Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta waiting in the wings for Thurston

In terms of ability, yes. But I still see Edge as the best 'signing' we ever made (hey, it's just my opinion). Parra had never won a comp at that stage, and after the heartbreak of 77 what we needed more than anything was a leader who had been there done that, in spades. Edge was that man.

I see your point, Mick.

lingard

Isn't Mortimer one of the blokes this forum hates??? Just letting you know he would be very welcome at the Raiders..a good young Club with supporters who encourage - and not denigrate their players - especially those still maturing and finding their way.
You people will not realise what you had until it's gone. I would suggest you encourage players like Daniel Mortimer, who in my opinion, will develop into an outstanding five eight, maybe as early as 2011..but definitely by 2012..

AND BBE, I am still here because I want to be....
Why are you still here remember the legendary thread "Bye Bye"???? - one of the all time greats.

No. Absolutely not. We hate his sh*t-house form over the entire 2011 season. And we hate the ridiculous amount of pressure Daniel Anderson put on him by continually selecting him in first grade when he was clearly struggling big time. But we don`t hate Daniel Mortimer. We`re Parramatta supporters.

lingard

Earlier this year I saw Thurston play the most complete performance of any halfback in origin history. He is without doubt in the top 3 players in the world and is without doubt the best 7 on the planet. People are basing their opinion on him with rumour and innuendo. If we have a chance we should go all out and complete the greatest signing in our club's history.

I reckon Scott Prince is a better half-back.

No. Absolutely not. We hate his sh*t-house form over the entire 2010 season. And we hate the ridiculous amount of pressure Daniel Anderson put on him by continually selecting him in first grade when he was clearly struggling big time. But we don`t hate Daniel Mortimer. We`re Parramatta supporters.

Well said mate.

I suppose the comment you replied to is typical of something coming from a Faider's fan.
Best to ignore the trolls.

PS. I corrected the year you meant.

And we hate the ridiculous amount of pressure Daniel Anderson put on him by continually selecting him in first grade when he was clearly struggling big time

So tell me, who would you have replaced him with. Tom Humble is a Fullback we are trying to convert into a 5/8th at Wenty and most would say he is going okay at it but not brilliant.

So who Else do you replace him with, or do we just run out without a 6 because Dan is under pressure?

fish eel

So tell me, who would you have replaced him with. Tom Humble is a Fullback we are trying to convert into a 5/8th at Wenty and most would say he is going okay at it but not brilliant.

So who Else do you replace him with, or do we just run out without a 6 because Dan is under pressure?

I thought Tom Humble played 5/8 for his Qld Cup side before we signed him??

So did I. But then ..............?

You might be right but he played most of the start of the NSW Cup season at Fullback and was substituting for an attacking 5/8th very much like Hayne. Defensively he is more a fullback then a 5/8th.

Either way I wouldn't call him a NRL 5/8th just yet by the longest stretch of the imagination. Playing a position okay in NSW Cup or QLD cup doesn't put your name in lights as an NRL player.

you do know that Tom played the full season with Northern Pride at 6 the year before??

parra pete

Pete have the raiders fans felt the love of your massive support of Tim Smith yet?

I have no love for Tim Smith as a footballer. I thought you would have known that. BUT I have discussed him with prominent people involved with the (Raiders) Club in general conversation. Don't know about the fans, but other people involved down there are aware of MY opinion of him, AS A PLAYER..
When you talk football, you talk football and of course opinions come up in discussions. Can't say that I know many Raiders fans, apart from the mates I have played footy with who now live in the ACT or thereabouts, but I do know a lot of the people involved with the running of the Club.
I would say that I have more friends interested in Parramatta than the Raiders...but what has that got to do with anything..To each his own.
It's like when the passion goes out of a marriage, no good hanging on for the sake of the kids if everyone is going to be unhappy. Make arrangements so everyone can be HAPPY.
Parramatta was once the occupier of all my football affection. Now it is well behind my local Club involvement. Once I was shattered if the Eels lost a game, now I couldn't give a flying xxxx. I enjoy following the Hay Magpies..and being involved with it.
Being involved in organising the Pie in the Sky is one of my biggest thrills.
The Parramatta flame has been diminished. But that doesn't stop my enjoyment of talking football, whether it be Eels, Hay, Raiders or whatever..and if it does upset people, just hit the ignore button.

AND I don't mind being the object of ridicule. The only person I have to satisfy is myself..

parra pete

And of course, you'd never try to provoke anyone would you Pete ;-)

It'd be a boring old place if we were all the same, dressed the same, had the same views on everything.
Sure, I don't mind lobbing a hand grenade into a discussion. Maybe to get the blood flowing and to put a bit of interest into things. Wouldn't it be boring if no-one had a difference of opinion????:?