Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 v Cowboys

Typical wanker reply trying to justify why their opinion is the correct one. The only thing I’m telling you to do is to stop being so negative. You talk about being constructive? Yeah...ok...your posts are so constructive hey? Putting down the team before a game has happened this season. Would I have picked that team? Guess what, I wouldn’t have. But I’m not the one saying the team list is toilet paper that should be flushed down the toilet. I’ll be cheering that team loudly.
I'm not the only one who flushed Lone Ranger so I suggest you and Tonto round up the posse and chase the rest of us hombre's.

R&WTILLIDIE

I'm not the only one who flushed Lone Ranger so I suggest you and Tonto round up the posse and chase the rest of us hombre's.

Lone Ranger? Tonto? Hahaha you really are an Old Timer. I hope you get much joy out of this season mate. You’re pretty hard to please from what I can see...so I’m guessing you won’t.

I can tell you, that specsavers might be your best option in respect of you seeing me.
Just because I disagree with coach or recruitment or management doesn't mean I don't support my team.
I have stood at the bar with the late great Len Kelly and argued with him and others re who we had in the roster of this great club going back long before you can ever imagine.
I have never wished a loss upon us and I've cheered for every player at every game I have ever attended or watched but in this place it is not about cheering for the team it is about offering your point of view.
Unfortunately you and many others just don't understand that can be the way for some people.
Until you can understand that then do me and you a favour don't respond.

ViceVersa

This season is going to be highly frustrating on this forum, I've already accepted it. If we are losing it will be full meltdown sack the coach, the board and all the players.
If we are winning it will still be a negative cesspool of winging and moaning because we always win the first half of the comp anyway.
Only way to get some positivity out of certain posters is to go through the season undefeated.
No actually that won't be enough. We will have to win the comp undefeated with a team full of young guns, no journeymen allowed.

This forum won't be satisfied until
  • Go through entire season undefeated and win Grand Final
  • Give even share of FG minutes to entire top 30 except Latimore, Maranta, Allgood & Aitken
  • Win every game to 0 without exposing 'right edge defence'
  • Re-sign every 'young gun' without signing 'journeymen'
  • Have lucrative TPA's
  • Have Mary and every St George 'old boys' faction of the board resign at end of season despite winning comp
Then forum be like:

grouch

This season is going to be highly frustrating on this forum, I've already accepted it. If we are losing it will be full meltdown sack the coach, the board and all the players.
If we are winning it will still be a negative cesspool of winging and moaning because we always win the first half of the comp anyway.
Only way to get some positivity out of certain posters is to go through the season undefeated.
No actually that won't be enough. We will have to win the comp undefeated with a team full of young guns, no journeymen allowed.
Wow, a pre-emptive whinge about whinging. What a fkn whinger.

R&WTILLIDIE

I can tell you, that specsavers might be your best option in respect of you seeing me.
Just because I disagree with coach or recruitment or management doesn't mean I don't support my team.
I have stood at the bar with the late great Len Kelly and argued with him and others re who we had in the roster of this great club going back long before you can ever imagine.
I have never wished a loss upon us and I've cheered for every player at every game I have ever attended or watched but in this place it is not about cheering for the team it is about offering your point of view.
Unfortunately you and many others just don't understand that can be the way for some people.
Until you can understand that then do me and you a favour don't respond.

You cheer for the team? Support the team? yet you say the current team list should be on toilet paper that should be flushed away....and might I add (for the tenth time) a competitive game hasn’t been played yet. You and I have a different interpretation on what it means to support a team. Happy to read people’s opinions on who they think should be in a team and why. But you’re just being negative. If they lose, I can’t wait to read your “told you so” posts. Try to be positive mate. Think outside the square. Mary has assembled that team for a reason. Watch the game, analyse it, and then post your opinion...don’t take everything so seriously. Anyway...that’s my opinion...which I’m sure you don’t really care about. Good Night Mate.

You said it "made sense" run a poll and see how many think it "made sense".
Now you say "Mary has assembled the team for a reason" well that is blatantly obvious but have a look around the different threads and you will not find too many saying that is a "good reason" they will offer many and varied reasons for why he did it and there will be but a handful who will say he got it right.
You should open your mind and look at what others are saying not just what I say.
So whilst I know you have a soft spot for me have a look and see how many "just being negative" people there actually are and then you might understand what this place is all about.
At this point in time there are many vocal and disappointed people because what they anticipated happening is exactly what did happen and many don't agree with it or like it.

R&WTILLIDIE

This forum won't be satisfied until
  • Go through entire season undefeated and win Grand Final
  • Give even share of FG minutes to entire top 30 except Latimore, Maranta, Allgood & Aitken
  • Win every game to 0 without exposing 'right edge defence'
  • Re-sign every 'young gun' without signing 'journeymen'
  • Have lucrative TPA's
  • Have Mary and every St George 'old boys' faction of the board resign at end of season despite winning comp
Then forum be like:

This post just won the internet

R&WTILLIDIE

You said it "made sense" run a poll and see how many think it "made sense".
Now you say "Mary has assembled the team for a reason" well that is blatantly obvious but have a look around the different threads and you will not find too many saying that is a "good reason" they will offer many and varied reasons for why he did it and there will be but a handful who will say he got it right.
You should open your mind and look at what others are saying not just what I say.
So whilst I know you have a soft spot for me have a look and see how many "just being negative" people there actually are and then you might understand what this place is all about.
At this point in time there are many vocal and disappointed people because what they anticipated happening is exactly what did happen and many don't agree with it or like it.

I’ve been on this forum long enough to know what it’s about. Yes there are many vocal and disappointed people on this forum even before a tackle has been made this season.

It makes sense to me that Mary wants to bring on a fast player like Dufty later on in the game when their players are tired. Possibly Move Widdop to five eighth, Norman to half back, and maybe Hunt to hooker. That’s pretty different to what he was doing last year right? People wanted to see him think outside the box right? Make changes? I think this is a different approach. I hope it works. Maybe you’re the one that needs to open their mind up a bit (oh god...I’ve probably insulted you with that comment...stand by for barrage of “Just because I don’t agree with you”, “just because I say something doesn’t mean I’m negative” post)

I’ve been on this forum long enough to know what it’s about. Yes there are many vocal and disappointed people on this forum even before a tackle has been made this season.

It makes sense to me that Mary wants to bring on a fast player like Dufty later on in the game when their players are tired. Possibly Move Widdop to five eighth, Norman to half back, and maybe Hunt to hooker. That’s pretty different to what he was doing last year right? People wanted to see him think outside the box right? Make changes? I think this is a different approach. I hope it works. Maybe you’re the one that needs to open their mind up a bit (oh god...I’ve probably insulted you with that comment...stand by for barrage of “Just because I don’t agree with you”, “just because I say something doesn’t mean I’m negative” post)
I wanted to see a coach who can make hard decisions and IMO we are yet to see that.
IMO he has tried to pick the populist team and not offend to many players.
You obviously have red very few of my posts re teams I would select as they are the different things I would do and they make sense to me and I am already well on the record for that.
Most times I try temper such things with IMO and I pleasingly note that this time you have done likewise.
"It makes sense" as an emphatic statement as against "IMO it makes sense" may draw a different response.

getsmarty

190311_rd1_team-list-web.png

TEAM LISTS

Brought to you by

TripADeal NRL team announcement: Round 1 v Cowboys
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 12 Mar 2019, 04:00 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has named his mandatory 21-man squad ahead of the Dragons' Round 1 clash against the North Queensland Cowboys at 1300SMILES Stadium, Townsville on March 16.

Mikaele Ravalawa (St George Illawarra player #218) will make his NRL debut on the wing, and will be joined by five-eighth Corey Norman (#219) as the Dragons' first debutants of 2019.

Skipper Gareth Widdop's move to fullback has been formalised, with Matt Dufty moving back to the interchange as a result. Jacob Host has been named in the back row with Tyson Frizell named at lock.

Round 1 of the Telstra Premiership will see all 16 clubs support the North Queensland Flood Appeal; the NRL will donate $100 for every point scored across the eight games.

The Dragons will support the appeal by donating a signed jersey to North Queensland's online memorabilia auction. The two club captains Widdop and Michael Morgan will also sign a match-day football that will be included in the Cowboys' fundraising efforts. Details for this auction will be communicated at a later date.

Unavailable Dragons:
Jack de Belin (welfare)
Korbin Sims (suspension)

NRL squad for Round 1 v North Queensland Cowboys -

1. Gareth Widdop – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
  2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
  3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
  4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
  5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by SMAI
  6. Corey Norman – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
  7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
  8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
  9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
  10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
  11. Jacob Host – sponsored by Val Morgan
  12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
  13. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
Interchange:

14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Dincel Construction15. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)16. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Professionals Padstow17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Tosich Group
19. Josh Kerr
20. Reece Robson
21. Jonus Pearson

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/03/12/tripadeal-nrl-team-announcement-round-1-v-cowboys/

getsmarty

pereiraj_rc1_8988.jpg

DRAGONS

Kiwi-born Pereira puts hand up for England
Author
Brad Walter NRL.com Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 12 Mar 2019, 11:01 AM
walterbrad-head.png

After being rewarded for his rapid rise to being St George Illawarra's No.1 winger with a contract extension, Jordan Pereira has revealed that he is available for England selection.

Pereira, who is expected to be the first winger picked by Dragons coach Paul McGregor for Saturday night’s opening round trip to North Queensland, was born in New Zealand to a Samoan father and English mother so he qualifies for all three nations.

"I suppose it is not really my option because someone has to pick me but in terms of my eligibility, England is an option, New Zealand is an option and Samoa is an option," Pereira said.

"I love playing footy whether it is park footy, reserve grade or NRL so if I get the opportunity to play any representative games I am ready to roll."

Asked if he had a preference, the 25-year-old said he would be proud to represent any of the three nations.

Dragons season preview - NRL Teams

"I grew up in New Zealand but I wasn't raised by Kiwis, I was raised by an English woman and my dad is from Samoa so it is hard to pick," he said. "I don't really know what I am – I just call myself a human."

However, Pereira said he had let St George Illawarra team-mate James Graham know ahead of last year’s three-Test series against the Kiwis that he was eligible for England through his mother Lesley, who migrated to New Zealand when she was 20.

With Sydney Roosters recruit Ryan Hall sidelined by a knee injury, England did not have an established left winger but Tommy Makinson earned the nod from Wayne Bennett and won the Golden Boot as 2018 International Player of the Year.

I grew up in New Zealand ... I was raised by an English woman and my dad is from Samoa so it is hard to pick

Dragons winger Jordan Pereira
"James is obviously a proud Englishman and I tried to tell him to get the coach to put me into the team for the Kiwis tour at the end of the year," Pereira said.

After having to wait until Round 19 last season to make his NRL debut, Pereira has cemented his position in the Dragons backline and can now be considered the club's No.1 winger following the retirement of Jason Nightingale and Nene Macdonald's departure to the Cowboys.

He signed a new two-year deal with St George Illawarra in September and this week agreed to stay a further 12 months until the end of the 2021 season.

"There's some really dark places I had to go through to get here. I just didn't give up," he said.

"I was knocked back many times but it didn't faze me because I was grateful to be playing whatever grade I was in. Rugby league is so much fun."

While his future is now secure, Pereira knows he cannot rest on his laurels and is determined to keep working hard to establish himself in the NRL.

"I know for a fact I was on the bottom of the hierarchy this time last year so it is definitely an improvement to where I was," Pereira said of suggestions he was now McGregor’s first choice winger.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/03/12/kiwi-born-pereira-puts-hand-up-for-england/

getsmarty

Mikaele Ravalawa named to make Dragons debut as Zac Lomax dumped
Local Sport
r0_127_3326_2397_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Call-up: Mikaele Ravalawa. Picture: Greg Porteous/NRL Imagery.

Fijian flyer Mikaele Ravalawa is set to make his NRL debut on Saturday night after being named on the wing for the Dragons round one clash with North Queensland.

The 21-year-old has been selected ahead of highly-fancied youngster Zac Lomax, who has been relegated to 18th man for the fixture.

After arriving from Canberra in the off-season, Ravalawa was impressive during the Dragons two trial matches, scoring a double at WIN Stadium against the Knights. Lomax, a natural centre, struggled in his stints on the wing and was exposed in the loss to South Sydney.

"He's certainly an athlete," Dragons coach Paul McGregor said after the win over Newcastle. " Six foot two, 93 kilos, he can run, changes the ball in each hand, fend with either arm, explosive.

"We've just got to keep working with him, he's only new to our systems. He's a big boy and something we're looking for as outside backs, that speed and size."

The selection of Ravalawa is the only big surprise in the 21-man squad named by McGregor on Tuesday afternoon, with the side to closely resemble that which started in the Charity Shield.

With Jack de Belin's suspension officially confirmed on Monday, Tyson Frizell will line up at lock, while Jacob Host steps into the second row.

After such a tumultuous off-season, Dragons captain Gareth Widdop said the squad is looking forward to taking the field for their first match of the year.

"It's obviously exciting," Widdop said. "It was a tough pre-season, as they all are, it feel like it goes on forever.

"Obviously with all the stuff that happened in the off-season, it's good the positive stuff's back now and the football's here and I think the team's ready to go.

"It's a tough trip to Townsville this week, but the boys are fired up and ready to start playing playing playing."

The Dragons will be without de Belin for at least the opening five rounds after the Federal Court set the date for the final hearing of his challenge of the NRL's new no fault stand down policy for April 16.

The NRL has confirmed the no fault stand down policy will continue to apply in the period leading up until the court proceedings are resolved.

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...ake-nrl-debut-for-st-george-illawarra/?cs=302

RedVDave

Maybe Mary just wanted some experienced players in the backline

1. Gareth Widdop – 187 Games
  2. Jordan Pereira – 9 Games
  3. Euan Aitken – 80 Games
  4. Tim Lafai – 142 Games
  5. Mikaele Ravalawa – 0 Games
  6. Corey Norman - 170 games
  7. Ben Hunt - 214 Games
18: Zac Lomax - 4 Games

Or maybe they didn't want Lomax buying into the pre-season hype or maybe he truly has no idea I dunno man I dunno "It's Just A Ride" - Bill Hicks.

SnowDragon

Posted in the load missing thread but more relevant here

Let see what the match brings...

1) will Widdop’s shoulder hold? And will he be as dynamic as we hope?
2) how will the new halves gel?
3) how much will we miss JDB?
4) how will Mika handle the debut? And will he develop?
5) will the centres be as good out of the blocks as last year? (Based on trials Aitken looked down on last year, but the cows games is the real test for me)
6) Dufty of the bench? A master stroke or a waste of a benchspot and a talented player?

As for the coming months,
7) will we see Lomax and Robson progress into the top 17 and prove their potential?

What did I miss?