Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redcliffe put their hand up

Pippen94

The Crushers weren't a 'big' club.

I mean we are talking about a club that was woefully lacking in start up funds that they were begging the NSWRL for grants to keep their business alive before they had even played a game.

They weren't ready or capable of owning and operating a club, and never should have been given a license in the fist place. In fact pretty much all of the 1995 expansion teams were a f**king shambles that never should have been given licenses, that's why all of the ones that could jumped to SL, the SL money was their only chance to survive.

Big as in trying to capture largest following or appeal to widest catchment. Kinda like your idea of lumping everything south of river together including disparate places like Ipswich, inner city, Logan...

Yes it does say a lot about RL and explains why after 100 years its still only really taken off in two states.

Best keep fingers crossed Brisbane 2 arent sht then otherwise thats $13MILLION a year wasted with no benefit at all. Best hope they are another Melbourne rather than another Gold Coast! Dolphins clearly only make a difference to FTA of A they are winning and B are scheduled on FTA every week and C there is actually interest in Brisbane to follow another club.
News Ltd and the ARLC gave the Storm an extra $100 million over what the other clubs got from 98-18.

That extra $100 million helped the Storm cheat the cap and develop the best coaching and recruitment program the game has ever seen.

The poor old Titans were left to fend for themselves.

Don't forget the onfield leg ups that the NRL give Melbourne every week. Last week they allowed Cam Smith to make a Captain's Challenge about 1 minute after the play had stopped. Everyone else has to ask for it within the first 10 seconds. One of the Storm players went down with a minor cramp so the ref stopped the game. Go back a year and 2 Cowboys players were lying on the ground with serious injuries, one of them had a compound fracture and dislocation of his ankle, and the biased refs allowed the grubby Storm to play an entire set against 11 men, which would have been 2 at marker, 1 at fullback and a 4-4 split on either side of the ruck, so a 1 man advantage on both sides of the ruck. That cheat Cam Munster then took a dive and pretended to be injured on the 5th tackle, so the biased ref awarded the cheat a penalty.

In 2018 Melbourne clearly knock the ball dead over the Cowboys goal line. Instead of awarding a 7 tackle set from the 20m line, the biased ref awarded a goal line drop out. The bunker had plenty of time to overrule, but just on their biased arses and did nothing. Melbourne forced another and scored. They went on to win the game 6-4, courtesy of the biased refs.

In 2016 Melbourne were constantly holding down in the ruck to slow the play the ball in a game against the Cowboys at Lang Park, so the ref did his job for once and penalised them. Cam Smith didn't like it so he abused the ref, yelling at him like a spoilt bratty kid that needs a good boot up the arse. Not only was the little shit not binned for the worst dissent I've ever seen, the ref stopped penalising Melbourne's ruck infringements. Later in the game the little shit failed to get back square at marker, running out from an offside position to deny Thurston a shot at field goal. The ref should have blown a penalty to give Thurston a shot at goal from directly in front for the victory, but let it go because the rules don't apply to Melbourne.

Smith wouldn't have played long back in the 1980s. Some one would have given the cheat a good hiding.

Pippen94

News Ltd and the ARLC gave the Storm an extra $100 million over what the other clubs got from 98-18.

That extra $100 million helped the Storm cheat the cap and develop the best coaching and recruitment program the game has ever seen.

The poor old Titans were left to fend for themselves.

Don't forget the onfield leg ups that the NRL give Melbourne every week. Last week they allowed Cam Smith to make a Captain's Challenge about 1 minute after the play had stopped. Everyone else has to ask for it within the first 10 seconds. One of the Storm players went down with a minor cramp so the ref stopped the game. Go back a year and 2 Cowboys players were lying on the ground with serious injuries, one of them had a compound fracture and dislocation of his ankle, and the biased refs allowed the grubby Storm to play an entire set against 11 men, which would have been 2 at marker, 1 at fullback and a 4-4 split on either side of the ruck, so a 1 man advantage on both sides of the ruck. That cheat Cam Munster then took a dive and pretended to be injured on the 5th tackle, so the biased ref awarded the cheat a penalty.

In 2018 Melbourne clearly knock the ball dead over the Cowboys goal line. Instead of awarding a 7 tackle set from the 20m line, the biased awarded a goal line drop out. The bunker had plenty of time to overrule, but just on their biased arses and did nothing. Melbourne forced another and scored. They went on to win the game 6-4, courtesy of the biased refs.

In 2016 Melbourne were constantly holding down in the ruck to slow the play the ball in a game against the Cowboys at Lang Park, so the ref did his job for once and penalised them. Cam Smith didn't like it so he abused the ref, yelling at him like a spoilt bratty kid that needs a good boot up the arse. Not only was the little shit not binned for the worst dissent I've ever seen, the ref stopped penalising Melbourne's ruck infringements. Later in the game the little shit failed to get back square at marker, running out from an offside position to deny Thurston a shot at field goal. The ref should have blown a penalty to give Thurston a shot st goal from directly in front for the victory, but let it go because the rules don't apply to Melbourne.
Not to mention qld produced players which gave storm it's great success - still does.

Big as in trying to capture largest following or appeal to widest catchment. Kinda like your idea of lumping everything south of river together including disparate places like Ipswich, inner city, Logan...
The southern and eastern suburbs of Brisbane are vastly different to Logan, which is also different to Ipswich. The 3 areas don't view each other as brothers or equals. The hatred for one another can be seen in the comments section of the local papers, where people from the 3 areas regularly take pot shots at one another.

Not to mention qld produced players which gave storm it's great success - still does.
That's right. Without Smith, Cronk, Folau, Slater and Inglis they wouldn't have achieved so much success. Munster is holding their empire together. If he and Smith don't play then Melbourne will probably miss the GF.

The Great Dane

They need to be competitive, no-one is saying they need to win the competition, considering the salary cap is well controlled these days and turn over of players on the market a new club should be able to put together a decent team.
Ok move the goalposts that's fine, but always remember that nobody remembers the runners up.

Now answer the question you've refused to address this whole time-
Why would you knowingly choose to stunt the size of the club's fan base by sticking with a brand that alienates people when you could change the brand to something neutral, keep all those people on board, and still get every single one of the benefits that you've describe?

Seriously, try and think of just one logical justification!
Did you trawl the papers for that. Slow news day, nothing story, it gets shut down straight away. James Brayshaw their president is on Radio MMM and dismisses any stories. As I said I've not seen or heard anything that threatens the club for sometime. I work with North supporters they are happy and most importantly there is no snipping from other supporters unlike rugby league who want a club dead or moved.
What happened to 'zero debate' mate?

The 'debate' that apparently never happens actually happens constantly, and makes the news about every year or so, and has done nonstop since the late 90s.

'No snipping' from other supporters, are you high?
Seriously just look at any space where the AFL is talked about regularly and there's regular talk about the potential of clubs being relocated. Just look at some of these thread titles for example-https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search/2714147/?q=relocation&c[title_only]=1&o=date

The Great Dane

I have never suggested or supported a club that that tries to be everything to everyone. In fact it's one of the reasons why the Redcliffe/Morton Bay/North Brisbane/Sunshine Coast/ 'we'll whore ourselves out to anywhere that might get our name in the papers' Dolphins are such a stupid idea.

A South Brisbane club isn't that, to suggest that it would be is silly and reductive.

I am an RL fan, born and raised in Brisbane. Lived in Brisbane and Logan all my life. I hate the Broncos for what they did to the BRL and their role in Super League. I am the sort of person that is desperate for a 2nd Brisbane team to come along so I can have a local team that I can proudly support. When I say I won't support the generic 'neutral brand' crap that PR, TGD and mongoose are pushing for, I actually mean it. When I say I will only support a fair dinkum local brand that represents the culture and history of RL in Brisbane, I actually mean it. Neither PR, TGD nor mongoose will ever support Brisbane 2, regardless of what it's called. I'm convinced they're trying to sabotage Brisbane 2, probably because they see it as a threat to Perth and Adelaide.

mongoose

I am an RL fan, born and raised in Brisbane. Lived in Brisbane and Logan all my life. I hate the Broncos for what they did to the BRL and their role in Super League. I am the sort of person that is desperate for a 2nd Brisbane team to come along so I can have a local team that I can proudly support. When I say I won't support the generic 'neutral brand' crap that PR, TGD and mongoose are pushing for, I actually mean it. When I say I will only support a fair dinkum local brand that represents the culture and history of RL in Brisbane, I actually mean it. Neither PR, TGD nor mongoose will ever support Brisbane 2, regardless of what it's called. I'm convinced they're trying to sabotage Brisbane 2, probably because they see it as a threat to Perth and Adelaide.

Are you saying you will support Redcliffe Dolphins being a proud Logan resident? cause if the Dolphins are the next team then there ain't going to be any more Brisbane teams for another decade at the very least! No Logan, no Ipswich, no Firehawks....
Yes, I will. The Dolphins are the pin up club of the Queensland Cup. I cannot think of a better team to represent the storied history of RL in Brisbane. I will continue to be a Cowboys fan and member, but I will also be a Dolphins season ticketed holder.

I just hope Logan gets a team of its own in the Queensland Cup. Hopefully a reformed Scorpions. That will be enough to keep me happy.

I am not sold on the Firehawks brand. It sounds shit and has no relevance to the East Tigers' history. Easts Mt Gravatt have a bird in their emblem, but it's not a firehawk. I've never really cared for Easts, despite growing up in their catchment area.

LeagueXIII

Ok move the goalposts that's fine, but always remember that nobody remembers the runners up.

Now answer the question you've refused to address this whole time-
Why would you knowingly choose to stunt the size of the club's fan base by sticking with a brand that alienates people when you could change the brand to something neutral, keep all those people on board, and still get every single one of the benefits that you've describe?

Seriously, try and think of just one logical justification!

What happened to 'zero debate' mate?

The 'debate' that apparently never happens actually happens constantly, and makes the news about every year or so, and has done nonstop since the late 90s.

'No snipping' from other supporters, are you high?
Seriously just look at any space where the AFL is talked about regularly and there's regular talk about the potential of clubs being relocated. Just look at some of these thread titles for example-https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/search/2714147/?q=relocation&c[title_only]=1&o=date
No not moving the goalposts....they need to be successful meaning competitive...they don't have to win the premiership...I never said that.

Ad for north...I stick by what I said...ok don't go on big footy...I mix with people and get info from the media.
In my opinion there is zero debate on north moving....if it's a slow news day from 7 myths ago the president of north shuts it down on his radio show no debate entered...story killed.

Afl is very stable and has a plan.

LeagueXIII

Would Redcliffe be Brisbanes version of Penrith....should the Panthers change their name to expand their brand appeal blah blah....enter marketing key words where appropriate.

Jimmy Wiggle

Out of curiosity, what junior club have you been involved with? I ask this because if you had been associated at higher level you would hate Redcliffe like the rest of the old BRL comp. everyone I know wouldn’t support anything from those ferals.

Would Redcliffe be Brisbanes version of Penrith....should the Panthers change their name to expand their brand appeal blah blah....enter marketing key words where appropriate.

more like manly, and there is a pretty strong argument for manly to rebrand to appeal to the whole northern sydney region rather than the pathetically small fanbase they currently have.

Out of curiosity, what junior club have you been involved with? I ask this because if you had been associated at higher level you would hate Redcliffe like the rest of the old BRL comp. everyone I know wouldn’t support anything from those ferals.
Logan Scorpions is and always will be my favourite club, even though they were forced to fold at the end of 2002 by the Logan City Council. The lease they signed with the LCC in 88 was very expensive, more than every other sports club in the city combined. It sunk the club.

Since then I have adopted Wynnum Manly as my club. My dad supported them and he grew up in the area.

I have fond memories of Redcliffe's superstar team from the 90s/00s. I won't support them at Queensland Cup level, but am happy to tag along at NRL level. If they're flying the flag for the BRL then they're worthy of my support.

I would prefer it if a few BRL clubs merged to form a super club. Easts and Wynnum could combine to become the East Coast Seagulls. I would absolutely love a club like that. Norths and Wests could combine to become the Brisbane Devils, red and black colours of Wests. But it will never happen.

taipan

Yes it does say a lot about RL and explains why after 100 years its still only really taken off in two states.

Best keep fingers crossed Brisbane 2 arent sht then otherwise thats $13MILLION a year wasted with no benefit at all. Best hope they are another Melbourne rather than another Gold Coast! Dolphins clearly only make a difference to FTA of A they are winning and B are scheduled on FTA every week and C there is actually interest in Brisbane to follow another club.

You can argue the point any way you wish.
Says little about AFL which has been around longer than rugby league in this country,yet hasn't been able to break its island shackles.

And it RL hasn't taken off in Victoria despite the Storm, which is not a good look for NRL expansion, based on your premise.And having News put many millions into them, and still awaiting a gaggle of locals making 1st grade.

I am for expansion, but Qld has to be next and non heartland expansion has to show they have the financials.junior growth and Tv potential (based on current ratings).The code cannot afford to waste money from now on, and that includes bailouts and uneconomic expansionism.

If there's a club worthy of being admitted into the NRL, it's the Redcliffe Dolphins.

And if disagree, perhaps this picture of Japanese Pop Star Sakura Miyawaki will convince you otherwise.

You're welcome.

tumblr_pwcrtd2Y3p1v1tc0fo2_1280.jpg

mongoose

I'm not totally against the Dolphins, i just have some questions...

Aesthetically they are an appealing brand and they have historical ties to Brisbane.
They appear to have strong financials

My questions are that:
Will people from other areas of Brisbane support them, particularly south of the river?
Do we want people Brisbane and south east QLD wide supporting them? I would think yes

How many games do they plan to play at Redcliffe?
It's a long trip to Redcliffe from most areas of Brisbane. If you are driving from south of the river then you most likely have to use a toll road. Redcliffe does have a train station (Kippa Ring) but its an hour trip from the CBD.
You are potentially restricting your fanbase to the peninsula area and suburbs in the north east, is this a smart move?

They appear to have strong financials but are we entering another team that relies heavily on Leagues club pokie machine money?