Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reminders of your childhood

horrie hastings

Sargents pie factory Darlinghurst on the corner on Palmer and Burton St, one of my aunties lived in Palmer St and when we used to go for lunch there back in the late sixties and early 70s we often had pies from there and they were yummy, i remember my aunty would serve the pies for me and my sister on a plate and she would cut them into quarters for us.

7297676-3x2-940x627.jpg

horrie hastings

Years ago Coles and Woolworths variety stores used to have cafeterias and restaurants , as a kid these were fabulous, you would drag your trays along the railing and you could pick already pre prepared sandwiches, salads and deserts then there would be a hot food section where you could get pie with chips and gravy, fish and chips, rissoles and quite often roast meats and veges or you could order and wait for a steak or lambs fry. I miss things like this now.

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg

Sargents pie factory Darlinghurst on the corner on Palmer and Burton St, one of my aunties lived in Palmer St and when we used to go for lunch there back in the late sixties and early 70s we often had pies from there and they were yummy, i remember my aunty would serve the pies for me and my sister on a plate and she would cut them into quarters for us.

View attachment 40947

Great story.

I had a grandma who made the best of apple pies. Very traditional English recipe ( although her dads line were French). The pastry was unbelievable. It was supposed to be handed down- it’s been lost for 30 years in my big family, but there’s always rumours someone has it.

My recollection is that it was perfect, never too dry or moist, a bit heavier but not a burden and the perfect complement to the apples. It took an age to make.

For her era, grandma was extremely modern looking, a friend of David Niven no less. She was forgiving of ex cons, turned a blind eye to homosexuality ( rare in Queensland 1958-1986 where she lived) liked to see people do well and big on animal rights and balanced development. Not exactly a jo bjelke person, but still a loyal British subject. She was an actress at some stage, but not famous and I think her lines were never longer than a couple of words. Another claim to fame is that she had a wig contract, where they cut her hair and made wigs and extensions or something.

Sargeants were a class pie. All those meat pies were cooked to a standard back then and a single pie was usually enough. Two or three barely hits the sides these days.

And Horrie would remember that back in the day, the pie pretty much kept its flavour to the last bite. No glubby jelly stuff that oozes out of it. Proper chunks of meat, like a chunky casserole, sauce in proportion!

She drove a valiant regal torque flight. Push button automatic. Two tone, top of the range. Green and beige like our old beloved Sydney buses!

Here’s a similar stock one.

5FF03BD7-4A2F-4532-9615-DCE51868C15D.jpeg

And the killer automatic gear selector ( why can’t they build these now?!):

322456C4-AB45-4E9E-9F93-36C7B7050FE2.jpeg

Years ago Coles and Woolworths variety stores used to have cafeterias and restaurants , as a kid these were fabulous, you would drag your trays along the railing and you could pick already pre prepared sandwiches, salads and deserts then there would be a hot food section where you could get pie with chips and gravy, fish and chips, rissoles and quite often roast meats and veges or you could order and wait for a steak or lambs fry. I miss things like this now.

View attachment 40952 View attachment 40953 View attachment 40954

And they always tasted nice. It was always a go-to after a shop. And giant kids playgrounds, dump us kids off, never bullied or molested. You were always going to be there when mum got back with her red coat and black boots, dragging another 2 or 3 kids along behind her. Then make our way back to the Ford Cortina, pack us all in with not enough seat belts and we’d bounce around in the back opening things and arguing. Blood was spilt for the front seat ( still is for my kids today). You didn’t always get what you wanted, sometimes, nothing at all, but had faith your turn would come! These days, kids would ring up docs if that happened. Gotta teach your kids patience!

High auto safety standards in those days, was not drinking a beer and smoking and not having a kid on your lap while driving.

A drivers seatbelt got you a 5 star ancap rating.

And any youngsters reading, this was an era of much promise. People said hello to you walking down the street. Not sizing you up for shakedown or false allegation!

horrie hastings

And they always tasted nice.

It was good honest food, no trickery or arty farty presentation, just good old fashioned tasty stodge.
I remember Grace Brothers at Bondi Junction had a little cafe right near the huge lay buy section. My mother would have cake and a coffee or tea and would have raisin toast and a strawberry milk shake. I seem to remember at one stage they had a bigger restaurant on the top floor right near the car park but my memory is a bit vague on that.

horrie hastings

Sargeants were a class pie. All those meat pies were cooked to a standard back then and a single pie was usually enough. Two or three barely hits the sides these days.

And Horrie would remember that back in the day, the pie pretty much kept its flavour to the last bite. No glubby jelly stuff that oozes out of it. Proper chunks of meat, like a chunky casserole, sauce in proportion!

They had meat in them but also the gravy was luscious , Sargents were the original supplier to Harrys Cafe De Wheels back in the day.

horrie hastings

Great story.

I had a grandma who made the best of apple pies. Very traditional English recipe ( although her dads line were French). The pastry was unbelievable. It was supposed to be handed down- it’s been lost for 30 years in my big family, but there’s always rumours someone has it.

My recollection is that it was perfect, never too dry or moist, a bit heavier but not a burden and the perfect complement to the apples. It took an age to make.

For her era, grandma was extremely modern looking, a friend of David Niven no less. She was forgiving of ex cons, turned a blind eye to homosexuality ( rare in Queensland 1958-1986 where she lived) liked to see people do well and big on animal rights and balanced development. Not exactly a jo bjelke person, but still a loyal British subject. She was an actress at some stage, but not famous and I think her lines were never longer than a couple of words. Another claim to fame is that she had a wig contract, where they cut her hair and made wigs and extensions or something.
]

Your Grandmother sounds like an amazing woman, i think i would have liked her, not only for her apple pies but also her beliefs and outlook on life.

The milkshakes served in those giant coloured aluminium cups things. They’d mix them up really well.

And you’d check to see how high they filled it.

The bubbles had to reach near the edge, about an inch off in the old money.

Swirly striped straws made of paper.

Yeah we had the raisin toast too and no matter how hard you tried, you could never make one at home that looked or tasted as nice.

Aristocrat Milk Bar, Lane Cove circa mid 1970s.

CBC bank next door.

And the old milk shake, once again it worked until the final slurp.

Maccas shake today, you might get a minute of taste and then it turns into something slimy and runny.

Except in quite cold weather when you are a chance of a few extra minutes. But usually the shake is almost undrinkable at the end.

I have a mate who fixes them. Yeah he’s on call 24/7.

horrie hastings

The elevators at David Jones in the city having a person operating it, he would announce the floor you were on and tell you what departments were on the floor too, just a nice touch of personal service, actually think David Jones only stopped doing it a few years ago.

Your Grandmother sounds like an amazing woman, i think i would have liked her, not only for her apple pies but also her beliefs and outlook on life.

Thanks. Just tolerant and unassuming. I think that spirit kept her young. She got to 99.

She was also very generous. She knew bikies and they’d stay over sometimes (lol) and the bikes would end up on the lawn. The rest of the family was shocked, but you couldn’t meddle with her.

Dad said she never was never mugged or had anything bad of that nature happen to her, so she got the karma.

Thanks.

The elevators at David Jones in the city having a person operating it, he would announce the floor you were on and tell you what departments were on the floor too, just a nice touch of personal service, actually think David Jones only stopped doing a few years ago.

Yeah, he was well dressed and I think he sat on a stool. And he was very haughty lol.

Sounded like lord of the manor!

horrie hastings

The milkshakes served in those giant coloured aluminium cups things. They’d mix them up really well.

And you’d check to see how high they filled it.

The bubbles had to reach near the edge, about an inch off in the old money.

Yeah we had the raisin toast too and no matter how hard you tried, you could never make one at home that looked or tasted as nice.

Aristocrat Milk Bar, Lane Cove circa mid 1970s.

And the old milk shake, once again it worked until the final slurp.

You could see them put a big scoop of ice cream in after the flavouring and the milk . They would get the ice cream out of huge metal tubs behind the counter. strawberry was always my favourite flavour for a milk shake.

Banana!

I used to work in a shop once where we had the tubs, but I think the old ones were rectangular.

They kept us in drinks and nibbles so we wouldn’t eat the food etc we were supposed to be serving!

I’ve had heaps of customer service jobs. Long hard hours but some crazy and memorable times as well. People are so strange!

horrie hastings

Banana!

I used to work in a shop once where we had the tubs, but I think the old ones were rectangular.

They kept us in drinks and nibbles so we wouldn’t eat the food etc we were supposed to be serving!

I’ve had heaps of customer service jobs. Long hard hours but some crazy and memorable times as well. People are so strange!

There was always something interesting about the banana flavour, you could tell it was artificial but it wasn't unpleasant, especially when it frothed up. Remember having lime flavour a couple of times, i think i would pass on it these days though.

horrie hastings

Remember when most milk bars had one or two of these, usually filled with a cordial with fruity bits in it. There was one place at Town Hall Station just near one of the arcades entrances which had about 5 or 6 of these with all different flavours , it was so refreshing on a hot day and full of fruit bits too.

1132369762.jpg

horrie hastings

The old wax paper straws, they were great.
Raisin toast back then had so many juicy raisins, currants and peel in it and buttered it within a inch of its life, yummmm.