Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie Farah gone?

Exsilium

If leaders are measured by their actions then surely Rpbbie Farah the player is a born leader, Robbie Farah the individual is the benchmark for melodrama. Bit like that 8-Mile moment, you know the one where Robbie Farah turns up to training and everyone is all "dayum this guy be frontin" and....*beats drop*

Look, if you had One shot, one opportunity to seize everything you've ever wanted would you tell the truth or let management slip?

His games weak, his palms are sweaty
he knocks on but he keeps on forgetting what JT wrote down
the coaching staff grow so loud, he's tanking now, the crowd starts booing Moses now

Snap back to reality, oh there goes potter, oh there goes Mayer
nope he wants Taylor but he won't give up that easy no

And so on....

Man, you nailed it.

BuffaloRules

You lounge chair coaches and dreamers can go on and on and on.

Ballin will play 9 and Farah at 13.

Would be a seamless transition from Marty last year in the 13...

Opposition most probably wouldn't notice the difference...

Hopefully we can have Halatau and Lawrence in there as well and we will have the biggest and most feared back row in the comp..,

Farah will be 9,Ballin will fill in and also play in the backrow,his workrate is a lot better than others in that area at the WT.

Ron's_Mate

Jason Taylor guarantees Robbie Farah Wests Tigers No.9 jersey

Michael Carayannis
Published: December 18, 2015 - 8:00PM

Wests Tigers coach Jason Taylor has guaranteed Robbie Farah the No.9 jersey to start round one with Farah's replacement as skipper Aaron Woods declaring he and his Tigers teammates would have been "filthy" if the club let Farah leave.
Woods was officially unveiled as Farah's successor as skipper after Farah stepped down from the role amid uncertainty surrounding his future. While Farah maintains his place in the leadership team, Woods will captain the side. Veterans Chris Lawrence and Dene Halatau are the club's vice-captains.
While Farah was a taboo subject at the Tigers announcement on Friday, Taylor said "absolutely" when asked if the NSW hooker would start the year in first grade despite threats to demote him to reserve grade.
"He has trained well enough to make that position his own," Taylor said. "It's been his position and I don't see any reason why that will change between now and the start of the season.
"There's been lots of positive conversations between Robbie and myself over a period of time. We have got to a great result this week and that's off the back of a lot of hard work from both of us putting the club first. I spoke to Robbie before [the Wood's announcement] and he is really excited for Woodsy."
Farah's guaranteed inclusion comes as new recruit Matt Ballin recovers from a knee injury which is likely to sideline him for the opening weeks of next year. Woods said he was grateful Farah had re-committed to the club and would use him as a sounding board for advice.
"I would have been filthy," Woods said had Farah left. "I would have hated to have played against him. He is such a good player and he knows how all the boys play here. He can be a coach when he retires.
"A lot of the boys would have been filthy too. We don't have to worry about that any more, we are happy he is staying."
At 24, Woods is set to become the youngest captain in the NRL next year. The change in leadership is a sign of the times at the Tigers with Woods, a Leichhardt Juniors graduate, given the opportunity to lead the next generation of Tigers player including James Tedesco, Mitchell Moses and Luke Brooks.
"We've used it a lot as an excuse lately that we've got a young squad," Woods said. "They've all played two-four years of first grade footy. We have to take a bit of an ownership on ourselves and we have to get results for the club. The fans have been waiting. It's our job to make it come true.
"I always wanted to be captain. Robbie is a competitor and a pretty intense guy. I'm a lot more laidback and relaxed but there will be times when I have to be on the ball a bit more now.
"I've got my own ways of doing things and he has his ways."
This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-wests-tigers-no9-jersey-20151218-glquia.html

BuffaloRules

Interesting article from the weekend about Robbies future.

Firstly , I don't consider myself a Farah hater and support him playing this year.

However I was hoping that after the end of this season, we could move him on a year early say to the UK and free up some money to retain/buy some players...

Reading his comments in this article, that may not be happening...

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...l/news-story/ab2be4839d9ac5db8adf534311732fe5

Which begs the question; how many games does Farah have left, not just at Leichhardt Oval, but for the Wests Tigers?
Six months ago, given coach Jason Taylor’s reserve grade ultimatum, Farah, 32, appeared more chance of playing for the Leichhardt Wanderers.
But opening up to The Sunday Telegraph as he assisted the under-16 and under-18 Emerging Blues, a buoyant and optimistic Farah revealed he could extend his future at the club beyond 2017.

“Have I kept that door open? Yes of course,’ Farah said.

I’m on contract until the end of next year and then I’ll be guided by my body and the club, they’ve still got to want me, but there’s nothing in my head at the moment to say that next year is definitely my last year.
“As long as I’m playing good footy and I feel that I’ve got something to add to the team and both parties feel the same way, we’ll see what comes.’’

However I was hoping that after the end of this season, we could move him on a year early say to the UK and free up some money to retain/buy some players...

I remember when all that drama about his contract first started last year he did a radio interview where he stated that he had a prior agreement with the club that 2016 would be his last year and he will play in SuperLeague in 2017. Not sure what's changed since then.

TiggaPlease

Too old and slow now unfortunately.

He's been an absolute legend for the club, but at the end of the season he should do the right thing by the Tigers and move on.

FootynRacing

He is still out best option at hooker and will likely be our best option at hooker next year too. Why the hell should he move on early when he has a contract ? He deserves every cent of his contract worth and I hope he gets it

BuffaloRules

He is still out best option at hooker and will likely be our best option at hooker next year too. Why the hell should he move on early when he has a contract ? He deserves every cent of his contract worth and I hope he gets it

I don't disagree with you but isn't it interesting that other teams can move contracted players on that they no longer want...

He might not be out of pocket if they could find an English club to pay part of his contract ($500K say?)

He might still be the best hooker at the club but he no longer plays at the level that he is costing them..

I don't disagree with you but isn't it interesting that other teams can move contracted players on that they no longer want...

He might not be out of pocket if they could find an English club to pay part of his contract ($500K say?)

He might still be the best hooker at the club but he no longer plays at the level that he is costing them..

But is because he hasn't got it anymore or by instruction, I haven't see all the games he's played this year, but he is still one of if not the best forward we have so far.

FootynRacing

But isn't it true that he played the first couple of years of his last contract for less money than he was worth so that the club could remain under the cap ? Which is therefore why the coin he is on for these last two years of his contract are so high ?

BuffaloRules

Well that's what I believe he said about the current deal..

I don't see the problem if he still gets the same coin playing elsewhere(UK) in 2017 with the Tigers subsidising part of the new deal?

There have been some reports that previously he was open to the idea, although looking at the article I quoted this appears to have changed

I reckon Robbie has been good this year but the money he is apparently on is way past what he is worth. I also think he is getting past it. He doesn't make many busts now.

I think the smart option is to not offer him another contract. If he stays this year and next it's okay but I'd like to see him play better than what he is now.

macnaz

He did accept lower money prior to this year so its only fair he gets paid his contract money... its lots i know but i guess we got him cheap in his prime. Just hope he can turn back time like Ennis is doing at the sharks.

Farah isn't too old or slow. He's doing exactly what Taylor wants. He's getting the forwards going forward and leaving all playmaking duties to the halves.

Halves who have NFI how to do as they're told and play to set structures.

But the morons out there will just accuse Farah of f**king up.