Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Peter V'landys vows to bring back all three grades on footy game day.

franklin2323

? He’s signed a 5 year extension with fox.

Which wasn't a discount. FTA is the one keeps the $50m a year valued SOO on the table. Also allows the new Bris side on the table. That is the one which is hardest hit by Covid and lack of advertising

siv

Sure, but it's a massive waste of money to fund travel for two teams worth of people when there's no hope of monetising them.

It's just pissing money down the drain on an expensive luxury that isn't going to have any real benefits for the clubs or sport as whole, and in fact is going to do untold amounts of damage to the sport in regional areas.

That's why the Raiders are only doing it because the NRL is paying them to do it, and it's why the other clubs that are smart will demand extra grants for it as well.

Happy to support a travel grant for remote clubs.

Though Canberra wouldn't qualify as a remote club since they are less than 5h from M4/M7 intersection. And have same travel requirements as the other 11 NSW clubs

The Great Dane

Happy to support a travel grant for remote clubs.

Though Canberra wouldn't qualify as a remote club since they are less than 5h from M4/M7 intersection. And have same travel requirements as the other 11 NSW clubs
So you're happy to piss even more money down the drain propping up unsustainable teams at the expense of the grassroots... Because you have to know that's where the money for those grants would come from, it's always where the money for these things is taken from.

BTW, Canberra is already getting a grant from the NRL to help fund the NSW cup team, so whether you think they'd qualify or not doesn't mean dick because they're effectively already getting it.
Also it's a f**king joke to even suggest that the Raiders', or Newcastle's, travel requirements are the same as the Sydney clubs.

franklin2323

So you're happy to piss even more money down the drain propping up unsustainable teams at the expense of the grassroots... Because you have to know that's where the money for those grants would come from, it's always where the money for these things is taken from.

BTW, Canberra is already getting a grant from the NRL to help fund the NSW cup team, so whether you think they'd qualify or not doesn't mean dick because they're effectively already getting it.
Also it's a f**king joke to even suggest that the Raiders', or Newcastle's, travel requirements are the same as the Sydney clubs.

How much extra do you think a NSW Cup would cost? If done right you could streamline the whole thing. You risk having holes in development otherwise

I see the lack of NYC as why the QLD teams struggled last year. Infact the whole standard dropped across the board

So no issue having some games as curtain raisers.

The Great Dane

How much extra do you think a NSW Cup would cost? If done right you could streamline the whole thing. You risk having holes in development otherwise

I see the lack of NYC as why the QLD teams struggled last year. Infact the whole standard dropped across the board

So no issue having some games as curtain raisers.
Almost all the grand finalists of the last decade were affiliated with lower tier clubs instead of running their own reserves at the time they made the grand final. So so much for risking a hole in development lol.

Also in most other major competitions around the world the players that don't make the first grade team play for another club, and nobody would claim that any of those sports struggle with development, in fact most would say that their development is better than ours.

So in other words the whole 'we need it for development' is a nice bit of propaganda, but that's all that it is.

As to how much it'd cost, well that depends on a lot of things that we don't really know because V'landys and the NRL haven't been clear on what they are actually planning. But however much it costs it's still be a hell of a lot more expensive than splitting those costs with an affiliate club, and it's worse for the game because it further reduces opportunity and restricts growth outside of NRL.

If you want to get a good idea of what the lower tiers could and should be, then look up The Battered Bastards of Baseball and Sunderland 'Til I Die. They're both great documentaries on Netflix that are well worth a watch, and will give you a good idea of some of what can be achieved with lower tier competitions if you put the effort in.

siv

This will cost QLD Cup teams valuable game day revenue. There's nothing better than watching Wynnum Manly play at Kougari Oval on a Sunday arvo in front of a big crowd.

Why

Its about a return RG for the Broncos

At worst you will not have 3 NRL contracted players playing. Same occurs many times during a normal NRL season

siv

Almost all the grand finalists of the last decade were affiliated with lower tier clubs instead of running their own reserves at the time they made the grand final. So so much for risking a hole in development lol.

Also in most other major competitions around the world the players that don't make the first grade team play for another club, and nobody would claim that any of those sports struggle with development, in fact most would say that their development is better than ours.

So in other words the whole 'we need it for development' is a nice bit of propaganda, but that's all that it is.

As to how much it'd cost, well that depends on a lot of things that we don't really know because V'landys and the NRL haven't been clear on what they are actually planning. But however much it costs it's still be a hell of a lot more expensive than splitting those costs with an affiliate club, and it's worse for the game because it further reduces opportunity and restricts growth outside of NRL.

If you want to get a good idea of what the lower tiers could and should be, then look up The Battered Bastards of Baseball and Sunderland 'Til I Die. They're both great documentaries on Netflix that are well worth a watch, and will give you a good idea of some of what can be achieved with lower tier competitions if you put the effort in.

Sounds like you havent looked at a NSW Cup team annual report

I can hear a cement truck heading down the Hume

“anyone that gets in the way will get run over.”

franklin2323

Those different codes but it works.

If we had the College System that the US sports do for example it would be different. You want and need NRL clubs developing talent, You need them having a say in what position x player will be in. Tactics etc

The Great Dane

Those different codes but it works.

If we had the College System that the US sports do for example it would be different. You want and need NRL clubs developing talent, You need them having a say in what position x player will be in. Tactics etc
Oh piss off with this different codes bull shit.

They're in the same business that we are, they do it better than we do, and unless we can come up with a better system, which so far we've failed to do, we'd be absolutely mad not to follow their lead.

The college system has no impact on what happens after the players leave college, and there's no reason why you couldn't build a juniors system in Australia that feeds into a pro and minor league system like overseas, in fact that is basically what the Qld cup and what multiple clubs in NSW have done anyway.

franklin2323

They're in the same business that we are, they do it better than we do, and unless we can come up with a better system, which so far we've failed to do, we'd be absolutely mad not to follow their lead.

The college system has no impact on what happens after the players leave college, and there's no reason why you couldn't build a juniors system in Australia that feeds into a pro and minor league system like overseas, in fact that is basically what the Qld cup and what multiple clubs in NSW have done anyway.

Who says they do it better? RL is always producing talent. Why change something that isn't broken?

So the College system has zero to do with a players development?

How would it work here. What incentive does say Redcliffe or Newtown have to develop players? They will go on elsewhere ASAP.

siv

We already have the college system in RL

Its the Schoolsboys Cup that gets played in the second half of the year

King Cliffy

Hopefully if we get 3 grades to watch,their is no 45 minute breaks between games.Go back to a 10 minute break.Bring back the Big League so we know who these lower grade players are.If Souths are playing at Homebush hopefully they would wear white numbers so the fans can tell who they are.

seanoff

The direct competition the AFL have changed tack, and have been for a few years. there are all but 4 teams that have direct reserves teams and those that dont are only not direct reserve teams by name only. They are pretty much controlled by the AFL club.

The Adelaide and Perth clubs play in their own state level comps. From this year the 2 Sydney and 2 Brisbane teams will play in the VFL reserves competition. That comp includes some standalone clubs from Vic and 2 from QLD. (Southport sharks are one of the teams and they are very wealthy).

The NRL should be able to afford to bankroll a comp. Its really only Melb, Cows and NZ that are remote. Melb need to play in the NSWRL or QLD cup and same with the Warriors.

The structure is the thing. So the NRL clubs have standalone reserves that play in those comps or do they have really close ties (ie the NRL club in all but name) in the state league comps?

Getting 60 players + staff around the country weekly is too big a hit for the clubs to absorb really and would really disadvantage the Cows and Warriors but would also be a huge impost on Melb, Broncs, Titans and to a lesser extent Newcastle and Canberra.

But still stadiums QLD and Parra, ANZ, and SCG trust, AAMI etc aren’tgoing to allow 3 games on one day on their precious surfaces.

what sort of crowd numbers do they get?
For a Wynnum vs Easts or Redcliffe game on a Sunday arvo, the Chook Pen is full, the Arthur Lovell Stand has plenty of home and away fans, the licenced areas near the Leagues Clubs are full and there are people behind the posts near the carpark. Ipswich bring a fair few supporters, who can be seen smoking between the car park and Arthur Lovell Stand during half time. Crowds drop off a bit for night games and when the country teams play us. It shows just how important tribalism is and why it's an asset to the game. When I was in the football department to collect my membership package I saw a list of over 100 people had signed up.

I find my experience at Kougari Oval on a Sunday arvo to be light years ahead of the drudgery at Lang Park on a Friday night. I only go to Lang Park when the Cowboys play and am nervous until the end as there's nothing worse than being around Broncos fans when they win. Listening to them whinge on the way home after the Cowboys beat them is worth the price of admission, but for general fun without the pressure there's no better place than Kougari.

Souths Magpies don't have much of a following and their facilities are awful.

siv

For a Wynnum vs Easts or Redcliffe game on a Sunday arvo, the Chook Pen is full, the Arthur Lovell Stand has plenty of home and away fans, the licenced areas near the Leagues Clubs are full and there are people behind the posts near the carpark. Ipswich bring a fair few supporters, who can be seen smoking between the car park and Arthur Lovell Stand during half time. Crowds drop off a bit for night games and when the country teams play us. It shows just how important tribalism is and why it's an asset to the game. When I was in the football department to collect my membership package I saw a list of over 100 people had signed up.

I find my experience at Kougari Oval on a Sunday arvo to be light years ahead of the drudgery at Lang Park on a Friday night. I only go to Lang Park when the Cowboys play and am nervous until the end as there's nothing worse than being around Broncos fans when they win. Listening to them whinge on the way home after the Cowboys beat them is worth the price of admission, but for general fun without the pressure there's no better place than Kougari.

Souths Magpies don't have much of a following and their facilities are awful.

Now if the 3 or 4 NRL fringe players did not play in those Qld Cup games

Would it change your experiance or desire to go to a Qld Cup game

Now if the 3 or 4 NRL fringe players did not play in those Qld Cup games

Would it change your experiance or desire to go to a Qld Cup game
When the Broncos entered the NSWRL in 1988 around 60-80 players were lost from the BRL. The best players didn't just sign with the Broncos 1st Grade, Reserve and Colts teams, they also went to the Sydney clubs. If we bring back reserve grade and colts then more players will be lost from the Queensland Cup and replaced with amateurs, lowering the quality of the competition.

siv

When the Broncos entered the NSWRL in 1988 around 60-80 players were lost from the BRL. The best players didn't just sign with the Broncos 1st Grade, Reserve and Colts teams, they also went to the Sydney clubs. If we bring back reserve grade and colts then more players will be lost from the Queensland Cup and replaced with amateurs, lowering the quality of the competition.

That was 1988 and teams were added in Cowboys and Gold Coast. Snce 2007 things have settled

Every year sees those same clubs bring up 3 to 4 players to fill SOO and injury commitments

So my question remains does you desire to go and watch Qld Cup games change during rep period

That was 1988 and teams were added in Cowboys and Gold Coast. Snce 2007 things have settled

Every year sees those same clubs bring up 3 to 4 players to fill SOO and injury commitments

So my question remains does you desire to go and watch Qld Cup games change during rep period
I don't want to see the Queensland Cup become a fourth tier competition..