Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd12: EELS v Rabbits GAME DAY THREAD @ Allianz Stadium 19/5/23

How good was it that our favourite Kiwi won the Aboriginal Medal.
Weird that after the game he was doing the hongi (the Maori nose greeting thing) with merkins even though he isn't Maori. Was it a nod to the Warriors getting rissoled on indigenous round?

Its amazing what possession can do for a prop. It maximises their ability to take hit ups while minimising defensive workload.

The old adage that the forwards lay the platform is true but it also relys heavily on the rest of the team being deciplined with and without the footy and the halves making good decisions, forcing errors etc
Paulo made 18 runs and only 22 tackles. That's why he (and we) were so good. Contrast it with last time we played Souths (0-26) he made 7 runs and 31 tackles. The difference was possession (46% then vs 56% last night).

TheRam

Yeah looked great.

Btw can we f**k the white jersey off for good what are 0/4 this year.

Both away wins we have won the Gold and indigenous jersey have been worn.

Wear Gold as away strip we are Blue & Gold ffs.

I would also love a quality V designed one one day. I would buy 5 and moth ball them. I prefer V designs for RL more then any other and not that poxy version that we wore in the 9's that one year either. Total crap that one.

Something like this would be awesome.

1684547053243.jpeg

IFR33K

Well, I had a TIA (mini-stroke) at work on Thusday afternoon. Ended up in hospital. Still here. Pondering the future, etc. But watched that game last night, and it really cheered me up. What a f#cking amazing performance! One of the best Eels wins I've ever seen. I really thought Souths would put 50 on us. So proud of that team. The bloke in the bed next to me was a Souths supporter, too. Lol.

Get well soon mate

emjaycee

We’ve run out of edge players. Matto “will miss a few” per BA last night. Davey is Cat 1. So we have Carty.

Assuming Joffa is available, then we have plenty of middles, but Jnr, Hopgood might be picked for origin.

Hoppa hopefully gets in the Qld squad, but is available to play for us.

So we have middles Emu, Hoppa, Offa, Makka, Joffa + Morretti ?

Edge we have Carty, Momoisea, Mataeli (who was injured this week) and Dan Kerr. Could Kye Rodwell play on an edge ?

Yeah I am lost.
Did Hopgood move to the left edge when he came back on?

As per above, I don't reckon we changed our game plan all that much, if it all, I reckon we just executed it superbly and bashed them, we earn't the right to use the ball, and because we did we weren't pushing the pass off the back foot, so far less errors.
Fo shizzle. Merkins need to realise that gameplans rely on if-then logic. When the conditions (or the opposition) prevent the 'if' from occurring you won't see the 'then' component. Or you'll see it, but it'll look shithouse, like shifting the ball into aggressive edge defence.

'Using the ball' only works well when the defence is on the back foot, or at least not moving up quickly.

Weren't we winning when he came on?

I thought Hodgson was great last night. No discernible improvement when Hands came on.

Sure, Hands has looked better in a number of games this year, but were you possibly seeing what you set out to find in last nights game?
Hodgson has focused on stopping the offload in recent weeks rather than making first contact on his own. His wrestle is good too.

TheRam

PUNCH THE SKY WITH BLOODY FISTS

AND BASH AGAINST THE WALL

WHEN WE HEAR THE WHISTLE BLOW ITS TIME TO GO TO WAR

WE BLEED FOR ONE ANOTHER AND THE STORY MUST BE TOLD

THAT IF YOU CUT US OPEN WE’LL BE BLEEDING BLUE AND GOLD

PARRA! PARRA!

YOU KNOW WE CAME TO FIGHT

PARRA! PARRA!

OUR BROTHERHOOD IS TIGHT

WHEN YOU WAKE UP WOUNDED JUST REMEMBER HOW IT FEELS

TO TRY TO GO TOE TO TOE WITH THE PARRAMATTA EELS! 💙💛

Gazzamatta

Well, I had a TIA (mini-stroke) at work on Thusday afternoon. Ended up in hospital. Still here. Pondering the future, etc. But watched that game last night, and it really cheered me up. What a f#cking amazing performance! One of the best Eels wins I've ever seen. I really thought Souths would put 50 on us. So proud of that team. The bloke in the bed next to me was a Souths supporter, too. Lol.
Look after yourself buddy. Get well soon.

TheRam

Sad to hear it mate. I hope you have a full recovery.

Look I know that it isn't possible or at least very difficult for right now due to the war, but if things change and you are in need down the track and can afford it, this might be something you are interested in, or anyone else who might be in need for that matter.