Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PNG's back.

Iamback

im not behind it !

I reckon it will be trouble …

But I also don’t like some of the negative takes about it…especially the ones arguing from an “ethical” position …

I have to see long term how it will stand on its own should the govt pull the pin

BuffaloRules

Well you've said it multiple times now, including this one where you say how they want to utilise the money we give them has no impact on us, so yes I do think it is reasonable to interpret your post as "if they ask for it, we should just give it to them"

So again, if they ask for money for drugs and hookers, and in return say that they will reject China, should we give it to them?

Im sure the Aust Govt will begin negotiations in the future if that’s the price for them to start taking our boat people again

Wb1234

im not behind it !

I reckon it will be trouble …

But I also don’t like some of the negative takes about it…especially the ones arguing from an “ethical” position …
The people you are arguing against won’t change their minds

they were against the bid when it was 200 million
Then 250 million
Then 600 million

they aren’t rugby league fans. No rugby league fan would say no to that money

they are cowboys fans who are afraid of the competition or Perth fans ticked off the govt won’t support them this way

Perth only became favourites bc their govt was going to spend more money than nz could

now someone else has beat them they can’t accept it

BuffaloRules

The people you are arguing against won’t change their minds

they were against the bid when it was 200 million
Then 250 million
Then 600 million

they aren’t rugby league fans. No rugby league fan would say no to that money

they are cowboys fans who are afraid of the competition or Perth fans ticked off the govt won’t support them this way

Perth only became favourites bc their govt was going to spend more money than nz could

now someone else has beat them they can’t accept it

As Paul Keating used to say…”always back the horse called self interest”

Canard

The juniors won't be based in Cairns you gimp

They came to tour Penrith's setup.

We have Dubbo, Bathurst, Forbes run out of a school.

Bring that same setup to PNG, You get a new building or 2 in the school.

Sydney clubs house interstate players, something similar applies here

They also get Upwards of $10k Australian, That exceeds what they get from leaving school early.

That then flows in more kids being educated, More at Uni means more business for cafes and restuarants.

As does hosting 6 games then they normally would, As a result employs more locals.

So why you won't fix the country as whole you can lift some standards and hopefully down the track you have 40% graduating year 10 instead of 20% and so
What the f**k has juniors in Cairns got to do with anything? You still didn't answer the question as to how it was benefiting the Australian public.

Cafes in PNG, Hahaha f**k me! You think that's a reason for an NRL team in PNG to generate trade for PNG Coffee Starbucks???

What are you smoking?

I'd suggest that the reason kids aren't going to school is because of extreme poverty, the need to work or look after family members etc etc.

A footy team isn't solving that issue.

BuffaloRules

So you envisage no problems with setting up a team in one of the poorest countries in the world, and those expressing concern are just "self interested"?

I envisage nothing but problems… as I have said here several times already including today at least once…

again, I’m sure that neither the NRL or Aust Govt really want this to happen

Come on but Rugby League will save the world. The Chinese government won’t know what to do against Rugby League
Imagine if the Chinese just decided to move onto the next broke arse pacific island instead to tempt. Geez we'd be having to put NRL clubs on every Island china could build a base on lol

Not that PNG seem to care about exclusivity of realtionship! It feels like PNG is playing a blinder here getting both countries to sink loads of money into them whilst skimming off the top to make a few very wealthy.

Richard Maru, PNG’s trade minister, was startlingly direct at the Australia–Papua New Guinea Business Forum and Trade Expo held in Port Moresby last month. “Enough is enough,” he said, complaining that two-way trade between the countries had been heavily skewed in Australia’s favour for nearly 50 years. “Starting this year, we are moving on. We will partner with whatever country that will help us achieve that.”
China would be PNG’s focus for trade and investment opportunities, Maru went on to say, because not enough was being done to assist PNG’s agriculture exports to Australia.

“We are friends to all and enemies to none. We are not interested in geopolitics. Our main priority is securing the future of our people.”

jim_57

Oh look, the ignorant Sydney and Brisbane dickheads think they know all about North Queensland and that 4 hours drive is a big deal.

Suddenly Cairns is not part of North Queensland? f**k me, Southerners.

Ironically the same complete f**kwits have no issues with a team being based 900km away from there home ground in another country

“What would Perth Red know about Sydney from half way across the country?”

- Sydney posters on this forum.

“Cairns like isn’t even Cowboys territory it is exactly the same as Sydney to Canberra OMG LOL WTF BBQ”

- Same Sydney posters who’ve probably never been north of the Movie World.

BuffaloRules

Imagine if the Chinese just decided to move onto the next broke arse pacific island instead to tempt. Geez we'd be having to put NRL clubs on every Island china could build a base on lol

Not that PNg seem to care about exclusivity of realtionship!

Richard Maru, PNG’s trade minister, was startlingly direct at the Australia–Papua New Guinea Business Forum and Trade Expo held in Port Moresby last month. “Enough is enough,” he said, complaining that two-way trade between the countries had been heavily skewed in Australia’s favour for nearly 50 years. “Starting this year, we are moving on. We will partner with whatever country that will help us achieve that.”
China would be PNG’s focus for trade and investment opportunities, Maru went on to say, because not enough was being done to assist PNG’s agriculture exports to Australia.

“We are friends to all and enemies to none. We are not interested in geopolitics. Our main priority is securing the future of our people.”

Maybe China could offer a PNG team to play in their soccer or basketball league ?

Colk

Not that PNg seem to care about exclusivity of realtionship!

All of the Pacific Nations will inevitably bend to who can offer them the most. Like every other country. By the way, good on them as that is in their best interests - every country has to look out for themselves.

Anyway, the whole premise of entering a side who wouldn’t be able to fund their own existence based purely on a geopolitical whim is frankly terrible.

BuffaloRules

Again… has anyone got any access to the full Cowboys criticism of PNG story…. I know that some of you guys have access to the telegraph

I heard that there was a rant about how Kayo subscriptions and Channel 9 advertising revenue won’t increase …. Would like to see the full arguments …

Iamback

What the f**k has juniors in Cairns got to do with anything? You still didn't answer the question as to how it was benefiting the Australian public.

Cafes in PNG, Hahaha f**k me! You think that's a reason for an NRL team in PNG to generate trade for PNG Coffee Starbucks???

What are you smoking?

I'd suggest that the reason kids aren't going to school is because of extreme poverty, the need to work or look after family members etc etc.

A footy team isn't solving that issue.

Juniors won't be in Cairns where did you get that from?

So there are currently no cafe's in PNG right now?

You don't think 40 staff or so who aren't working now, Aren't going to put pressure on the current capacity?

Then you have opposition teams needing extra hotel rooms, All of this will require higher staffing numbers. Will be locals

Correct, you don't think say a $10k Australian annual contract ( which is what a lot get in that age group), Won't get those guys now being able to stay at school? Or atleast some?

That is the rationale behind this sort of stuff, This why country areas drop a few hundred k on hosting games.

That is the PNG govt logic

Canard

Juniors won't be in Cairns where did you get that from?

So there are currently no cafe's in PNG right now?

You don't think 40 staff or so who aren't working now, Aren't going to put pressure on the current capacity?

Then you have opposition teams needing extra hotel rooms, All of this will require higher staffing numbers. Will be locals
What the f**k is this mate? Are you serious? I've never mentioned juniors or Cairns even once, why did you??

And Cafes??? 40 staff??? WTF are you on about?