Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pearce

greena

They will take the soft option

Look at what happened with SKD. When he was ok'd to return for the finals there was hardly a mention of the domestic violence issue, instead he was portrayed as having recovered from psychological problems. What a sham

Don't compare this to SKD who pleaded not guilty. Besides, he doesn't have form like Pearce.

I say sack the merkin. He embarrassed the club and the game. At the very least, do a Jake Friend on him but I won't miss him if he's gone for good.

foreverinourshadow

2Q==

RoosTah

Don't compare this to SKD who pleaded not guilty. Besides, he doesn't have form like Pearce.

I say sack the merkin. He embarrassed the club and the game. At the very least, do a Jake Friend on him but I won't miss him if he's gone for good.

Yeah, the SKD thing was totally different - Pearce was more in your Russell Crowe category of Drunken buffoonery.

I'd sack Pearce too.... make a mistake fine but how many chances do you get? I know for a fact if I did anything remotely what Pearce did at my work i'd be sacked... And I make a average wage

Honestly I thought it was nothing, he did the dog hump to get a rise out of the girl "Cynthia", you'd see worse every night after 10pm walking along George Street. Yes he was off his chops but he never broke any laws and none of this would've gotten out except for this Jack Warwick wanker who filmed and sold the footage.
Yes he is a repeat offender so fine him and strip him of the captaincy anything more is just all PR work to keep the media quiet.

natheel

as an outsider and a fan of league in general for the game i think a year on the sidelines would suffice. Get a job in a country town like Carney did and see how good he actually has it. get counselling and come back hopefully better for it. i think Pearce will come back and not stuff up again he hasn't got the rap sheet like Carney did before his year out so i think his problem is more new to him.

Hope he gets the help he needs as much as i've bagged him in the past.

Exsilium

Honestly I thought it was nothing, he did the dog hump to get a rise out of the girl "Cynthia", you'd see worse every night after 10pm walking along George Street. Yes he was off his chops but he never broke any laws and none of this would've gotten out except for this Jack Warwick wanker who filmed and sold the footage.
Yes he is a repeat offender so fine him and strip him of the captaincy anything more is just all PR work to keep the media quiet.

I am surprised anyone could get a rise from a girl named Cynthia

Pommy

If you guys sack him your just gifting another team a good player on the cheap. I know he has had previous but I'm pretty sure he will be on the straight and narrow now. Yes he has embarrassed himself, the club and the game but the NRL isn't short of merkins who like making a show of themselves and once another does people will loose interest in this.
For what its worth Ive seen SL fans on mY FB from just about every team praying you dump him so they can snap him up. Most are pretty much of the opinion this has been blown well out of proportion.

Itsmeagain

I'd sack Pearce too.... make a mistake fine but how many chances do you get? I know for a fact if I did anything remotely what Pearce did at my work i'd be sacked... And I make a average wage
Ease up..
He wasn't at work when he did it.
I highly doubt if you went out drinking on a public holiday and made an ass of yourself at a private party, you'd be sacked from your average wage job.

gUt

It's easy to see his career started going downhill when he did that Kia ad with Pierce Brosnan. Mixing with Hollywood types is never a good idea.

2010Dragons

What heck is going on at this club?
Nat miles incidents
Kennedy issue
Pearce issue
SKD issue
The list goes on and on.
Have I missed any other issue ?
No discipline on the field and no discipline off the field
Who is running this asylum?

saint.nick

For all the talk about Pearce's 'past indiscretions', what has he actually done apart from that Kings X incident in 2009?

What heck is going on at this club?
Nat miles incidents
Kennedy issue
Pearce issue
SKD issue
The list goes on and on.
Have I missed any other issue ?
No discipline on the field and no discipline off the field
Who is running this asylum?

drago brelli

If Pearce is given the year off Easts should get in contact with Chad Townsend's manager and tell him he has a spot here. That then would allow Maloney to play 7 and Bird 6 at Cronulla-Sutherland.

RoosTah

It's a little moot trying to score points by saying this is a roosters thing or Roosters fans highlighting other clubs player problems (or manager/owner problems), as this stuff is frankly rife across all footy codes, and in terms of controversies is little more than a blip in reality.

I follow Union a fair bit too, and I can tell you know that on the "controavassy" scale, this is a 4 out of 10 at worst - with a 10 being the AFL and Essendon f**king everything up so badly with the anti-doping work that an entire team will be banned for a year. Another honourable mention that would be close to a 10 was the "Di Patson-Ewen McKenzie Saga" - which was in effect the ARU's version of the Peta Credlin-Tony Abbott relationship and saw and entire coaching staff dumped and ended the career effectively of Ewen McKenzie in coaching.

Then of course from a player behaviour standpoint there's Greg Bird - bashed his GF and then told the cops it was his mate, before texting his mate to let him know he was gonna take the fall. There's Todd Carney who ... actually f**k it, if I'm gonna go down the player indiscretion path I'll be here all night. There's a tonne of them is my point :p.