Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 17 TLT - Eels v Terrigal Warriors Sun 6.9.2020

What f**ken fence? I'm putting forward really clear views. The fence thing is what you muppets throw out when I've hit you in the dick with logic.

You appear to be arguing that our recruitment is a team effort when you just said this to Pou.

That's logically inconsistent.

You were proven wrong on the recruitment. Maybe you'll be proven wrong on the issue of our performance.

Face it mate, you have it in for BA. In your world everything good that happens is because of someone else's involvement and everything shit is entirely his fault because 'he is the coach'.

My gut feeling is that he won't lead us to premiership but if he goes he will have left us in an amazing position.

And when we get a new coach I give it 6 months before you start calling for their head.
What does his coaching staff have to do with the recruitment team?? Most of his staff bar Kidwell have been here for yonks.

You don’t think he can win us a premiership??? Do you have it in for BA as well?? Because that’s how I feel I won’t deny him and the rest of the people involved have done a good job to get us to this point but I can’t see him taking us to the next step and another 2 seasons of him I can see our window closing in his face. He’s the Terry Fearnley in this story too bad there is not a Jack Gibson as well. Because the witch is back and it has been since the whistle blew on the 1986 GF.

You are arguing against logic and facts and using worst case hypotheticals that haven't occurred to try and make a point.

Thats either quite ballsy or quite stupid.
So going out in a whimper last year isn’t a fact???? And did you watch last week??? Or the last couple of months actually???? Hardly a ballsy statement at all.

No, its an opinion.

Lets see what happens mate. I think we'll finish Top 4.

What does his coaching staff have to do with the recruitment team?? Most of his staff bar Kidwell have been here for yonks.

You don’t think he can win us a premiership??? Do you have it in for BA as well?? Because that’s how I feel I won’t deny him and the rest of the people involved have done a good job to get us to this point but I can’t see him taking us to the next step and another 2 seasons of him I can see our window closing in his face. He’s the Terry Fearnley in this story too bad there is not a Jack Gibson as well. Because the witch is back and it has been since the whistle blew on the 1986 GF.
All good mate. I agree that he has done a good job to get us to this point.

Keen to see how we finish the season.

Glenneel

I like the look of that side.

How do you know he hasn't held them accountable? Do you mean by sacking them? If our top 17 players are getting pressured into error why would you think our backups would do any better?
Why would you think our backups would play same or worse? Backup player Davies has been good so far.

Glenneel

I assessed every season over the last 14 years based on performances and posted it on here last week. It doesn't align with your ratings.

We have been a much improved team in the last 7 years compared to the 7 before that. That's irrefutable.
I suppose 2 wooden spoons as compared to 1 wooden spoon is an improvement when comparing those 2 x 7 year blocks.

Warriors are due for a belting, particularly players knowing now their coach is gone
(he had one year left as assistant)

I reckon we give it to them big time

Eels 20+

Glenneel

Anderson's win rate in his final two years was 49%, Hagan's was 51% and Smith's record in his final two seasons (actually a season and a half) was 54%. Arthur's recent (two year) record eclipses these. If you're going to judge a coach over two seasons (and plenty of merkins were happy to judge Kearney over that time) then there are few better than Arthur's.

2019-20
79% Bellamy
72% Robinson
65% Stuart
64% Arthur
64% Cleary
63% Bennett
51% Morris
50% Hasler
43% Maguire
38% Kearney
38% Seibold
35% Green
34% McGregor
33% Pay

The merkins under 40% all lost their jobs. Everyone else has so far kept theirs. Nobody will get the arse with a two year win rate above 60%. f**king no chance.
Stats are misleading. They don't show the slumps that last for 3 or more games, or the absolute floggings we have each year, our inability to beat the very best teams, Storm or Roosters, or our inability to be a genuine grand finalist.

Why would you think our backups would play same or worse?
Because the fact they're backups means they're worse at footy than the top 17 and depth players. If they were as good or better they wouldn't be backups.
Backup player Davies has been good so far.
He doesn't win the collisions. For the size of him he's not very strong.

I suppose 2 wooden spoons as compared to 1 wooden spoon is an improvement when comparing those 2 x 7 year blocks.
Along with number of wins overall. By a considerable margin.

4 of our 5 most winning seasons over the last 14 years have come from the last 7 years.

Our 3 most winning seasons have come from the last 7 years.

Our 2 most winning seasons have been the last two years.

So yeah, I suppose you could ignore all that if you wanted to...

No, its an opinion.

Lets see what happens mate. I think we'll finish Top 4.
3 very winnable games it would be a massive failure to not make the top 4 from here.
We may even go 7 whole years without a spoon!!!

how exciting would that be!! Who cares about winning comps not winning the spoon is where it’s at!!

Anyhow, hopefully Field getting a start helps with our support play which has been pretty poor.

If Field can “push up” and provide some support play (for our offloads etc) especially with his speed / foot work, it could help with turning our attack around.

generally the halves are the ones who should be supported but Field has not struck me as much of a play maker as yet