiler full of beee-utiful pea and ham soup. Ended up with four 2 litre containers full. Months of May and June are now covered. The wife doesn't eat it but I do share it with her because that is the type of bloke I am. There is a fart in every spoonful.

And before you ask it is as thick as Dasoup. I could stand the wooden spoon in it.

Good old P&H. Do it once a year me self.

Will last longer under your proposed rule of game day only.

HAHAHA

Negative Mr Tracey. the only ring problem I have is day after syndrome from chilli assaults.

Well there is a positive to that.

If one is only shitting brown water one will not strain to the point of P&H

Early game day dinner for me. Whose playing???
IT DOESNT MATTER WHO IS PLAYING!!!!!!

Crispy skin chilli and garlic salmon, with Garlic Tiger prawns.
My own Mediterranean salad: lettuce, avocado, Spanish onion, olives, Persian fetta and haloumi.
Make my own dressing: Olive oil, herbs, Herbamare Sea Salt, a little black pepper, and a dash of apple cider vinegar.
I add a little garlic aioli on the side to dip and wipe up the juice.
All washed down with a long neck of Hahn Super Dry.

It.Was.Really.Good.

Crispy Salmon 1.jpg