Maroubra Eel
It's just the culture of Newcastle. It's rampant.
Personally I'd rather my players smoke weed throughout the season than take alcohol, at least weed doesn't dehydrate your bones, and is less likely to hamper your performances.
When drugs are running so rampant in our society, this is really no surprise, the social stigma surrounding drugs considering the way were celebrate our drinking culture is ridiculously hypocritical.
Honestly, don't think it's all that worrying if players are taking some recreational drugs on mad Monday. As long as nobody develops an addiction it's not all that problematic.
Personally I'd rather my players smoke weed throughout the season than take alcohol, at least weed doesn't dehydrate your bones, and is less likely to hamper your performances.
When drugs are running so rampant in our society, this is really no surprise, the social stigma surrounding drugs considering the way were celebrate our drinking culture is ridiculously hypocritical.
Honestly, don't think it's all that worrying if players are taking some recreational drugs on mad Monday. As long as nobody develops an addiction it's not all that problematic.
Is this an anti Knights thread Silent Knight? Just an anti drugs in footy thread I think. Doesn't matter who the team is.
The Knights are probably similar to many other clubs, why wouldn't they be? They are just the same bunch of players as everywhere else and probably do the same things on their day off. And the biggest problem the Knights have found with drugs comes about because they try to fix the problems themselves and keep it all hush hush. They've done pretty well over the last 15 years or more on that front. Makes me wonder about the other clubs. Are they better behaved or better at hiding it? Maybe the Knights are just unlucky that they have been caught out once or twice. I'd say all clubs are lucky they haven't been caught yet or been caught more. Or had their dirty little secrets aired.
Is this an anti Knights thread Silent Knight? Just an anti drugs in footy thread I think. Doesn't matter who the team is.
The Knights are probably similar to many other clubs, why wouldn't they be? They are just the same bunch of players as everywhere else and probably do the same things on their day off. And the biggest problem the Knights have found with drugs comes about because they try to fix the problems themselves and keep it all hush hush. They've done pretty well over the last 15 years or more on that front. Makes me wonder about the other clubs. Are they better behaved or better at hiding it? Maybe the Knights are just unlucky that they have been caught out once or twice. I'd say all clubs are lucky they haven't been caught yet or been caught more. Or had their dirty little secrets aired.
Nah you're right mate. I should have realised that posters like Raiders_69, Skeepe, $tinkler, Dunniesman and Newcastlerabble don't hate the Knights. They're simply expressing their noble opinion on the evils of drugs in society.
How foolish of me. Please continue. I'm finding this intelligent and rational discussion between peers to be most entertaining.
So they're signing a contract that forces them to be considered different to the rest of society on every issue?Rubbish.
As soon as you put pen to paper youre saying Im willing to play by a different set of rules.
You honestly believe that football is the only occupation that employs 18-35s, pays them over 50k, and expects them not to take drugs? Ha.So who are their peers ?
Tell me what other members of society get the cash these guys get ? They are not regular members of society. As part of the conditions of their employment it is pretty clear that drugs won't be tolerated. That is the society they are part of not your average Joe earning 30 - 50k a year.
Help me out here - does "Mark my words" imply more or less confidence than "We got this"?Michael Maguire will win a premiership at Souths before Wayne Bennett wins one at Newcastle. Mark my words.
So they're signing a contract that forces them to be considered different to the rest of society on every issue?
Idiot.
If the Knights are fair dinkum they will get to the bottom of this and sack all players involved.
If they are not fair dinkum they will just sweep it under the carpet and continue on as if nothing happened.
Agree re alcohol but the other part in your post is farcical....if you consider for example that thc stays in your system for 6 weeks (never mind the cumulative effect) there's plenty of cause and effect happening even though its one of the lesser drugs. Know plenty of smokers (agree it is rife) & the habitual ones are f***** when it comes to work performance, application over longer periods (like all day) - they think they're alright though haha. The social, occasional smokers not so obvious.
So they're signing a contract that forces them to be considered different to the rest of society on every issue?
Idiot.
I'm pretty sure all workplace agreements would have something about making it a sackable offence if found using illegal drugs or having them in your system. Of course it's not enforceable unless they actually do drug screenings and most industries wouldn't unless required by law, but there'd be something in the contract or bargaining agreement outlawing it just to cover their own asses.