Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Buhrer may be selected for Origin should give NSW supporters some hope finally. All to do with attitude,
talent is just a by-product. Imo Hayne, Jennings, Farrar or Marshall if he were eligible are a few standout
examples that are not Origin material.

Origin don't forget is not as much in favour of Qld as people imagine. Even though it is thought Qld can
step up a gear the fact remains there have been only a few points separating the sides. The difference is attitude.
Harrison is a prime example for Qld.

Dale Shearer, the late Peter Jackson, Wayne Pearce, Gilmeister and so on could all be relied upon in
Origin games. Players have to do more than replicate club form they have to step up to an intensity that
could never be maintained over 26 rounds. There is no place for a player to hide for a minute, shirk
responsibility, be slack in defence or be a turnstyle.

Origin is about taking the ball to the line and before giving a player an Origin jersey you have to ask
yourself will that player never hesitate to take on the line and will he survive doing it for 80 minutes.

Penrose Warrior

Can't help it if you've had a sheltered life but you are lucky to not have seen some of the things I've seen.
Entirely my fault that I've been in places to see such things but it does give me an insight into what is or is
not insignificant on the list of abhorrent behaviour.

Of course they did him a favour. He clearly had passed his used by date in Australia long before his minor
indescretion and he was clearly sliding out backwards. After his refurbishing in England there might even
be a season here left in him for a decent coach, say Flanagan

Hahaha I still couldn't let this lie. I have lived a sheltered life because I haven't been to a function where someone let a dog lick their genitals. Well, I'm comfortable with that.

Forget whatever you've had to live with or what has become normal to you. That is abhorrent behaviour, significant and completely unnatural/normal/acceptable.

POPEYE

Hahaha I still couldn't let this lie. I have lived a sheltered life because I haven't been to a function where someone let a dog lick their genitals. Well, I'm comfortable with that.

Forget whatever you've had to live with or what has become normal to you. That is abhorrent behaviour, significant and completely unnatural/normal/acceptable.

Of course it's not acceptable. No more than a cop chasing a stolen car which runs over a mother and baby
on a pedestrian crossing. If the driver had of been caught before he killed someone the cops could sleep
easy and the driver a slap on the wrist.

All about degrees which my sarcastic rendition of a totally harmless mistake that many youngbloods make
when in the company of people they know and trust. I've seen everything from the very good to the very bad
and what you are poncing on about is insignificant in the scheme of things. Monaghan's punishment was hardly
the slap on the wrist it deserved.

POPEYE

Neilsen leaving the Storm will undoubtedly get some beat up but in reality it is just the supercoach at work.
Dane has obviously earned 'show me the money' and Bellamy has restraints under the cap. More to the point
there are other players at Melbourne who have also earned what they trusted was told them to come to fruition.

Can't make a culture that rewards endeavour lose momentum by holding on to players who have done what's
been asked and have a future to think about. Every club needs to have a policy that encourages players to want
to join and only by considering their welfare through the whole process will 'cult' endure.

Players like Sica Manu, Blair and Neilsen may have become superfluous but never throwaways. Bellamy has never
let a player go that he couldn't do without but at the same time he would hate the thought of losing a player before
he had a chance to practice his magic. I have no doubt he could reproduce another big three if he had to.

A club such as Parramatta have no excuse for not emulating the Storm. Patience is all that's required

POPEYE

More than likely Storm and Broncos will spend the rest of the season deciding who finishes the best of '12
but once that's done and dusted how good would it be to see the Sharks and Rabbitohs play in the mardis
gras final. Fantasic game tonight and a shame Gallen wasn't 100%.

Imo Cecchin had a good game and he didn't want to report two players but had no choice. Makes you
wonder who's in control of the game. You could lay Luke down, stick a corrugated tube in an ear and call
him Dyson. Cecchin did the right thing in penalysing him for affray . . . could have lost them the game.

I reckon Sandow heard a whisper from England that he should take the Eels offer. Reynolds twice as good
and listens. Wish I was as fat as Inglis all you Lolly boys. What can you say about Carney. Some trivial
pursuit . . . what do Carney and Jamie Lyon, the most notable of many, have in common.

Cloudsurfer

I have taken your invitation seriously about debating your point of view but I'm finding it really hard to f***ing disagree...c'mon, give us something outrageous to work with, dammit!

Hutty1986

Buhrer may be selected for Origin should give NSW supporters some hope finally. All to do with attitude,
talent is just a by-product. Imo Hayne, Jennings, Farrar or Marshall if he were eligible are a few standout
examples that are not Origin material.

Origin don't forget is not as much in favour of Qld as people imagine. Even though it is thought Qld can
step up a gear the fact remains there have been only a few points separating the sides. The difference is attitude.
Harrison is a prime example for Qld.

Dale Shearer, the late Peter Jackson, Wayne Pearce, Gilmeister and so on could all be relied upon in
Origin games. Players have to do more than replicate club form they have to step up to an intensity that
could never be maintained over 26 rounds. There is no place for a player to hide for a minute, shirk
responsibility, be slack in defence or be a turnstyle.

Origin is about taking the ball to the line and before giving a player an Origin jersey you have to ask
yourself will that player never hesitate to take on the line and will he survive doing it for 80 minutes.

Well said poppos

POPEYE

I have taken your invitation seriously about debating your point of view but I'm finding it really hard to f***ing disagree...c'mon, give us something outrageous to work with, dammit!

Hmmm . . . If you ever go pighunting and you've put in the hundreds of hours it takes to train your dogs not to even
raise a hair near any other animal than a feral pig there can still sometimes be a problem if two males come together.
If they latch on to one another and you see vet bills flashing in front of your eyes there is only one thing you can do.

Presuming you're left handed, you grab the tail of the winning protagonist with your left hand and lift him off the ground.
You insert your right thumb as deep in his arse as it will go, make sure his nuts are resting in the palm of your hand and
squeeze with the remaining four fingers. He will let go and you push the other one off with your right foot.

If you think I'm taking the piss you don't know me

POPEYE

Had a heated discussion a couple of years ago about James Graham walking into the Q SOO team before even playing NRL.
Having now seen him in the cauldron I'm convinced he is an NRL player but still would never make Origin . . . in Q that is.

One player that would 'walk into' the Q team is Jeremy Smith. He has Origin oozing from ever pore and after watching
him stepping up from 100 to 110 last night after Gallen went it is a damn shame this bloke will never be sent to the front.

Another is Jason Nightingale. If winning is about desire you need look no further. You would have to lasoo him in the 81st minute
if he was in a Q jersey. Strangely reminiscent of Kerry Boustead, a bloke who walking down a street was completely innocuous.

Hutty1986

Had a heated discussion a couple of years ago about James Graham walking into the Q SOO team before even playing NRL.
Having now seen him in the cauldron I'm convinced he is an NRL player but still would never make Origin . . . in Q that is.

One player that would 'walk into' the Q team is Jeremy Smith. He has Origin oozing from ever pore and after watching
him stepping up from 100 to 110 last night after Gallen went it is a damn shame this bloke will never be sent to the front.

Another is Jason Nightingale. If winning is about desire you need look no further. You would have to lasoo him in the 81st minute
if he was in a Q jersey. Strangely reminiscent of Kerry Boustead, a bloke who walking down a street was completely innocuous.

You'd never see Nightingale in that dog-sh*t qlderp jersey

POPEYE

I've always considered religion as the root of all evil. How else would the greatest bludger in history
have a city of his own and f**ked if I know what you're going to do with 7 virgins, or is it 9, if you
blow off your genitalia. I am however slowly being converted to belief of a Footy God and She works in
mysterious ways.

She has kept together 3 great players in a pilgrimage to spread the word of the greatest game of all in
a land of heathens. The scriptures also condone the use of drugs in a bid at immortality and for the
time being She allows taking from the industrious to feed the incompetent. There are however some
great miracles being worked.

The best forward in the game has somehow been retained in a place where the poor gather and finally
a disciple has come to his aid and through his teachings attracted another wandering soul who has added
a further touch of greatness. As a result a team worthy of blessing has evolved.

Another disciple was despatched to allow the freeing of the second best fullback on the planet and save
him from being derailed by a coal train. A man with funny hair was brought back for inspiration and was
found to have more to offer.

With a heaven there is unfortunately a hell and if it must be so better to gather all the underachievers
in this one place. A centre from the base of the mountains, a five eight about as effective as his
striped counterpart in Winnie the Poo and his hooker partner . . .all should join a fullback who thinks
he's a fighter jet but lacks ammunition and a halfback who's been shown the money too early. Bring
back the coach to this place who knows better than any other to fail in the recognition of talent.

Yes, everything's turning rosy in the gardens where a disciple has a green thumb

POPEYE

Poppos, can Melbourne be stopped this season?

Of course they can, and a lot more likely than people expect. The Warriors will beat Melbourne any time they bring their A game.
If other teams tried to emulate the Warriors they could also beat Melbourne. It's just instinctive the way the NZ team play and that's
what the Storm have trouble with. Other teams may have to practice the same in-your-face style but if they want to beat Melbourne it's the only way.

Jeff Fenech once fought the great Azumah Nelson and was clearly robbed. Forget Nelson was getting old or that he had a family
crisis leading up to the fight, he was still laybacked about the result win or lose. Azumah knew he would win the rematch because
no fighter ever beat him twice when he took the game seriously.

If the 'grand' final mardis gras was to be taken seriously as is SOO forget the best 8 and make it the top 2 best out of three.
No team imo will beat the Storm 2 out of 3 and if they made such a gf series put down the glasses. Anyway, my point is any
team can beat the Storm if they can muster an A game on the day but the Storm will bring an A game 8 out of 10.

Seriously, if the Storm had a forward pack anywhere near as good as the Broncos, Warriors, Manly, Cowboys or Raiders the
mind boggles. To beat the Storm the first half is the key. A team must run over their forwards and make them play serious
catch-up in the second half.

The Storm's secret is not the big 3 or that the rest of the backline is better as a combination than any other team but that Bellamy
makes do with forwards who are giving 100% and have nothing left in the tank. All the opposition has to do is get that sort of
dedication from their forwards

POPEYE

Watched Fox footy tonight and the more Johns realises he is not the main man the better the show is
getting. You know Inglis thinks deeply about the game but putting it into words for him is a chore,
probably why he let's his game do the talking.

Always thought MG was like that, reasonable football IQ but his brain to mouth co-ordination is poor.
Must admit I was rocked with his selection of Tongue as the best player to never play Origin. Sure, you
need attitude but some other talent is necessary. Balin impressed more in one attempt than Dopey
Daley has so far accumulated in years . . . would listen to him analysing a game if he decided to try
the media.

POPEYE

Every time I venture outside this thread I come back all serious and want to punch somebody.
Still some out there who haven't got over the Storm in a teacup. Main protagonists seem to be Manly supporters.

Ironic that supporters of a club who based it's whole existence on actually cheating, not just a euphemism,
and contributed nothing to the game of League before coach Hasler, should be waving the flag against Melbourne.
Sure, they'll tell you everything they did was within the rules. Westpac will tell you the same.

Manly almost single handedly destroyed the fortunes of Norths, Wests, Easts and Souths for more than a decade.
The rule of adhering to common decency never entered their mind and their management actually ran the game.
Not one of their premierships or minor premierships before the last two were deserved or are they worth a pint of cold piss.

A court of law could never prove Melbourne's players would have actually left the club if they weren't paid overs.
If the Storm really wanted to cheat they simply would make their players feign injury and not play in SOO. If the players cracked
up about that Bellamy could make his key players alternate playing only 40 minutes a game after Origin until the mardis gras.
Who cares, they need only make the 8. How many players from last year's 'grand' final played SOO

POPEYE

For what it's worth here's my Blues SOO team:
1. B. Stewart
2. N. Merritt
3. M. King
4. C. Lawrence
5. A. Uate
6. T. Carney
7. M. Pearce
8. A. Woods
9. G. Stewart
10. J. Tamou
11. L. Lewis
12. T. Sims
13. P. Gallen

14. R. Hinchcliffe
15. T. Williams
16. K. Galloway
17. T. Learoyd-Lars

All a hooker is nowdays is a lock forward with great ball skills and Stewart fits the bill

POPEYE

A big weekend coming up with matchups that will give a the best insight to the season so far.
Usual Friday night at the corral will see if Manly can get it up against a Shield favourite instead of a wannabe.

Dogs and Titans is important for both because one wants to portray itself as the real deal and the other
on a road to redemption. Not worth wasting any hard earned on but Titans won't lay down . . . I hope

Across the detch we have the team with the greatest potential at home against one that celebrates every win
as though it were leading the comp. Be interesting to know how much Jason has had to do with coaching this side
. . . would hate to give any kudos to the man aptly initialled BS

Men on Shetlands against the boys on quarter horses should be interesting. Looks to be one game of two where
the result is a foregone conclusion. Never know, Hunter Stadium might do some of the work

Raiders at home on paper will see the Eels again going back to the boardroom and again we'll have to put up with
back page journalistic bottom feeders dribbling over each other

No Gallen no chance at AAMI but at Toyota a maybe. If he plays could be even money but is it worth the risk.
No team going well should worry about showing it's cards to one of the two likely Shield winners. More of a game of cat and mouse this one

Panthers/Dragons will be interesting in as much as how well both teams can overcome their little faux pas.
Price the difference here. He will have no trouble with his team's mindset this year . . . have to wait and see about their talent