Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Raiders Social Thread

Kris_man said:
Raider_69 said:
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/memberlist.php
total posts, in decending order

16 posts away from regaining my number 1 spot
WHOO
69, i'd say you need to get out more, but you obviously have been already, judging by your pics :lol: btw, good work with that blue-top chick mate ;-)

yea its a common mis perception that i dont get out much because of my post count but the reason i have so many is when im at home, im in my room and id prefer to be here talkin footy then watching some 2nd rate tv show... i get out enough to satasfy me socially

cheers, the blue top chick wasnt all that bad, but ive done better in my time :lol: She was a good kisser thou

jed

MILLWALL said:
hrundi99 said:
What exactly do you mean by "pushing the envelope"?

I thought he was a posturing pisshead, but that's just me.

Ooh, look, he exposed himself on stage! What a rebel!

:|

he didnt expose himself mate

but as you guys are saying the doors would be nothing without ray but it goes the same with jim if there was no jim then the doors wouldnt of happened so it works on two levels

p.s rap sucks

The Doors' music would have been great, irrespective of the singer. Unfortunately, I don't share the same sentiments about whether Jim would've been as great without Ray's music.

BTW, just for the record, I am in fact a big fan of The Doors, I just think that Jim's over-rated.

edabomb

jed said:
There are some topics that are best left unexplored.

Out of curiosity, I like your use of the word "oedipal", it's spot on. But I don't know that everyone here understands the meaning of it - care to explain?

Pushing the envelope of common decency and good taste is nothing new, the limits of what's been accepted by the music-listening public has been moving forward for the better part of the last 50 years. But a line has got to be drawn in the sand at some point. What about, let's say, the band Cannibal Corpse? Their "song" (and I use that term very loosely) titles leave nothing to the imagination (you can look them up if you're unsure what I mean), and the actual songs themselves are a thousand times worse. But they also explore topics and themes that haven't been sung about before. Does that mean they are as revolutionary, or even more so, than The Doors?

I got no idea, quoted it off a web page. I may be an A grade English student but my vocab isn't so.

hrundi - The only modern day rock are Incubus, Eve6, Filter, Ben Harper. There are heaps of other groups who have one or two good songs but don't do it for me consistently. I'm still listening to REM, Pixies and that. I respect your opinion on the Darkness and Jet thought. Jet's first single was all good.

edabomb

jed said:
MILLWALL said:
hrundi99 said:
What exactly do you mean by "pushing the envelope"?

I thought he was a posturing pisshead, but that's just me.

Ooh, look, he exposed himself on stage! What a rebel!

:|

he didnt expose himself mate

but as you guys are saying the doors would be nothing without ray but it goes the same with jim if there was no jim then the doors wouldnt of happened so it works on two levels

p.s rap sucks

The Doors' music would have been great, irrespective of the singer. Unfortunately, I don't share the same sentiments about whether Jim would've been as great without Ray's music.

BTW, just for the record, I am in fact a big fan of The Doors, I just think that Jim's over-rated.

I agree he is overrated by his extreme fans. I'm just argueing he still changed music history and deserves his respect!!!!

Its like Kurt Cobain, his lyrics aren't outstanding and his singing ain't great, but it worked unbelievably well.

MILLWALL

i so dont like kurt cobain becuase hes labelled as a guitar legend and a genious which i find really stupid becuase i mean the knob killed himself

Kris_man

edabomb said:
hrundi - The only modern day rock are Incubus, Eve6, Filter, Ben Harper. There are heaps of other groups who have one or two good songs but don't do it for me consistently. I'm still listening to REM, Pixies and that. I respect your opinion on the Darkness and Jet thought. Jet's first single was all good.
no way! try The Tea Party, John Mayer (best mainstream guitarist in a long time), Pete Murray, or Joe Satriani and Steve Vai if you like instrumental rock. i'm looking forward to hearing more of Maroon 5, plus Pearl Jam still do a great live show, as do Metallica. there's plenty of talent out there, i reckon. and Rock still gets up there on the charts through bands like Evanescence, Maroon 5 and Good Charlotte, so there's obviously still a lot of people who like it.

hrundi99

MILLWALL said:
i so dont like kurt cobain becuase hes labelled as a guitar legend and a genious which i find really stupid becuase i mean the knob killed himself

So did Morrison...

jed

edabomb said:
jed said:
There are some topics that are best left unexplored.

Out of curiosity, I like your use of the word "oedipal", it's spot on. But I don't know that everyone here understands the meaning of it - care to explain?

I got no idea, quoted it off a web page. I may be an A grade English student by my vocab isn't so.

Oedipus was the protagonist in a play by Sophocles. In the story he killed his father and married his mother. Thus the correlation to The Doors' song "The End".

edabomb

Kris_man said:
edabomb said:
no way! try The Tea Party, John Mayer (best mainstream guitarist in a long time), Pete Murray, or Joe Satriani and Steve Vai if you like instrumental rock. i'm looking forward to hearing more of Maroon 5, plus Pearl Jam still do a great live show, as do Metallica. there's plenty of talent out there, i reckon. and Rock still gets up there on the charts through bands like Evanescence, Maroon 5 and Good Charlotte, so there's obviously still a lot of people who like it.

Na I can't really get into those groups. Pearl Jam and Metallica are ok though, and a couple of John Mayer and Pete Murray songs I like.

hrundi99

Kris_man said:

Where's the smiley that yawns...?

As you'll find out I'm very opinionated when it comes to music.

When you can't say something nice you're best to say nothing, so I will, though I will list a few of my favourite bands.

Sloan, Teenage Fanclub, Wilco, Weezer, Guided By Voices, Brendan Benson, Cotton Mather, Matthew Sweet, The Posies, New Pornographers, Sugar, The Replacements, The Pixies, Sonic Youth, Velvet Crush, Uncle Tupelo, Treble Charger, Superdrag, Supergrass, The Smiths, Sebadoh, Redd Kross, The Plimsouls, Pavement, Aimee Mann, Jellyfish, The Jayhawks, Fountains of Wayne, etc...

Rock's demise has been greatly exaggerated.

MILLWALL

and also back on the point that without ray the doors wouldnt be they reformed not long ago and you can see that didnt go well as they didnt tour much plus when the doors tried to carry on the name without jim they didnt do well with the fans and no one really liked the cds that the 3 made

Kris_man

Oedipus was the protagonist in a play by Sophocles. In the story he killed his father and married his mother. Thus the correlation to The Doors' song "The End".
but more importantly, Freud wrote that every male had a sexual yearning for his mother, what he termed the "Oedipus Complex", which he named after the guy in that play. The complex influences all sorts of male behaviour. It's obviously a very controversial theory.

jed

MILLWALL said:
and also back on the point that without ray the doors wouldnt be they reformed not long ago and you can see that didnt go well as they didnt tour much plus when the doors tried to carry on the name without jim they didnt do well with the fans and no one really liked the cds that the 3 made

The same has happened with INXS. They are a shadow of their former selves without Michael Hutchence, although some of their fill-in lead singers have been half decent. I was impressed when I saw (former Noiseworks frontman) Jon Stevens with them. Sure, he was no Michael Hutchence, but he was brilliant nonetheless.