Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

player sightings / experiences

DeeJ

I saw Mal Meninga at Max Brennar. I heard a man whinging behind me about some guys ahead taking too long too order and when I looked it was Mal. He has the body of a fridge.

Some over excited waitress got her photo with him and he had a laugh about it.

MuTT

I saw Mal Meninga at Max Brennar. I heard a man whinging behind me about some guys ahead taking too long too order and when I looked it was Mal. He has the body of a fridge.

Some over excited waitress got her photo with him and he had a laugh about it.

Mal Whinging ? surely not...

clutch

Sam Thaiday at a servo in Rockhampton in Dec '06 wearing a wife beater singlet, broncos shorts, and thongs. I said: "you're Sam Thaiday', he said: 'i know, who are you?'

Thaiday 1, Common pleb 0.

Hutty1986

Sam Thaiday at a servo in Rockhampton in Dec '06 wearing a wife beater singlet, broncos shorts, and thongs. I said: "you're Sam Thaiday', he said: 'i know, who are you?'

Thaiday 1, Common pleb 0.

This is the first time I've heard of Sammy having any one-on-one interaction with anyone

tangalife

My workmates brother in law was in Sydney for the GF and he ran into a pissed Todd Carney. He asked this guy if he could "take a photo of me and Todd carney", he didn't find out tell later it was Mitchell Pearce lol

newman

Ive had heaps of nights on on the pizz with varying Sharks players. I'm not gonna say too much about any of them but Bird was one wild man.

One great night out with Sticky when he first started with the Sharks. Loved his bourbon. Brushed all the other sharks players "I talk to em all day long" to chill in the corner. Hes no different in real life than he is on camera other than being slightly more friendly. Intense bloke.

Kyle Stanley comes and watches my oztag games sometimes (he's mates with one of the other players). Very quiet bloke. Cant convince him to have a run with us. Bludger.

I always see Ben Pomeroy and Ben Ross in Cronulla mall. Lovely blokes, always keen for a chat, Pom in particular.

I dropped in on Gaz in the surf at Coalcliff. He surfs pretty well.

I sat next to Gal on a plane once. Im a big guy. Hes not tall but is as wide as a fridge. Economy. Not a lot of shoulder room. Andrew Johns was sitting on the other side to Gal and snored loudly the whole trip.

I saw Jamie Soward shopping with his Mum at Miranda Westfield. Blokes as ugly and stupid in real life as he is on t.v....

Most NRL players are genuine blokes who are not that well educated. The vast majority of them would have went to school at sports high schools and were shunted into sporting programs at the expense of schooling. The younger they are, the more uncomfortable they are with dealing with the public. But in saying that, say G'day to em, be polite and friendly and you will generally get a good response. There is no call to abuse or lampoon a football player in public, regardless of who they are or how you feel about them. They have a right to enjoy a peaceful existence when not on club duty. Ive seen some shocking things. Jarrad Anderson was bashed in the toilet by some "sharks fans" at Northies during the dark days at the Sharks. Ive been talking to Pomeroy while he is with his baby daughter and some clowns yelled out "Youre hopeless" and shit like that. Its not on.

At the ground however is a different story......

LESStar58

Troy Thompson at the Storm Trophy tour at the casino the other night. Shook hands and chatted with everyone who was waiting for a photo with the trophy and even took photos for people. Doing coaching with the 20s and ambassador for the club with Kearnsey.

Lovely, lovely bloke although I am not surprised; I was talking to a Raiders fan at the AAMI Park game and it turned out he went to school with him or knew him in some way shape or form and he had nothing but nice thngs to say about Thommo.

Troy Thompson at the Storm Trophy tour at the casino the other night. Shook hands and chatted with everyone who was waiting for a photo with the trophy and even took photos for people. Doing coaching with the 20s and ambassador for the club with Kearnsey.

Lovely, lovely bloke although I am not surprised; I was talking to a Raiders fan at the AAMI Park game and it turned out he went to school with him or knew him in some way shape or form and he had nothing but nice thngs to say about Thommo.

Thomo is not only one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet but he's also piss funny and have all the time in the world for fans. Absolute legend, was very hard to see him leave the raiders, many fans are still dirty over it

Armageddon.

Saw Chris Lawrence shopping with his girlfriend last week.
Looked bored out of his brain.

This week Chris Heighington came into where I work, walked in and walked out about 10 seconds later.

I nearly ran over Tongan Sam the other day outside Ibrahims mommys place
Spotted Nigel Plum at DFO last week minding a ruggie in a pram
Hard to tell who looked meaner

Fire

1.) I've ate a few times at Lance Thompson's new restaurant "Thommo's Bar and Grill", and he's been on, serving the meals, etc.

Great food.

He's been OK when he's on, I guess.

2.) Visited a mate at Randwick recently. Saw Greg Inglis shopping at Coles there. A few kids came up and asked for his autograph, as well as one old timer. He seemed annoyed, almost like it was a chore.

Moffo

Saw Matt Adamson on the piss in paddington today watching the Caulfield Cup. Loose operation!

Huegill was out as well canning it up

webbland

in my career, these players have had the nice treat of meeting me
1.playing primary school knockout at back of cumberland oval, and a certain commentator of fame was blind drunk at 11 in the morn. in hindsight because i am alot older -not a bad idea
2.ian schuberts sister taught me at school
3.once nearly had the pleasure of being beaten to a pulp by the legendary paul mares at the general burke at parra- how was i to know that it was his bird?luckily for me, he had just had his knee operation which was unfortunately a career ending one for him. vg player cut short by injuries imo
4.ben hornsby threw a frozen chook at a group i was in at rosehill races
5.just seen dylan farrell ordering food to go at a eatery in culburra(his home town) he is on crutches at the moment
6.regulary see jack de belin in culburra, as he is mates with jack buchanan (u20's) who also grew up here, as does adam quinlan (u20's)
7.last new year saw all the mortimer clan down here.daniel dressed up in drag looking the part.he was happy to talk and joke with.peter was very happy to talk as we got the courtesy bus home from the club.they wern NOT pissed, but i was, so i know it was a joy to talk to me.
8. jack jefferies lives down here as well,great guy but dosen't talk about footy much. on an occasion he has, he told me the hardest tackler he encountered was the great TERRY RANDALL said he almost cut him in half
have talked to few more over the years but alcahol has caught up with me and i can't remember

Aaaahahaha old Jack Jeffries eh???

He drew the shortest of short straws.....got paired up with Tommy in Roys pre match face slapping hype up LOL....Lookin at him Youd swear hes somehow related to Ivan Milat

images

1.) I've ate a few times at Lance Thompson's new restaurant "Thommo's Bar and Grill", and he's been on, serving the meals, etc.

Great food.

He's been OK when he's on, I guess.

2.) Visited a mate at Randwick recently. Saw Greg Inglis shopping at Coles there. A few kids came up and asked for his autograph, as well as one old timer. He seemed annoyed, almost like it was a chore.

You would as well if you could not spell Inglis...Greg struggles with this.

Chatted to Sisa Waqa at a Stomr function as few weeks ago... good bloke.

Ryan Hinchcliffe is a top bloke as well..always really friendly as good with the kids as is Jason Ryles.

The Director

You would as well if you could not spell Inglis...Greg struggles with this.

Chatted to Sisa Waqa at a Stomr function as few weeks ago... good bloke.

Ryan Hinchcliffe is a top bloke as well..always really friendly as good with the kids as is Jason Ryles.

You rag on Inglis for his spelling, then spell your own team's name wrong?

Oh the eyeroney.