Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

It's Sunday so the rubbish collectors won't be at their best until tomorrow but it is pleasant to see the once
upon a time fish and chip wrappers going easy on Melbourne and the Titans. Excuses can be offered up for
both teams but it's the Titans everyone with a conscience should be disgusted for.

On one hand we have the Storm who were woeful but most importantly on the other hand the Raiders
who were terrific. Not terrific because they beat Melbourne at home but because they put two great
wins back to back. Furner has to give these blokes starting jumpers until they fail and anyone
returning from injury should come off the bench.

It is disgusting that a team like the Titans who have had to fight through so much off field rubbish should
have to suffer because of Origin. When the Dogs can cruise through Origin and be touted as worldbeaters
and little accolades given to the GC it is a shit set of circumstances. League is little more than a circus when
the Warriors who are never affected by Origin can claim to have marched into the 8 by beating the Titans.

Again, real supporters should just enjoy each week as it comes, forget what the League laughingly call
the ladder and the pot of fool's gold at the top. Is it any wonder in this game that there are the players
in one corner and everyone else in the other.

Packy

I dont know if you actually watch footy or just read the papers, but since last year Ben Barba has learned how to catch, and kicking (to an extent) has always been in his arsenal.

POPEYE

I'm afraid I watch far too much footy . . . usually every game twice. I do agree with you however that
Barba can catch, kick and even tackle. Most League players do those things better than the man on the
street. Fortunately for Ben his elusiveness keeps him out of park footy but unfortunately the rest of his
arsenal consists of popguns.

POPEYE

Just as a matter of interest it was again embarassingly noticeable that Hagan is the Q tactical coach
and after the game starts Meninga's job is done. Understandable when you study Mal's pathetic
coaching efforts in the past. Ricky's coaching has never been quite as bad as Mal's but for him to
stand on the sideline and forego the opportunity to have someone knowledgeable advising him is
just pure grandstanding.

We saw Alfie and Trev alternating as Hagan's middleman even to the extent of blocking the ref's view
on occasion. How trainers are allowed to get away with jockeying their players is beyond me. Gallen
on Ten's footy show was asked what Ricky came up with at half time. Paul revealed that naturally there
were no second half game plans, just the usual primary school gee up.

Where I'm going with this is there a law that says Ricky can't pass a ten minute questionaire and
actually take the place of one of his trainers. Imagine being able to be there at the coalface so his
team doesn't forget why they're there. Another interesting facet to trainers directing traffic is that the
more possession a team has the more there's 14 against 13

AlwaysGreen

Geez pops no one has ever had these thoughts before. You're about 50 years behind the times poopdeck.

So simple. Too easy. Very uncomplicated.

POPEYE

Geez pops no one has ever had these thoughts before. You're about 50 years behind the times poopdeck.

So simple. Too easy. Very uncomplicated.

Sometimes no matter how many times you flush there's that one that floats to the top.
If you already know so much why do you bother reading my posts.

AlwaysGreen

Sometimes no matter how many times you flush there's that one that floats to the top.
If you already know so much why do you bother reading my posts.

Because its a riveting :roll: exposé of the mind of a narcissistic wannabe. But don't flatter yourself ole mate, I only had a read today because I'm out of magic mushrooms. Keep it up though, as you say it prevents you from stinking every other thread.

Plus I love you in a deeply sexual way.

POPEYE

Because its a riveting :roll: exposé of the mind of a narcissistic wannabe. But don't flatter yourself ole mate, I only had a read today because I'm out of magic mushrooms. Keep it up though, as you say it prevents you from stinking every other thread.

Plus I love you in a deeply sexual way.

Always green doesn't mean you're always jealous does it

POPEYE

I hope not many of you good folk take what I write as seriously as some of the rednecks. At my age
everything is either a chore or a hobby. I write things for many reasons and sometimes I even don't
agree with what I write. It's just word games to me and something to occupy my time and it's up to
you to decipher when I'm serious or not.

Couple of posts ago I said Ben Barba was little better than a park footballer. We know that's bullshit
but I'm just preparing for those who will inevitably say that he's as good as Slater which will also be
bullshit. Keep my signature in mind always

POPEYE

It's a crime that one club players like Luke Lewis should cost anything in the salary cap after ten years.
It's reprehensible that a use-by date should have to come into consideration when working out
available money. Luke's never been the sharpest tool in the shed so fair enough if he's rocking the new
coach's boat, but that should be the only reason to such a disappointment for supporters.

'Rampaging Rabbits' is an apt description. Half the team could play in the front row and their little men
are just as devastating. Still a nagging vibe about their attention span though. I was more impressed
with the Knights believe it or not. The vibes from Newcastle are all positive even though it may be a little late.

Kent is grandstanding about Manly not going on with it in the second half against the Eels. We all know
Manly are the most adept at finishing strongly if the need is there. No team ever believes the Seagles
are beaten so why believe a journo when he says Toovey should be worried.

Already we are hearing the bleating about Sydney having to host 2 origin games. What Bullshit. This
year's series was probably the most memorable and maybe League found many converts to the game.
Playing a game in Melbourne was not the failure people with a hand over one eye bargained for.

Big Tim

'Rampaging Rabbits' is an apt description. Half the team could play in the front row and their little men
are just as devastating. Still a nagging vibe about their attention span though. I was more impressed
with the Knights believe it or not. The vibes from Newcastle are all positive even though it may be a little late.

Hopefully this paragraph isnt tongue in cheek, as I completely agree with it.

POPEYE

Usually only the most outrageous statements are tongue in cheek although there is some belief in
everything anyone says. Imagine my hero Billy Connolly without talent and money and that's me

POPEYE

A lot is/will be said about Luke Lewis in the coming days but imo he should go to England. At his best in
the early years he was injury prone and there's no need for him to be bashed into submission when
he has nothing to prove. Not always suited for 80 minutes in Australia he could find the fountain of
youth with the Poms.

Interesting that the Sharks managed a draw against the Roosters with a team that could have stepped
back in time. What is there to say about a team on paper that should be ten rungs higher but is guided
by a chimp afraid of heights.

Penrith clearing the decks for Thurston we hear. Considering the Panthers haven't had a footy brain on
the field since before Elliott it might be too big a shock to the system. With all the contacts Cleary has
across the detch blooding a few Hurrell and Johnson clones would have been the go. Hell of a lot
cheaper than Thurston.

SBW has to honour his handshake with Nick and of course that's the right thing to do. Apparently Politis
likes to shake hands with people that are detrimental and turn his back on reality. Pity Roosters have
to be content with 3m by 3m . . . imagine such a powerful bird getting off the ground.

POPEYE

Most journos have missed their calling . . . then who wants to be a rocket scientist when you can get
paid for stating the obvious. Without Greg Pritchard we would never know that Melbourne is vulnerable
without it's superstars. One in particular, the same one missing in the 2008 mardis gras final, is all it
takes to bring the motley crew back to earth. Trying to think of other teams that can perform with a
severed vertebrae . . . none come to mind.

Myles in danger of hurting himself with his head down charges into tackles says a doctor. When Nate
combs his hair each morning maybe he's convinced that built-in helmut he sees will save him

POPEYE

Oh, before I go, imo all tries where the ball is carried across the goal line should be worth 6 points
instead of 4 and all video replays should be limited to real time.

Can I feel a nibble

POPEYE

Golden point was only ever an innovation to overload the xmas tree with ornaments, just as is the 'top
8' when 5 is a hundred times more realistic, or 'immortals' to keep the League religious horde
interested. Rugby League long ago lost sight of what is the Australian idea of what is fair and replaced
it with yank salesmanship.

Someone else obsessed with glitter is Nick Politis. Can't for the life of me understand why he prefers
notoriety to accomplishment. SBW may well bring the house down with exciting performances but the
Roosters need to get stability on and off the field to take advantage. Reminds me of Red Bull Racing
pouring tons of money into the best cars and have Webber as driver.

Manly want to play on plastic instead of just drain the swamp. Then again if they don't drain the swamp
anyway a game there will be like playing hockey on wet plastic. Why not spend the money on drainage
or do the right thing and move to Bluegum where two birds could be killed with one stone.

Not sure Thurston would like it at Penrith any more than Petero did. Not much of anything on that
latitude between the top of the mountain and the ocean is worth pissing on any more. No sense
leaving the bush when there's no need. Won't be long before the Cumberland basin won't grow enough
youngsters with a mind to play games.

Good job the Sharks can play without Gallen but it's a shame they have to. Extra stress on players
needed to fulfil roles the majority of supporters deserve to see could be avoided by moving Origin to
after the most important part of the League season is over. Anything after 26 should just be the cream on top.

POPEYE

JWH being suspended for a match is probably deserved. He is just a 24 carat meathead playing the
game the way it used to be played so demonising him is not necessary when admonishment is
enough. Adam Blair only did what Beau Scott did 10 times in Origin but wrong nevertheless in the
lesser form of the game. Give me Origin rules and fluidity anytime.

I almost decided to skip over Brian Smith saying SBW will have a huge impact. F**k it, what else can
I add to that but hope the impact is an uppercut to the coach.

If Robert Lowe is anything to go by I could have easily been a League journo. I'm sure he's taking the
piss when he says the Warriors have Brisbane on their hit list. They beat the Broncos on their home
turf and Cowboys and Titans sides that combined may have had enough big guns to compete. Maybe
the Broncos should forfeit on Friday 13th.

Not sure why Paul Harrogan doesn't want Monday night games. Best game of the week imo and real
League supporters make the effort to have pay television. The knights need to be exposed to people
who appreciate what they're doing in their comeback.

More proof that players are on a different planet than the rest of us and they have to be. Imagine having
to actually play the game AND take notice of every f**kwit writing and talking about it. What Hayne did
when he wasn't able to play is neither here nor there when concentrating on actually taking the field.
Players need a force field

Big Tim

Not sure why Paul Harrogan doesn't want Monday night games. Best game of the week imo and real
League supporters make the effort to have pay television. The knights need to be exposed to people
who appreciate what they're doing in their comeback.

Disagree mate.

Tinkler's aim is to make the Knights the team that the locals love. This means Sunday arvo games are what we desire.

Everybody knows that crowds are lower for MNF. Add to that the Knights demographic spreads further North West than Cessnock and Maitland, these people cant attend the game because it starts just hours after the end of the working day.

As a club we arent concerned about being seen on TV. Every game is on TV, we are concerned about the members getting what they have paid for. Live football at the ground.