Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R23 | Knights 10-23 Storm @ Hunter | Sun 3.00pm

Round 23 result :: Knights v Storm

Silent Knight

Whenever I'm at a Knights game I try to get the crowd worked up with a rousing rendition of BOOOOOOOOOOO haw haw haw!

Works pretty well with Queenslanders. They don't like the Knights. And who can blame them haw haw haw!

Rod

Seriously I reckon the alcohol thing would definitely be a factor. Why would you bother paying $6 or $7 for mid-strength beers and attempt to get a buzz on at the game when you can wait 2 hours until after the game and you can grab a dozen (or in your guys country, a case) of full-strength for about $2 a bottle? There's too much of a discrepancy there.

Also I dislike a lot of things about the football hooliganism crowd culture but even in NZ where rugby and league own football they still manage to get loud and passionate crowds.

Bring it home Knights

Im not surprised that the jets get a better crowd atmosphere. I've been to a couple of games and the game can go fr a very very long t,e before seeng any type of action. The crowd cheers as much out of boredom then anything.

Big Tim

Seems like there are some people who pay their money to watch the football, and others who pay their money to watch the crowd, and then complain about the crowd

Seems this is true.

Seems these people dont show any passion towards what is happening on the field, and then complain when players "dont show pride in the jersey'.

Seems.

And another thing, the crusade was never drunken yobs. Maybe that was the problem, the groups that seem to thrive are indeed that.

I think you might have it.

Make a concerted effort to generate atmosphere, get shot down.

Get drunk, yell incoherently, get supported by the rest of the crowd.

I cant understand drinking to excess at an event. What is the point of paying all that cash just so you cant remember the details the next day?

RHCP

Getting so sloshed that you can't remember the action is a mighty effort at a football game.

I fall somewhere in the middle of this discussion. I think the jumping and turning your back on the game at soccer matches is f**king dumb, but at the same time I think chants, cheering and hurling some general abuse at the opposition is all part of the fun.

I'm afraid to get too into it though. As much as I'd love to yell 'Hdoges is a merkin' at every opportunity, there's probably plenty of people around who get offended by stuff like that. I'm conflicted because on one hand, maybe it's about time they harden up and just get over it, but on the other, they've paid for their ticket and should be able to enjoy it.

RABK

The crusade was very much drunken yobs in the first year, well the more vocal of us were. But we didn't give a shit what others were doing, thought about us... on the hill a lot of people enjoyed and joined in our antics, rants, chants etc. It would never have lasted in that format though because it was more about unwinding with friends on the w/end who shared their love of the Knights with you than a genuine effort to become the legit supporter group of the Knights.

However getting pissed does seem to work, Chelsea vs Thai Allstars couple of weeks ago... boring as shit 10 minutes in - could hear a mouse fart, went to the bar, came back for the 2nd half and i had a whole bay of poms heckling and chanting at Jose Maurinho with me. No doubt it's a lot funner to cheer with a drunk than to get behind a professional set up. But yeh overall i agree with fred a lot - the NRL is very much family first these days and it's a good, longterm marketing and culture strategy.

Big Tim

The crusade was very much drunken yobs in the first year, well the more vocal of us were. But we didn't give a shit what others were doing, thought about us... on the hill a lot of people enjoyed and joined in our antics, rants, chants etc. It would never have lasted in that format though because it was more about unwinding with friends on the w/end who shared their love of the Knights with you than a genuine effort to become the legit supporter group of the Knights.

However getting pissed does seem to work, Chelsea vs Thai Allstars couple of weeks ago... boring as shit 10 minutes in - could hear a mouse fart, went to the bar, came back for the 2nd half and i had a whole bay of poms heckling and chanting at Jose Maurinho with me. No doubt it's a lot funner to cheer with a drunk than to get behind a professional set up. But yeh overall i agree with fred a lot - the NRL is very much family first these days and it's a good, longterm marketing and culture strategy.

I would refute this.

At the home games, barely anyone imbibed, and certainly rarely to the extent of being at risk of being asked to leave because of drunken behaviour..... for the most part. Like all groups of people, there were a couple that liked to have a drink at the footy.

The road trips and functions after games are another matter completely - They were fall down drunk affairs, and some great times.

Knights games have for the most part been a very safe place for anyone to watch football. Never once have i felt something may get out of hand in my 22 years attending. Many away supporter groups love coming to Hunter Stadium for that reason. I have even spoken to the more boisterous fan groups ie. St George and Doggies fans and they agree it is great to go at it for 80 minutes in a secure environment at HS but then you shake hands and go home and wait for next week. I remember when they were talking about a massive police presence at a Dogs game up here a few years back and nothing went wrong. The very reason was we showed the Dogs fans what is and is not acceptable. Other clubs take the bait and it is on for young and old. I think Macavity might have even made a point of defusing a situation with Dragons fans some years back while in the Crusade? Correct me if I am wrong mate.

AceAv

I reckon this will be similar to the roosters game, we will be competitive for most of it, but the storms class will see them get a few late tries that will show a shoreline that doesn't reflect the game.

Agree here sorry Knights. Looking forward to the clash still..

Yeah, I'd agree with that too... and I think it sums up where we are at as a team at the moment. I feel that we're a pretty good 5th -> 8th team that can compete with the best on their day... but we have a few more bridges to cross before we're winning big games as a matter of habit.

We're lightyears ahead of where we were last year, and a fair way ahead of where we've been since Johns retired, too... but we're still not as close to the top as we'd like to be. More hard work to be done.

Swarzey

We're certainly getting better each year under Bennett. I still believe we're going to win it under him but while I have hope that deep down the side has it in them to create upsets despite what a lot say (That will be proven on Sunday), I'm already looking towards next year to be "that year".

Boyd is meant to be one of those star players. Gidley another. 800k->$1mill for their wages alone.

Yosh

Boyd is meant to be one of those star players. Gidley another. 800k->$1mill for their wages alone.

Yeah exactly.... Money not well spent... Hopefully we can offload them both before their contracts are up. Use that money to sign a Falou or SBW lol.

Swarzey

Boyd needs to pull his finger out of his ass and do something. Most of the time he injects himself, we end up scoring or really pressuring the opposition.

Bring it home Knights

Boyd needs to pull his finger out of his ass and do something. Most of the time he injects himself, we end up scoring or really pressuring the opposition.

Yeah good point. Bennett has said in the past that how the knights play, depends on how they get off the bus. His right hand man Boyd is the number one culprit when it comes to this point.

rnb11

there is not many fullbacks i would rather have leading into and during the semis than boyd apart from the obvious 2 or 3.

can count on him to get the job done in big games, he has been there and done it many times for aus, qld and dragons, he knows what it takes and i am confident he will go up a few gears over the next few weeks.

Noname36

I have no doubt he can do that either, but I would like to see him going up a gear earlier in the year to justify his large contract.

The way I see it Boyd should be having more touches of the ball than everyone bar Mullo. He's one of the most talented blokes in our squad and he needs to inject himself. It honestly doesn't piss me off too much when he passes the kick returns onto Aku and Jimmy because honestly they're probably going to have more impact...but in attack he needs to be up there every set, even if it's just being there incase something comes off the forwards.