Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 17 TLT - Eels v Terrigal Warriors Sun 6.9.2020

Anderson's win rate in his final two years was 49%, Hagan's was 51% and Smith's record in his final two seasons (actually a season and a half) was 54%. Arthur's recent (two year) record eclipses these. If you're going to judge a coach over two seasons (and plenty of merkins were happy to judge Kearney over that time) then there are few better than Arthur's.

2019-20
79% Bellamy
72% Robinson
65% Stuart
64% Arthur
64% Cleary
63% Bennett
51% Morris
50% Hasler
43% Maguire
38% Kearney
38% Seibold
35% Green
34% McGregor
33% Pay

The merkins under 40% all lost their jobs. Everyone else has so far kept theirs. Nobody will get the arse with a two year win rate above 60%. f**king no chance.

Bandwagon

Arthurs inherited a club that no merkin would sign for unless they were bog average or overpaid, or often both.

He's now turned it into a genuine destination for quality players, to want to be a part of. That doesn't mean we'll sign any merkin we want, but it means when there is a player on the market that suits our needs, we're not having to offer overs just for them to consider turning us down.

Outside of winning the big dance, I reckon that's the biggest contribution to ongoing success he could have made, and shouldn't be under estimated as to how important that is.

As recently as 12-18 months ago you were bagging him out constantly saying he couldn't build a squad and was shit at recruiting.

Without giving him any acknowledgement and credit you now appear to have backtracked from that and have accepted that he can. He's already proven you wrong once. Why can't he do it again?

By the way, I'm personally of the view that the squad was never as shit as you thought it was nor as great as you now think it is. Just highlighting a fairly dramatic change in your position.
And it was all true, then 18 months ago we got a team with recruitment headed by trolley boy. Did BA have a say in recruitment of course but he didn’t do it alone and our purchase’s the last few seasons have been much smarter. Coincidence????

How’s that fence working out for you???

Excuses for 2019-2020 being our two best seasons in the last 15 years.
2020 isn’t finished yet and 2019 finished with a whimper. If we fall out of the top 4 and go out in straight sets how is it any more successful than 2007 or 2009??? At least in those years we looked a genuine threat at times something you could never say under Bea.

2014 and 2015 were within the margin of expected results. In 2017 we went better than the quality of the squad would suggest. Was it overachieving or just luck? Never rule out good and bad luck. It accounts for most variance in footy. That's why you can't judge a team on a single game, and you can't judge a player or coach on a single season.

2018 we definitely underachieved and it was good that we identified the causes quickly and made the required fixes for 2019. I would say last year we performed within the margin of expectation and are doing so again this year.

2014 we finished 10th. Have a look at the squad. Due to 3yrs of ahit we felt like anything better then bottom 4 was great.

If the bulldogs signdd 5 quality players and finished 9th fans also would be happy.....
2018 was not under achieving. It was a disaster. Finishing 7th or 8th was under achieving in 2018....

Not always the head coach, Riff were ordinary in a lot of ways until Barrett came in and changed their attacking structure (Api too of course).
In business you need to hire the best assistants you can, think that's where we need to go with the roster we have, find people who can move the tactics to suit the players not same old.

Sure but I reckon Penrith changed when Korisau come along with Nathan running the side. No Maloney fixed defense as well.
You also have guys there who where rookies last season and are 2x as good this year....

I agree with coaching staff but in their situation I reckon it's more due to other areas.

And it was all true, then 18 months ago we got a team with recruitment headed by trolley boy. Did BA have a say in recruitment of course but he didn’t do it alone and our purchase’s the last few seasons have been much smarter. Coincidence????

How’s that fence working out for you???
What f**ken fence? I'm putting forward really clear views. The fence thing is what you muppets throw out when I've hit you in the dick with logic.

You appear to be arguing that our recruitment is a team effort when you just said this to Pou.

So he’s not responsible for his coaching staff???

That's logically inconsistent.

You were proven wrong on the recruitment. Maybe you'll be proven wrong on the issue of our performance.

Face it mate, you have it in for BA. In your world everything good that happens is because of someone else's involvement and everything shit is entirely his fault because 'he is the coach'.

My gut feeling is that he won't lead us to premiership but if he goes he will have left us in an amazing position.

And when we get a new coach I give it 6 months before you start calling for their head.

2020 isn’t finished yet and 2019 finished with a whimper. If we fall out of the top 4 and go out in straight sets how is it any more successful than 2007 or 2009??? At least in those years we looked a genuine threat at times something you could never say under Bea.
You are arguing against logic and facts and using worst case hypotheticals that haven't occurred to try and make a point.

Thats either quite ballsy or quite stupid.

That also played a role. And not playing away as much
They've only had one game outside sydney against the lowly tits ... gosford doesnt count

When Brisbane beat em in Brisbane this week they will be exposed like the Portugese Panthers that they are

Joshuatheeel

Anyhow, hopefully Field getting a start helps with our support play which has been pretty poor.

If Field can “push up” and provide some support play (for our offloads etc) especially with his speed / foot work, it could help with turning our attack around.