Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 17 v Knights

Girds89

Lets assume we ran out 1-17 tonight.

Edge forward gets HIA, You are forced to play Salmon early. Just to have a hooker there who may or may not get decent time

Mate you've been having this argument for 2 years...

The whole hia cover thing...

The good teams get it done.

As I've said the likelihood of a cat 1 hia is still low... the likelihood of it happening to a half or outside back is even lower...

How many cat 1s in the backs have pemrith have over the last two years compared to games played?? Less than 5% I'd reckon

So you carry a bloke specifically for that 5% chance instead of the 95% chance he is just a useful sub of the pine.

Legit makes no sense.

Iamback

Mate you've been having this argument for 2 years...

The whole hia cover thing...

The good teams get it done.

As I've said the likelihood of a cat 1 hia is still low... the likelihood of it happening to a half or outside back is even lower...

How many cat 1s in the backs have pemrith have over the last two years compared to games played?? Less than 5% I'd reckon

So you carry a bloke specifically for that 5% chance instead of the 95% chance he is just a useful sub of the pine.

Legit makes no sense.

The last 2 weeks we have had guys go off with HIA you peanut

You still need to cover them for the 15 mins

Girds89

Can you please stop with this Cole thing.

You've been happy to bag the shit out of the peach... when he's been the only real option...

So maybe just stop with hammering blokes that are the best for the gig...

Luai...
Kenny...
Peachy...

I mean in past times Edwards...

Girds89

Which backs?? Tell me over the last two years how many backs have gone off hia and stayed off??

Hosking went Tonight... not a back...

Turuva last week but was fine.. we had another in the forward last week.. think Kenny or Luke..

You have this obsession with purely carrying a bloke on the bench for a hia..

When in reality a full blown hia is about a 1/10 chance..

And a cat 1 hia to a back is about a 1/20 for us...

I can't remember the last time one of our backs was a cat 1?? Happy to be told... but it has barely happened...

Yet you think it's a necessity to carry a bloke purely for it.

1-13 picks itself

With
11. Marto
12. Soro

Luke
Spencer
Smith
Salmon (covers halves, centres, 2nd row)

It's the best balance.

Chins get the wins

You've been happy to bag the shit out of the peach... when he's been the only real option...

Luai...
Kenny...
Peachy...

f**k me ok one last time.
Luai - 50/50 call where I would have went Burton but no real wrong answer.
Kenny - Always wanted him as our 14 but since Luke is stinking it up and Mitch has improved he's our 9.
Peach.........he's one of the most selfish, inconsistent footballers to ever play the game. With our injuries and rep commitments I'd be picking our best spare defensive backrower to play that spot, especially with the finals around the corner.

Edwards was viewed by the club as not having the attacking game to persist with (Theirs a reason we had Critter and Staines on fullback money)but he proved me and the club wrong.

This cover it? I'm always happy to admit when I get it wrong and people like me (and you) actually make the forum worthwhile by having outspoken opinions

Girds89

Kenny - Always wanted him as our 14 but since Luke is stinking it up and Mitch has improved he's our 9.
Peach.........he's one of the most selfish, inconsistent footballers to ever play the game. With our injuries and rep commitments I'd be picking our best spare defensive backrower to play that spot, especially with the finals around the corner.

Edwards was viewed by the club as not having the attacking game to persist with (Theirs a reason we has Critter and Staines on fullback money)but he proved me and the club wrong.

This cover it? I'm always happy to admit when I get it wrong and people like me (and you) actually make the forum worthwhile by having outspoken opinions

What a laugh...

You wanted Burton so hard it wasn't funny. To the point you hammered luai harder than qlders.

You've bagged the shit out of Kenny forever and death rode him the second you found out api was leaving...

Peach is a fine footy player and proved it again tonight.. he's always been rocks and diamonds but he has always worn his heart on His sleeve for the Panthers... saying garner would be better there is just a effing horrible idea..

And enough with this the panthers didn't want Edwards bs.. lol it's a joke it really is... he was always picked at fb.. Staines was on 300k... not fb money... just winger money in a premiership winning team, not even, I mean he got dropped real early once taylan came in yet you frothed Staines and still thought he was part of the plan lol... and critta wasn't on fb money either lol.. he was on just half decent centre money on his last contract... and when dyl was fit he never got a look In...

Ivan has said time and time and time again how important dylan is to the team and the club... he was backed in even through an avg form run because the club knew what he offered...

You've literally made this idea up in your head like the club didn't believe in dylan and he proved them wrong lol... literally everything the coaches and players have ever said disproves this..

It's not a personal attack on you I guess it just gets tiring reading some particular posters hammer the same old players over the last few years.... it's really nice to see them do well.

Peachy and Kenny tonight being the main ones.

Chins get the wins

Luai...
Kenny...
Peachy...

Edwards was viewed by the club as not having the attacking game to persist with (Theirs a reason we has Critter and Staines on fullback money)but he proved me and the club wrong.

What a laugh...

You wanted Burton so hard it wasn't funny. To the point you hammered luai harder than qlders.

You've bagged the shit out of Kenny forever and death rode him the second you found out api was leaving...

Peach is a fine footy player and proved it again tonight.. he's always been rocks and diamonds but he has always worn his heart on His sleeve for the Panthers... saying garner would be better there is just a effing horrible idea..

And enough with this the panthers didn't want Edwards bs.. lol it's a joke it really is... he was always picked at fb.. Staines was on 300k... not fb money... just winger money in a premiership winning team, not even, I mean he got dropped real early once taylan came in yet you frothed Staines and still thought he was part of the plan lol... and critta wasn't on fb money either lol.. he was on just half decent centre money on his last contract... and when dyl was fit he never got a look In...

Ivan has said time and time and time again how important dylan is to the team and the club... he was backed in even through an avg form run because the club knew what he offered...

You've literally made this idea up in your head like the club didn't believe in dylan and he proved them wrong lol... literally everything the coaches and players have ever said disproves this..

It's not a personal attack on you I guess it just gets tiring reading some particular posters hammer the same old players over the last few years.... it's really nice to see them do well.

Peachy and Kenny tonight being the main ones.
Fine to disagree that's cool.

But yeah I'll f**king hammer Peach because he's a liability

Iamback

Which backs?? Tell me over the last two years how many backs have gone off hia and stayed off??

Hosking went Tonight... not a back...

Turuva last week but was fine.. we had another in the forward last week.. think Kenny or Luke..

You have this obsession with purely carrying a bloke on the bench for a hia..

When in reality a full blown hia is about a 1/10 chance..

And a cat 1 hia to a back is about a 1/20 for us...

I can't remember the last time one of our backs was a cat 1?? Happy to be told... but it has barely happened...

Yet you think it's a necessity to carry a bloke purely for it.

1-13 picks itself

With
11. Marto
12. Soro

Luke
Spencer
Smith
Salmon (covers halves, centres, 2nd row)

It's the best balance.

Why are you only counting Category 1 HIA's?

Even when a player goes off to be checked they need to be replaced for 15 mins.

There are injuries that happen in the game too.

Turuva v Souffs this year is perfect example. Salmon had to play back row then got moved to centre due to the makeup up of the bench

BxTom

You have constantly argued that we should not carry two hookers because of HIA cover for other positions. Isn't it true that hookers have a heavier tackling load than most players which would put them at a higher risk of HIA?

Girds89

Why are you only counting Category 1 HIA's?

Even when a player goes off to be checked they need to be replaced for 15 mins.

There are injuries that happen in the game too.

Turuva v Souffs this year is perfect example. Salmon had to play back row then got moved to centre due to the makeup up of the bench

Because a good team can cover a player going down for 15 mins...

An elite team doesn't even sweat it...

No difference between having garner on the bench as his cover for an outside back as to salmon just doing it...

Garners about 10% quicker than salmon but he still gets burned every day by Walsh or walker or ponga or any hard decent back... so than the cover becomes pointless...

Especially for the less than 5% chance it's aback and there off for the game...

There's 95% more reasons to pick your best bench to win a game..

Especially when the majority of our students play big mins... you can get away with soro or marto having to play 80 and salmon filling in for a back if... if required...

You still haven't answered my question... how many cat 1s to backs have we had in the last two years?

Iamback

You have constantly argued that we should not carry two hookers because of HIA cover for other positions. Isn't it true that hookers have a heavier tackling load than most players which would put them at a higher risk of HIA?

Because a hooker on the bench can only cover that one position.

Better off to find someone that can play hooker as well as other positions.

The 2 games Luke has missed Cogger and Peachey have been in that spot, I not saying they should but guys like that

Iamback

Because a good team can cover a player going down for 15 mins...

An elite team doesn't even sweat it...

No difference between having garner on the bench as his cover for an outside back as to salmon just doing it...

Garners about 10% quicker than salmon but he still gets burned every day by Walsh or walker or ponga or any hard decent back... so than the cover becomes pointless...

Especially for the less than 5% chance it's aback and there off for the game...

There's 95% more reasons to pick your best bench to win a game..

Especially when the majority of our students play big mins... you can get away with soro or marto having to play 80 and salmon filling in for a back if... if required...

You still haven't answered my question... how many cat 1s to backs have we had in the last two years?

Why are you obssessed with only Category 1 HIA's?

You do realise we have had backs go down for other reasons too?

We literally saw on Wednesday night what can happen with no adequate back coverage on the bench

Kilkenny

Where is all the hatred towards Peachy after tonights game.

Some were calling for him NEVER to see first grade again in our colours.

I hope you are all (at this moment scraping egg off your faces)

The Peach was HUGE for us tonight.
Alice you know nothing. You cant argue with the know it alls on here, they will after you hard, with the stats to back up there opinions,

Aliceinwonderland

Huge call, Alice is a diehard, she offers far more than you in my opinion

Thanks Kilkenny for your lovely comment.

I learnt about rugby league basically at my dad's knee.

I'm the youngest in my family (by 11 and 7 years) I have 2 much older brothers.

I started watching at my dad's knee in 1967 (the year my parents bought a telly) Yes I was 10 years old. The ABC Saturday match of the day.

My wonderful dad and brothers explained the rules when I asked questions, and it was something my dad, my older brothers and I bonded over.

I can clearly remember Eric Simms and his kicking duels. The 4 tackle sets, pushing in the scrums, the thuggery, the fact that there were only 2 reserves on the bench. (whom had already played a full game in cup). They were only to be used as injury replacements.

I remember watching the grandfinal when Raper had a painkilling injection that went wrong, he played badly. That was the game when he wore the white footy boots.

I remember seeing the grandfinal when Sattler had his jaw broken.

I remember seeing Manly's first grandfinal win too. Seeing a very young Bobby Fulton play.

I remember seeing my first ever test match at the SCG against the poms in 1975 (after I left the country and moved to Sydney)
......It was an afternoon game. I was enthralled.

I remember it all.

There isn't much in the game I haven't seen at least once.

I had some time away from the game when my children were very young, as I was quite busy raising them.

Even then I still took an interest.

No I'm a huge footy nerd and I'm interested in lots of viewpoints. Alice however rarely adds anything to a discussion

No I don't obsess about stats, and then misuse them to explain a warped viewpoint.

I also don't demand that others accept my viewpoint as gospel either.

'Footy Nerds' come in all shapes and sizes, they even come as fat old ladies who use a walker named 'Annie'.

Aliceinwonderland

That's cool. I understand I'm harsh and a bit of a dickhead

Fair enough. :p

Now to be serious........I believe we all (at times, and this especially includes myself)

We are can dickheads when it comes to footy and our opinions.

I also know that I bang on about the old days of footy, and see the world and especially footy through black (rose tinted) glasses.