Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd20: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 29/7/22

Sensei Cobra

Edit: papalii is such a strong player who we should do whatever we can to keep. Probably some question marks Last year if he could maintain his form but he has definitely proven himself one of the best and most consistent forwards in the game.

I really hope he stays and he is worth the 600 odd k that’s he’s reportedly been offered by the tiges

TheRam

I can see now why we are chasing Tapau. When our two starting props are off we suck and lose our momentum and line speed.

For a side with 12 men Cleary’s superior coaching is there for all to see. The Panthers are an incredible team.

It's taken you this long?

Mate our bench sucks, and I mean sucks. Generally 3 of the 4 on it are so bog average that really we are playing with 14 most weeks. The punch and momentum we lose when they come on is horrendous and is a major reason our middles like Paulo are hot and cold so often. Even RCG who is our most consistent forward at times is dominated during some games and doesn't have the power and ferocity that he normally has.

No player can maintain those long minutes for an entire season playing the way BA wants them to. Sure they can knock out big minutes and they do, but at what price? They need to be replaced more often for their own good. But as it stands right now, even if the coach wanted to give them less time the lack of quality on the bench is forcing his hand to keep them out there.

We need at least one other merkin that can bend the line enough to warrant his inclusion on the field and still keep us on the front foot so BA is forced to rotate them better. At the moment the coach knows that in all likely hood when the bench comes on the game will probably turn advantage opponents.

If we had a more punch bench, maybe we would break the spirit of our opposition because they aren't getting the reprieve and second wind that our bench currently affords them and we could rattle up some decent scores. Who knows?

Lets hope Tapau is still aggressive enough and good enough to help us solve this problem. He has an error or two in his game, especially when he gets offload happy. But he should be a decent signing if we get him. He sure as hell would be an improvement on the one dimensional low impact bench we have at the moment.

Wally21

Just caught up on the fox post game show.

Gee Brandy was quick to grade the Clsary tackle a Grade 2.

Poor guy looked shellshocked on the panel tbh.

And should board members be talking about possible outcomes at the judiciary in regards to there team before the charge sheet comes out.

Coaches get in trouble if they talk about it.
No way he should. But I guess he learnt in from the best while working with Gould.

TheRam

The Panthers were gallant in the second, but our poor defence still has to allow that Panthers team to score with 12 men and no Cleary. They were unlucky really not to score heaps more tries really.

The outcome was over after the send off, the job was done at half time, and after that we slackened off against 12 men, who are still the best team in the comp and deserved respect, which we probably didn't give enough to in the second half. Moses final goal kick sums up the second half application. He just couldn't be arsed if he kicked it or not. The same could be said for his final pass too.

It's hard to say what the result would've been had Cleary not been sent off, because it changed the entire fabric of the contest.

I can't believe someone isn't off Lane's hip everytime he gets the ball, he appears he could pass every tackle..

This drives me freakin nuts.

Last night was further proof we win games despite the coach. He must of gotten them in at half time and give them a dressing down for the expansive and exciting footy they were playing. Just like the Roosters game we were back to one out hit up Bald Bea Ball. That second half was just further proof we aren’t even close to being a contender this year. Against 12 men with a 15 man bench we should of put them to the sword instead we showed what we really are capable of.

@Gronk 😂🤓🥸🤓🥸🥸🥸🤓🤓🤓🥸🥸🥸😂

JokerEel

Last night was further proof we win games despite the coach. He must of gotten them in at half time and give them a dressing down for the expansive and exciting footy they were playing. Just like the Roosters game we were back to one out hit up Bald Bea Ball. That second half was just further proof we aren’t even close to being a contender this year. Against 12 men with a 15 man bench we should of put them to the sword instead we showed what we really are capable of.

@Gronk 😂🤓🥸🤓🥸🥸🥸🤓🤓🤓🥸🥸🥸😂

I think it's more to his thinking around the Bench.

Lane and Ice looked gassed in the second half but doesn't sub them off.

He also said that our to front towers are on big coin so should be on the field alot more 🤦🏼

TheRam

Moses is good, and has won us plenty of games but this week and last week are good indications why he truly isn’t elite.

second half last week there were points available and chance to win in the second half, we looked dangerous on the left. But we do it once then hand over the ball, it should be try it before the last then get a repeat.

Tonight there was the opportunity to hit 50 easily. We just had to complete sets and build pressure, then try the Edges when they were short.

however second half in the first 20 from memory, we tried a kick to Blake, a shift to Sivo on the last etc etc but it wasn’t the right option. It should have been attack attack, then repeat set on the last. It was stupid footy. Then last 20 panthers got some ball and grinded the game away…….stupid.

that’s why I reckon Hodgson is going to be a great signing if he stays on the footy first, finally some smarts in the spine…..we may lose Mahoney and youth but we get experience and smarts…

Don't expect miracles from this guy mate. For one he is a hog and could start to stifle our attack like Gutho does now and two he won't be on the field all that much to be a significant factor in our season. He is cooked and he is one bump or knee trauma away from retirement.

TheRam

Oh my god

We are so shit the way we beat the reigning premiers and soon to b minor premiers.

f**k we need to learn how to win games more betterer, cause all the other teams wot beat Penrith this year beat them much more gooderer than wot we done did,

What would and old coach like Warren Ryan or Bellamy say about all the shortcuts we took out there in the second half against a 12 man team?

King-Gutho94

Don't expect miracles from this guy mate. For one he is a hog and could start to stifle our attack like Gutho does now and two he won't be on the field all that much to be a significant factor in our season. He is cooked and he is one bump or knee trauma away from retirement.
He will provide calmness and composure we desperately need on the field especially with our spine.

But I agree he is a walking timebomb with that knee.

TheRam

It’s great to win and the first half was as good a half as I can remember, regardless of chin being sent.
They had a chance to really ice that game and they didn’t.
Whether you like them or not, whether you think they are deadshits or not, Smith, Thurston and Johns, arguably the 3 best players of the last 30 years were wondering in commentary why we didn’t ice the game.
It’s just disappointing that we can’t put 80 mins together. The inconsistency is such a worry

In Smiths actual words, "we needed to be ruthless and savage and we simply weren't".

The game was there to annihilate them and put 50+ on them and bring them to their knees begging for their mummies. But instead they beat us 6-4. What a joke and the coach? Well he seemed happy.

TheRam

It's just a motivation issue. We had the game won and Penrith were playing for pride. We would've only put them to the sword if they gave up.

Oh please stop being such a irritating apologist.

At the very least the motivation should have been our F/A to help us have a chance of getting into the top 4.

You know the position on the ladder that allows you to have a home game and a second chance in the semis?

Not to mention strengthening our mental resolve which they obviously couldn't do.

JokerEel

In Smiths actual words, "we needed to be ruthless and savage and we simply weren't".

The game was there to annihilate them and put 50+ on them and bring them to their knees begging for their mummies. But instead they beat us 6-4. What a joke and the coach? Well he seemed happy.

It's Penrith they are not going to give up 50 points. Even with 12 men.

They got into the sheds and reset at half time you could see it straight from the second half it was about line speed and defence.

Gazzamatta

My highlight of the night was watching that smug fart sniffer Brandy try to downgrade the tackle and contemplate the hiding his boys copped. So delicious!!
Id like to put Brandy and Joey together in a cage match to the death. The biggest pair of know it alls but actually know fu*k alls in the game. Cant stand them.
PS. Fittler runs a close third. Maybe he can fight the winner.