Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD7 V Tigers ANZ Stadium

Tigers forward pack looks to be something pretty special. Though I thought they were off the line in defence too quickly.

Their line speed was amazing yesterday. They'd arrive at the first receiver from a scrum as the ball just hit his chest. Real fast. :sarcasm:

oldmancraigy

Spoke with many eels fans during and after the game.
I guess when it's face to face you know you are speaking with a semi intelligent footy fan. On this internet thingy, you have folk like your green river eel.
Read my post again. I always said it would be a close game, and was simply amazed at the arrogance of some of your guys predicting thrashings.
Anyway, your team is going OK. we were a rabble in the first half and really missed Farah.
Once Austin went into dummy half, we settled down. Thought our forwards were strong.
Good luck with your season. It was amazing to see SO many parra jumpers yesterday.
I reckon you clearly had us beat for fan numbers.
Great game . . . see ya's next time !

Didn't we just thrash your mob?

Why not try coming back and making your point after a close game.

84 Baby

I don't want to keep whinging about the game but another I thought was happening (couldn't be arsed watching a replay) but I'm fairly certain and I think it's been happening against us a lot this season but the opposition always seem to be beyond the line of the scrum by the time we get it out. Are the refs missing it or are we just incredibly shit in scrums? I think we are shit in scrums anyway

Their line speed was amazing yesterday. They'd arrive at the first receiver from a scrum as the ball just hit his chest. Real fast. :sarcasm:

Reminded me if the roasters of 2003 getting early starts and the ref not pinging them. Joke!!

Delboy

The refs are scared currently, unwilling to blow successive penalties for offside, at the game the line speed of the Tigpies was extraordinary. I looked as close as possible and they were on the move before the ball was played and the refs chose to ignore it, as they did with Galloway lying in the play the ball and asking the referee if it was ok, blow your friggin whistle, no need to be friends with them.

The media have pushed the refs into a corner.

Harriman did not help them as he seems to have set a standard that the media like, ie no penalties

Spoke with many eels fans during and after the game.
I guess when it's face to face you know you are speaking with a semi intelligent footy fan. On this internet thingy, you have folk like your green river eel.
Read my post again. I always said it would be a close game, and was simply amazed at the arrogance of some of your guys predicting thrashings.
Anyway, your team is going OK. we were a rabble in the first half and really missed Farah.
Once Austin went into dummy half, we settled down. Thought our forwards were strong.
Good luck with your season. It was amazing to see SO many parra jumpers yesterday.
I reckon you clearly had us beat for fan numbers.
Great game . . . see ya's next time !

f*k of merkin

Allgood got shoulder charged in the head by some merkin. I'm surprised there is no charge.

OK, not surprised really ...

EelsFan05

Did anyone notice Woods walk over to the eastern grand stand after the final siren and give two middle finger salutes to the crowd? Didn't mind him before that.

Y2Eel

Did anyone notice Woods walk over to the eastern grand stand after the final siren and give two middle finger salutes to the crowd? Didn't mind him before that.

Guy is the biggest toss pot.. Do not understand the NSW talk either outplayed by Mannah..

Bigfella

And the merkin factor is why he's a more valuable and highly rated prop than Mannah.

Possibly a better leader as well.

I suspect a lot of neutral fans would disagree. Woods is a tosser, but he's a bloody good forward and bends the line.

Mannah makes more metres per hit-up than any other NSW Origin prop bar Gallen - I am not sure how he's not "bending the line".

A lot of people think NSW needs "tough merkins" or just plain "dirty merkins" to win, but Paul Gallen and Greg Bird have been playing for NSW for ages and we are on the verge of losing the series for a straight decade, really...

But then, I rate Mannah and must be a shit judge, so...

Mannah makes more metres per hit-up than any other NSW Origin prop bar Gallen - I am not sure how he's not "bending the line".

A lot of people think NSW needs "tough merkins" or just plain "dirty merkins" to win, but Paul Gallen and Greg Bird have been playing for NSW for ages and we are on the verge of losing the series for a straight decade, really...

But then, I rate Mannah and must be a shit judge, so...

You're not a shit judge mate, and I didn't criticise Mannah. Was responding to the usual criticism on this site of any player who is favourably compared to one of our club favourites. But to be honest, if I were,say, Manly looking for a new prop I'd be interested in both players, but for the same wage I'd be very tempted to go for Woods (I might of course end up with egg on my face). Mannah is certainly a 'metre eater' but he does so with his 'head down' mainly. Woods 'seems' more dangerous when on the charge. Now of course, Mannah might also look a very different player if he was paired with a big bopper at the other prop position.

Haha - the "shit judge" thing was a sly reference to Maroubra Eel.

But that's certainly some food for thought there - I have been thinking for a while now we need a quality starting prop to help Mannah out a bit more. We might then see what he is REALLY capable of.