Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

player sightings / experiences

Bazzi

Met Joey Johns last year in Darling Harbour the day of the Grand Final Footy Show, biggest wanker/knob/dickhead. He was with his son too, who had a Warriors jersey on.

well you were taking his picture while he was standing in front of a big ruler!!!!:p:p

Nah mate we were called to a Unit & he wasn't happy we were there.

He was full of voice from the Balcony, but quietened down when we were there but had a absolute shyte attitude. He did have a few on board though.

When I worked in Townsville from 2003-2007 I got to know John Buttigieg very well. Absolute champion, loved a drink and would give you the shirt off his back. We were out one night having a few quiet ones and he had people coming up all night asking him for a pic, buying us a drink & just generally putting up with smart ass comments between the decent people. it honestly happened every 10 minutes, mind you we were on the sauce from 3pm - about 3am. he took it ll in is stride and happy to have a chat to complete strangers. I hope he doesnt mind me telling this story. I remember the first time i worked with him, we were having a walk through the CBD/Mall in Townsville. & we were talking about names. He mentioned a females name and I replied "I don't know what it is but i always imagine that women with that name are goers" he then replied "Yeah that's my daughters name" Just waned to disappear, but all he did was put his arm around me and laugh hysterically for about 15 minutes, & yes it was his daughters name. You honestly couldn't meet a nicer bloke.

Also while in Townsville I organised a function, where I got boots /balls etc signed. We then auctioned it off and gave all the $$$ to the Townsville Children's Ward. The players who were brilliant & more than happy to help.
Willie Mason, Brad Clyde, Laurie Daley, Joey Johns, Dany Buderus. But the best was Hindmarsh, oranised to get something signed, he got injured the week before & didn't come up. 2 weeks later a package came with a worn pair of boots signed, with a letter. Champion bloke.

Dissapointments - Hazam El masri (actually said No mate, don't want it to end up on EBay), & unbelievably the Cowboys did SFA after phone calls, & even a meeting with a club employee who looked after signings etc. I was amazed.

DubaiSaint

Was having lunch at Bill & Tony's Coffee Shop in the city (off William St, before it heads up to the Cross) and the only table for us was next to Russell Crowe and Les Davidson. This was around 2004.

It was a bit cramped and Russell invited us to join tables and we had a chat about the football. Am a Saints fan and care little for Souffs but he was a genuine guy and really friendly - especially since he invited us to join tables.

Les was really quiet and a massive unit, but we talked alot. One of my mates was a Kiwi who follows rugby more than league and it got down to a discussion over whether the All Blacks could beat the Kangaroos.

When we left, I slapped myself to not ask him about the movie business.

Mr. Snrub

Living in Canberra I've seen quite a few player. Saw Billy Slater, Ryan Hoffman, Cameron Smith etc at the casino in Canberra. Saw Billy put $20 down on blackjack. Thought it was a bit cheap. All the storm players looked incredibly bored.

I was sitting outside a club in Canberra smoking a cigarette and hear this deep voice ask me for 2 cigarettes. I look up and it's Dane Tilse. I asked him why he was smoking and he's like, "I only smoke when I go out".

Standing outside the same club, Blake Ferguson came past with some of his friends and started picking a fight with one of my friends for no reason. He thinks he's really tough, but really he's just another douche bag living in Canberra.

Was having lunch at Bill & Tony's Coffee Shop in the city (off William St, before it heads up to the Cross) and the only table for us was next to Russell Crowe and Les Davidson. This was around 2004.

It was a bit cramped and Russell invited us to join tables and we had a chat about the football. Am a Saints fan and care little for Souffs but he was a genuine guy and really friendly - especially since he invited us to join tables.

Les was really quiet and a massive unit, but we talked alot. One of my mates was a Kiwi who follows rugby more than league and it got down to a discussion over whether the All Blacks could beat the Kangaroos.

LOL the love of league took over. League > Movies.

I've seen Jermaine Clement from Flight of the Conchords like 5 times during my lunch hour in Wellington. Last time I saw him he looked like an absolute bum, riding a shit bicycle. I saw the other Conchords members Bret McKenzie once as well.

A couple of other sighting I have remembered:

Saw Clinton Toopi and Logan Swann at a club in Auckland in 2001. Toopi had that real douche bag aura about him. Swann semmed pretty cool.

I also saw Henry Fa'afili and Sione Faumuina at bar in 2003. Henry was all smiles and really cool, acknowledging all the fans. Faumuina had the douche aura too.

Saw former Kiwi "Cowboy" Dean Lonergan (the man who knocked himself out on Blocker's shoulder back in 91 and then had what seemed to be a fit on the ground, which was later turned into a dance) outside Ericsson stadium after the semi in 2002. I shouted "hey cowboy" and he yelled back "hey chief!". We also saw John Carlaw coming out of the stadium that day and my mate said "good game Carlaw!" to him....and he replied "yip" like he was answering a question. We saw Monty Betham before that particular game who was out injured but came out to sign some autographs.

I met pretty much the whole Manly 91 side when they came to town. I still have a piece of paper somewhere with most of their autographs. I think I even got that dickhead Bella's autograph. Ian Roberts cut an imposing figure. I was 10 years old, and he was the biggest human i'd seen in my life at that point.

Fire

Awesome story.

What's Rusty's opinion of the Dragons please mate?

Nerd

Sat beside Willie Tonga at an Origin function and he came across as very quiet and polite.

Used to see Trevor Gillmeister and Gavin Allen at Stafford City shops every now and then.

Aragorn

A couple of other sighting I have remembered:

Saw Clinton Toopi and Logan Swann at a club in Auckland in 2001. Toopi had that real douche bag aura about him. Swann semmed pretty cool.

Logan Swann is a good bloke. Saw him in Glenn Innes a few times buying lotto tickets!

drake

I used to see Matty Cooper, Bull Bailey and Trent Barrett a lot in Shellharbour, just being ordinary people. All are nice blokes, used to chat to Coops in the supermarket.

Was body surfing at blacks beach once and slammed into what felt like a brick wall. I get up, dazed and hear "hey buddy, you ok?" it's Luke Bailey, still recovering from a torn pec.
"oh shit, I didn't f**k your pec up did I?"
He just grinned and said he was sweet. Wish my bloody head was.

Working in Olympic Park I see a lot of players and ex players. I leave them alone. Jason Cayless works in my building... He's a big man. Nice enough bloke.

Best was Todd Carney eating at Ribs n Rumps in early 2011. I'm wearing my Dragons grand final winners tshirt and he says me. Gives me the stink eye and I grin. He flips the bird and grins.
He's eating at ribs n rumps and I'm going for a kebab before heading back to work. Guess he won that round.

Alpha

I got in a punch on with a current storm player maybe 2 years ago outside Fridays at Brisbane.

Bazzi

Met Darren Lockyer the week after his retirement, really nice and down to Earth bloke. I congratulated him on his career and he said something along the lines of "It would be nothing without the fans". Then was happy to take a photo. All class.

Ran in to Chase Stanley and his family at shopping centre food court, he was in line at Subway and was happy to chat about footy for a couple of minutes. Then he said it's always nice to meet fans, and took off.

Also met Freddy once before an episode of the Footy Show, was really easy going and happy to chat for a little while. Then had him take a photo of me with Fatty and Darryl, and Darryl had a snipe at him saying "You're getting Freddy to take the photo! Haven't you seen his segment on the show? He's terrible with cameras!"

Saw a group of ex-players at a club a bit over a year ago. Jason Cayless, Carl Webb and Nigel Vagana were there. Cayless is very big, Webb is short and stocky and Vagana was fairly big as well, which was surprising. While we were on the dance floor Cayless tried to get past us and my mate bumped into him by accident. Cayless gave him a hi 5 and a hug, then tried to help Charlie pick up (which didn't appear to be very successful) which was good to watch.

Packy

Not my story but in '10 the cows played in Brisbane and lost. Mates of mine saw Carl Webb at a strip club and he was pretty much a merkin even though my mates were wearing Cows shirts and offered to buy him a beer. IIRC they said he looked absolutely maggot too.

simmo1

Played cricket against Liam Fulton. Funny bloke (can sledge), but not much of a cricketer.

Not my story but in '10 the cows played in Brisbane and lost. Mates of mine saw Carl Webb at a strip club and he was pretty much a merkin even though my mates were wearing Cows shirts and offered to buy him a beer. IIRC they said he looked absolutely maggot too.

When I was in Townsville Webb was at the Riverside tavern for the sunday session (summer). he was pissed and grabbed a womans ass, her boyfriend/husband objected & told him to keep his ****ing hands off her. Mind you this bloke was about 3-4 inches shorter than webb and about 30kg lighter. So brain surgeon webb tells him to **** off & grabbed her again. About 10 seconds later webb was sprawled out on the floor & left with his tails firmly planted between his legs. Extremelly embarrassing indeed, leaving while being laughed at by several people.

Tough man indeed :lol::lol:

mozza91

Met most of the Knights players Mullen, Vuna, Kyle O'Donnell and Tahu were the most friendly. Mullen in particular seemed like a great bloke.

Other footballers that I've met that standout was Steve Mortimer(talked to every fan there for ages and Steve Price(signed so many autographs and chatted to everyone).

I've seen a lot of Raiders players out, former and present (Vidot, Waddell, Dugan, Thompson, Costigan, Goodwin, T.Carney, Learoyd-Lahrs) to name a few.

Carney was piss drunk when I saw him and in general was acting like a f**king mong. Learoyd-Lahrs is a legend, saw him at a club in Manuka 4-5 years and had decent chat to him.

Best of all was Alan Tongue, saw him at All Bar Nun a few years ago when I was with a few friends, what a f**king champion. Saw that we were Raiders fans so he came over, bought us drinks etc most humble guy ever.