Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd10: 6.25pm EELS v Titans GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 7/5/23

Wally21

He plays on the edge and his D is a little grabby. He's only 22 (?) and a great hole runner. He'll have a great future with us once he sorts out his hit n stick and can play 80 if asked.
Interesting mate, not sure that Doorey is any more grabby than some of our other starters. Like others, I don’t understand the Davey straight in to the starting line up thing.

Wally21

That last try we let in was pathetic. Tits went nowhere all set and on the 4th they went two passes wide and there is a gap that Lizzo could have fit through. Of course that lazy prick Sivo stopped chasing after 5 metres and Brown had to come from nowhere to stop the break. Pathetic absolutely pathetic. Sums up this team in 60secs.
I literally said to my mate, look at this lazy slug. Brown made two tackles while he jogged back and watched. Should be hooked for that effort alone. The three try’s he scored could have been scored by anyone. None involved him powering over opposition

Interesting mate, not sure that Doorey is any more grabby than some of our other starters. Like others, I don’t understand the Davey straight in to the starting line up thing.
Cos he's built like a brick shit house and only missed the 1.

1683508351453.png

Gazzamatta

Only issue with Holbrook is i don't think he can coach defence either.

I think attacking wise tactically he is pretty good.

Titans defence is basically the same standard as us if not worse.
I wouldnt say worse but I take your point. I just feel he is more likely to eventually hire a good D guy and would also be more likely to listen to him. I reckon he may be open to new ideas. Not sure our guy is.

King-Gutho94

Facetious or genuine? Because we’ve score more points than 3/4 of the comp. Can Barrett coach defence too?
No he cant

Been bottom 5 defence each year as coach at Manly & Dogs.

Manly in 2018 when Barrett had conceded on average 3 more points a game then the side who won the spoon that year not sure who won it have a memory blank.

No he cant

Been bottom 5 defence each year as coach at Manly & Dogs.

Manly in 2018 when Barrett had conceded on average 3 more points a game then the side who won the spoon that year not sure who won it have a memory blank.
Hmmmmm, not sure who it was, well whoever they are I’m sure they were unlucky .

This is completely correct

Hodgson was an absolute handbrake tonight and has been that and worse all season.

I am convinced that anyone who continues to spruik his retention is motivated by something other than a desire to see the eels win.

Perhaps they know him personally, perhaps they are desperate to support the coach no matter what, perhaps they just like to be different…or perhaps they just want to troll Eels fans like Pou.

Either way, after ten games there is no one who can seriously suggest that Hodgson improves our chances of winning a first grade game.
Signing him allowed us to retain our more expensive players. That's the reality of the salary cap, unfortunately.

We haven’t been unlucky, you make your own luck and we’ve deserved none of it. Our appalling defence all season is why we are 4 from 10. None of that has to do with luck.
There are four teams above us on the ladder with worse defence ffs

King-Gutho94

Signing him allowed us to retain our more expensive players. That's the reality of the salary cap, unfortunately.
Hodgson was a sugar hit. We rushed it and panicked we still had 18 months to sign a replacement for Reed.

Plenty of dummy halves came onto the market after Reed left that we could have got for a similar price to Hodgson. But we already locked in hodgson.

I think we have an attacking X-factor player - it’s Dylan Brown. He was brilliant last night, when he was playing off the cuff. But most of that seemed to be deviating from the regular gameplan, and chasing points.
Arthur's has said he wants Drown running more, so it's in the game plan. But it's up to the players to decide when. The coach isn't controlling them on a f**king Playstation.

Yep shit take, the way the Riff are attacking they might need him back.

Penrith are based on defense. The thing is when have good defense the opposition starts to panic. 8 points seems like 20. So what then happens is sides start to get off their game. They do things they normally wouldn't to try and crack them. Kick early, force and offload etc. If they crumble then Penrith start getting to much ball and just slowly wear them out.

We have no defense. So a 10 or even 16 point lead isn't that huge a worry if plenty of time. Sides will stick to their game plan and know with an even amount of possession they will score points playing their natural game. This is the problem. Mentally sides know they can get us. They don't feel helpless