Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Tele has Kent again pushing a barrow with a flat tyre. Something which he thinks will keep pressure on
Gallen enough to remind him he's got a game tonight . . . not worth reading I imagine so I didn't.
Creepy Crawley tells us players are bigger than in '85 and spent all night making a list to prove Red
Bull does more for you than Coke ever could. Should we tell him players are much faster as well and
that brain size in humans has increased . . . something he refuses to believe.

Reading the Telegraph is like mowing around dogshit but Rothfield seems proud to announce something
we all know but like to disregard. Why he would want to display a picture elaborating on the fact that
Stuart is only the vendor and without the right growers and middlemen the product would go rotten on
the shelves is beyond me. Maybe he stiil blames Ricky for Cronulla taking this long to produce

AlwaysGreen

Each time I open LU it's just like walking down to the front gate and clicking on this thread
is similar to opening the letterbox. When I see your avatar I picture an envelope with a
window on it . . . the first word that comes to mind is 'f**k'.

Fork? Fink? Funk?

You're a coach lover popodopolous. What's your thoughts on Mal Meninga?, keeping in mind he was as rooted as you when at Canberra.

POPEYE

Fork? Fink? Funk?

You're a coach lover popodopolous. What's your thoughts on Mal Meninga?, keeping in mind he was as rooted as you when at Canberra.

Too easy as usual. To save you laying awake all night I could write you some material, for a small fee,
that may out do myself. You're utterings are like a fat lady in loetards who asks her friend 'how do I look'.
My missus was watching Kenny Chesney and Tim McGraw singing on 'ellen' and I immediately thought to
myself if these no talent wankers can sell 70 milliion albums there's hope for AG and NSW

My apology . . . Meninga was a better player than Stuart so he has to be a worse coach, which he is, but like
me he works with far better material

AlwaysGreen

Too easy as usual. To save you laying awake all night I could write you some material, for a small fee,

My missus was watching Kenny Chesney and Tim McGraw singing on 'ellen' and I immediately thought to
myself if these no talent wankers can sell 70 milliion albums there's hope for AG and NSW

So simple. Looks like you're thinking of me more than I am of you.

My apology . . . Meninga was a better player than Stuart so he has to be a worse coach, which he is, but like
me he works with far better material

So by your reckoning your love interest Cam Smith would be a worse coach then Glenn Buttriss.

Thanks for your time big guy.

POPEYE

Sorry old mate, you'll never need a restraining order against me. Why do you look for me anyway,
you're not one of those kinky blokes that likes to be whipped are you.

Sorry again, you have trouble keeping me interested and I almost missed the last bit. Have you seen
Buttriss coach and if so is he any good. He would have to be better than Wally Lewis

POPEYE

I'm about to watch game 3 for the third time as I always do, especially as it was a win win for me.
Q won but NSW did enough for people to get off their backs. The Williams experiment was a fizzer
and I expect NSW's version of Alfie, Adam Reynolds, to naturally progress into the team for next year.
Other than that all Stuart has to do is get permission for regular training sessions before then.

I was looking for the NSW journos to be up in arms about the disrespect the players received after the game.
Suppose not much has been said because the wankers are responsible for creating the animosity in the first place.
I thought it pisspoor to be honest and Gallen's mob didn't deserve that.

Not much else to kick around this early in the morning after an Origin . . . oh hang on, what about yet
another escapee from the Brian Smith Too Hard Basket being Man of the Series. Nothing unusual I hear you say

POPEYE

Talk the other day about Kiwis in Origin made me ponder about how the game's turning. We all know
that as a group the most naturally gifted League players are the Australian Indigenous. They however
see League as nothing more than a game, far less important than social interaction, which means
many find it difficult to maintain the attention span necessary.

Watching the Parramatta U/20's last week it was noticeable how few pointed noses and lillywhite skins
there were in the side. Polynesians are always bigger, faster and stronger as a rule at junior levels
than Caucasians and to be picked in front of them white fellas need to be exceptional players.
The larger the influx of people with Polynesian heritage the less we'll see of less physically adept fair
skinned youngsters willing to run the gauntlet.

As time passes it won't matter whether they play for their ancestral country or States of Australia, we
are going to see more and more players of Polynesian descent in Origin. It's all a matter of opportunity
in the long run and what interests youngsters the most.

POPEYE

You can learn as much from a taxi driver as you can a League journo but not everyone with a flat arse likes
driving so there's a place for them . . . not sure if it's on a footy show though. Dean Richie, who has a face
like a cow patty, was made look even sillier by Gallen who like any player refused to be drawn into degradation of his fellows.

Then we had Kent on Fox pretending to be an advocate for acceptance that Q are the rightful champion of Origin.
He got his balls in a twist when a planned expose' of Nate Myles driving into tackles with his head went pear shaped
and everyone dismissed his architecture as non-structural.

I'm sure we all know Beau Scott's 180 degree leg pulls in every tackle weren't meant to cause serious injury either.
Maybe Myles was getting in first before the onslaught of brutality that Andy Johns and Fittler promised.
Neither by the way could fight their way out of a wet paper bag.

POPEYE

Good old Margie for the Australian leads off reminding us that Myles not only shat on NSW before she
goes on to praise the bloke. I'd like to fill her full of baked beans and lock her in a bedroom.

Appears Hayne hurt himself in the warmup but held on bravely until the last minute of the game.
Bravery sorts the men from the boys I always say. Speaking of wingers, pity there's a limit to how
many Indigenous players are allowed in Origin . . . maybe when one of Inglis, Thurston or Thaiday
retire, Merritt will get a go.

Jabba has an arm's length column in the Herald basically arse licking and reminding everyone in his
own subtle way that he was the most successful coach in Origin before Wednesday night. Says he has
a better remedy for the blues than Eric Clapton. Maybe he's stumbled on to how to win with an
underdog . . . something he never had to do. It is a good read if you love the obvious.

POPEYE

Just as it took a journo to light a fire under Ricky after he reneged on accepting the Inglis try as a try
we now have Webster not to be outdone by claiming Stuart is about to have a firey encounter with
Harrigan over game 3. There was no sign of anything but resignation of shit happens from Ricky so far.
Maybe someone should tell Andy histrionics only work before the series is decided.

Seems Ritchie spent hours compiling a photographic record of bad boy Cam Smith that will look nice
beside his 'next immortal' label by Matty Johns. Dean looks to be the favourite in the F**kwit Stakes
at Randwick. Maybe he prefers his hookers throwing their hands in the air and forgetting to tackle at all.

If you like a giggle without alcohol Rothfield's Rubbish is worth a read. He says they need to drop
the only man who made Q look silly and rewarded his team with 6 points because he couldn't make
ground on kick returns against the best defence there is. If the little Stewart had the bigger Stewart
to run off I'm positive the game would have ended differently.

We also hear how Tate was nasty to Greg Bird with a 'big' punch that didn't leave a mark. Easy to
discard the fact that a Blue front rower hit Tate with a hard wrist to the nose in the initial tackle contact
and Brent was going to get retribution somehow. I saw a movie where real people stayed at home and
robot clones went to work in their place. Maybe players should stay at home and journos play the game for them.

POPEYE

You're a controversial man pops. Converted back to NSW yet?

Funny you should say that. I told my missus I hoped the Blues would win because I wanted NSW
heirarchy to realise that practice is better than change. She gave me the look and said 'sure you do'.
When Cronk kicked the point I yelled 'yes' and she smiled and said 'you're full of shit', as she often does.

I told her it didn't matter who won because if Farrar hadn't of dropped the ball NSW would've kicked the
field goal so everyone knew the teams were equal and . . . no, I'm afraid I'll never go back to the dark side Hut

POPEYE

Picture this scenario . . . a ball is rolling in the Storm ingoal and it may be covered but there is an
opposition player steaming onto it. Slater can't get to the ball so he shoulder charges the bloke to the
ground just in case. Imagine the headlines from the outdoor dunny arsewipes the next day. The same
performance from Barba Doll & The Boughtdogs and you could hear a sparrow fart. Flavour of the
month is a wondrous thing.

Player X says use of Stilnox is necessary because Red Bull is necessary. I take medication to stay alive,
not be alive, so I asked my chemist to become immortal did I need a prescription. He said 'No, but you
need a subscription . . . preferably to RLW'.

There's enough League journos to start a League franchise . . . if only they knew how to play the
game. Yet another one praises Adam Reynolds in his charge to be top point scorer. I can picture the
NSW halves next year reading 'Reynolds & Reynolds'. Adam's got the talent and Josh is learning it.
Both have the necessary go-forward and killer instinct.

POPEYE

I'm bias towards real coaches so I reckon Bellamy in the Australian is a good read. There's also the
predictable article about BB's chances of playing Origin after every Doggie Do. He'll have to learn to
tackle, kick and catch a high ball before he matches Bowen who can't get a run. Then again, he
doesn't have a growing bald spot.

Herald has denial of Farrar being at risk by not replacing him in game 3. Wonder what changed
between then and last night. Maybe Robbie would be better at #6 and find a toughguy for 9.

Moltzen stays for 3 more years is fair enough but that's not the problem, it's all the pissfarting around.
Beau Ryan is the court jester and only good for morale one minute and a saviour the next. Loose
canon Benjii finding a spot where he can cause less trouble than he's worth. Moltzen going through
menopause and Farrar finally becoming a great. Could never accuse Sheens of being a speed freak.

POPEYE

Well, all the foreplay of the League season is over and as we get nearer the vinegar stroke one
common denominator is becoming obvious. The supercoaches, either real or predicted, have their
teams where they should be.

Bellamy still leading the way at the behest of the best spine in the game and Hasler with the best
forwards a close second. Put a mask on these two and it would be hard to tell who is who. Certainly
the mannerisms in the coach's box wouldn't be a give up. Either of these blokes would have any of the
leading 9 teams at one or two.

Probably the best performed coach of the year is Flanagan considering what he's got to work with.
He has only one player that all the others would cheat the cap for and still he's running a strong equal
third with Griffin, who can't be separated from Bellamy or Hasler as a coach. If the Broncos all
become tame enough to put a saddle on there could be mardis gras glory even in this year.

Maguire has everything, he's just got to get past the Rabbitoh's fear of success. Great forwards, more
than competent backs and a potentially brilliant link man. Cohesian is all that is necessary. Again, give
this bloke either of the top two teams and they stay where they are.

Ironically, the most feared team in the comp at this time of the year is guided by a man who few have
a clue as to his credentials. If Toovey grabs the cup he has to be right behind Flanagan as coach of
the year. If Bellamy produces, Hasler procures and refines, surely Toovey must be credited with the best
dogged perseverance.

POPEYE

To have Melbourne win tonight without the two best players on the planet would have been tantamount
to the Doggies winning without Kasiano and Pritchard. Even more meaningful for the Raiders is that they
can do without Dugan and Campese. Canberra and Furner have to move on from waiting for absentees.

In order to keep his big three proteges Bellamy has to make do with the rest of the team. Can you imagine
asking Hasler to be content with Ryles and Norrie. Anyway, beside the point, Canberra should finally realise
that the difference between teams is not insurmountable. Dugan especially should be regarded as a part time
player that may add a little cream on top but never an integral part of the team.

The Raiders are just shy of a playmaker and for them to win against a team who is shy of their best two should
be enough to convince them to get on with what's available.