Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD7 V Tigers ANZ Stadium

Joely01

Couldn't follow the maths hey mate? Or were some of the words too big for you?

No i just cant be bothered to read the dribble you spill whenever someone disagree's with you just so you can try and prove something.

All you are proving is that you are a professional dribbler.

84 Baby

To be honest Pou, I can't be f**ked reading all that. I read the first 3 paragraphs and gave up.

I hope you explained it will though
I read it. Was ok. I give it a B-. Lots of good thoughts & analysis but no cohesion. In fact I reckon most of Pou's post are similar and he probably posts his comments as a way of justifying all those hours of menial analysis by disguising it as teaching you merkins

oldmancraigy

I reckon a player's involvement - specifically how often they should run the ball - is more about the gameplan than the player's whim. It is also clear that we don't always have two players on the field who are acting as 'props', even if we have three players on the field who are capable of playing such a role. Mostly we have one to take the first hit-up, and two others to support or take the next run as necessary plus defend in the middle with the 'prop' and the hooker. Plus sometimes one of the middle defenders is Joseph Paulo, who plays 'middle half'.

Wait - are you suggesting teams have gameplans??

Next thing you'll be telling us the waterboy is reminding them who should be doing what...

I hate the term 'middle half' - it very poorly reflects what Paulo (and others) is doing. His main job is NOT to think about passing, or to get in position to kick, or to organise a play. His main job is meterage through the middle, however he is clearly told that he can play the ball before the line, through the middle third of the field.

Glenn Stewart is not the 'right half' for Manly.
Greg Bird is not the 'left half' for Gold Coast.
Lewis Brown is not the 'left half' for Penrith
James Graham is not the 'middle half' for the Bulldogs
Corey Parker is not the 'middle half' for the Broncos

These guys are just skillful forwards whom the coaches have written plays for in the playbook.

I need some maths to make my point: 1/2 + 1/2 = 1. Therefore there can only be 2 halves on the field.
Aha, you say, but a half is defined by their role. You fell into my trap, that's precisely my point. If you watch all teams play footy, watch what halves do, then carefully watch Paulo, his role is nothing like that of a half. He is not there to kick, nor is he there to run the sweeping pass plays at first receiver, he is a 'runner' of the football who is encouraged to use his extra skills to open up the middle of the field for the forwards.

If you wanted a 'best' description, then you could use the term 'standing hooker' - because his role is most similar to that of a dummy half (not a real half, a pretend one by definition!) in that he is looking to play the forwards onto the front foot, or defer to the 'real' halves.

I make the distinction because IMO I have seen a 'middle half' tactic actually used, in fact we all have. SK used Casey McGuire in the role for the first part of a season. It was disastrous, and stupid, and never to be repeated.

yy_cheng

Next thing you'll be telling us the waterboy is reminding them who should be doing what...

I hate the term 'middle half' - it very poorly reflects what Paulo (and others) is doing. His main job is NOT to think about passing, or to get in position to kick, or to organise a play. His main job is meterage through the middle, however he is clearly told that he can play the ball before the line, through the middle third of the field.

These guys are just skillful forwards whom the coaches have written plays for in the playbook.

I need some maths to make my point: 1/2 + 1/2 = 1. Therefore there can only be 2 halves on the field.
Aha, you say, but a half is defined by their role. You fell into my trap, that's precisely my point. If you watch all teams play footy, watch what halves do, then carefully watch Paulo, his role is nothing like that of a half. He is not there to kick, nor is he there to run the sweeping pass plays at first receiver, he is a 'runner' of the football who is encouraged to use his extra skills to open up the middle of the field for the forwards.

If you wanted a 'best' description, then you could use the term 'standing hooker' - because his role is most similar to that of a dummy half (not a real half, a pretend one by definition!) in that he is looking to play the forwards onto the front foot, or defer to the 'real' halves.

I make the distinction because IMO I have seen a 'middle half' tactic actually used, in fact we all have. SK used Casey McGuire in the role for the first part of a season. It was disastrous, and stupid, and never to be repeated.

He does stand as the hooker in the scrum prior to packing when we have the feed.

No i just cant be bothered to read the dribble you spill whenever someone disagree's with you just so you can try and prove something.

All you are proving is that you are a professional dribbler.

Well you should give it a read. Then you won't be so ignorant.

You're missing the point mate. Joe Paulo handles the ball three or four times more than these other 'ball playing forwards' you mention, but unlike them he only takes on the defence roughly one third of the time.

So it's different.

Also, you were wrong about Casey McGuire and Joe Paulo proves you still are.

He does stand as the hooker in the scrum prior to packing when we have the feed.

Wins plenty against the feed, does Yusuf Paulo.

I use the term 'middle half' to differentiate him from the actual halves - 6 and 7 - who are split to either side of the field.

This is not to say that all middle halves are equal either. When Sutton plays middle half he handles the ball more than anyone else in the team (bar the dummy half, of course). Paulo gets less touches than Norman or Sandow.

Still gets a lot more touches than James Graham or any of these other merkins.

Lots of good thoughts & analysis but no cohesion.

That's typical of Poo. The lack of cohesion part, anyways, as not all of his posts have good analysis. While the merkin sometimes comes up with something half-decent to say it rarely has structure or cohesion. Just go back and look at the preview "article" he wrote - some decent info but absolutely terribly structured.

oldmancraigy

You're missing the point mate. Joe Paulo handles the ball three or four times more than these other 'ball playing forwards' you mention, but unlike them he only takes on the defence roughly one third of the time.

So it's different.

Also, you were wrong about Casey McGuire and Joe Paulo proves you still are.

You're missing the point.

Typical Poocrap. Do you even watch footy? Or just make up stuff about it in order to suit your fantasies?

oldmancraigy

Wins plenty against the feed, does Yusuf Paulo.

I use the term 'middle half' to differentiate him from the actual halves - 6 and 7 - who are split to either side of the field.

This is not to say that all middle halves are equal either. When Sutton plays middle half he handles the ball more than anyone else in the team (bar the dummy half, of course). Paulo gets less touches than Norman or Sandow.

Still gets a lot more touches than James Graham or any of these other merkins.

Yes, how accurate.

Definitely no poocrap here. :roll:

Paulo definitely touches the ball more than all those other guys. For example, his 26 touches against the Chooks (in 70 minutes) dwarfs Stewarts 37 touches against the Sharks (in 68 minutes).

And as an 'average' Paulo is on 25 touches per game, while Stewart has 29 (discounting the game he played 10 minutes in).

You're basically replicating the same style of crap bartman used to give us. It's fairly boring. Normally I just skip your posts, but since you posted a stupid essay that made no sense, I thought I'd have a crack.

That's typical of Poo. The lack of cohesion part, anyways, as not all of his posts have good analysis. While the merkin sometimes comes up with something half-decent to say it rarely has structure or cohesion. Just go back and look at the preview "article" he wrote - some decent info but absolutely terribly structured.

Agreed. My posts tend to meander, in a stream-of-consciousness style, and I'm not interested in editing my shit before I click submit. I don't get f**king paid to post here, and structuring and finishing my posts in an attempt to prove an idea would do the opposite of what I'm intending - to generate discussion.

The way I post, I leave the loose ends untied. This benefits everyone (except anyone stupid enough to believe I know everything about rugby league) because it invites comment, and I'm here to learn, not teach.

Of course I think I know more than most of you merkins - some posters here are functionally imbecile. But even the dumbest merkin can shed light on an idea (even just by saying it's f**ken bullshit) and therefore help me focus on my own lack of understanding.

Yes, how accurate.

Definitely no poocrap here. :roll:

Paulo definitely touches the ball more than all those other guys. For example, his 26 touches against the Chooks (in 70 minutes) dwarfs Stewarts 37 touches against the Sharks (in 68 minutes).

And as an 'average' Paulo is on 25 touches per game, while Stewart has 29 (discounting the game he played 10 minutes in).

You're basically replicating the same style of crap bartman used to give us. It's fairly boring. Normally I just skip your posts, but since you posted a stupid essay that made no sense, I thought I'd have a crack.

Do you mean Glenn Stewart the edge forward?

I was comparing blokes who play in the middle of the field (and lock scrums ;-)).

But if you must compare, here's their stats:

Paulo: 386 minutes, 151 touches (0.39 touches/minute), 55 runs (0.36 runs/touch)
Stewart: 252 minutes, 98 touches (0.39 touches/minute), 35 runs (0.36 runs/touch)

Identical (to two decimal places) ratios for involvement and the frequency with which they run the ball. However the fact they play different positions (but wear the same jersey number) doesn't exactly make for a useful comparison. Or does it?

Keen to hear your thoughts, or the more likely dismissive bullshit you merkins tend to come up with. I don't mind either way.