Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 13 Parra v Cowboys - Game Day

For what it's worth, I said I understood what Ram was saying about the Polynesian players, but I didn't say I necessarily agreed.

We do need some tough, no-nonsense "bullies" in our pack, but that role can and has been filled by blokes such ad Ruben Wiki, Josh Papalii, Jeremy Smith, Ben Matulino, etc.

I think Beau Scott will be brilliant for us, regardless of his age. He's exactly what we need.

Exactly. Pick/buy the best players for our situation. If that means they are Anglos, all indigenous, or all Polynesians, so be it, but don't make the decision because of their race.

oldmancraigy

So if you run 100metres and drop the ball over the try line you haven't actually run a centimetre in the stats?

Stupid.

It definitely counts as meterage, and they would also record an error.

Nrlstats is very accurate, but they normally rewatch and update the stats 24hours after the game. Ie, morgan now has 3 runs 33m.

We have too many players that are new and afraid to put there foot down.Imagine you starting a new job, i reckon you would feel a little out of place trying to tell everyone what to do.

Next year Peats-Norman-Watmough are all going too feel more like leaders in the team. The long term players we have in Mannah/Sandow & Morgan are not leaders.

Nrlstats is very accurate, but they normally rewatch and update the stats 24hours after the game. Ie, morgan now has 3 runs 33m.

What about the break hoppa made-Morgan would of run about 20mtr min before dropping the ball?

LOL, and you wanted to be in charge of the club. Luckily no one voted for you otherwise we would have had a ban on signing too many players because they are of a certain ethnic background. You are a dead set joke.

Bit Harsh mate. Its clear the club has signed white guys so to speak. Look at the ins and out. BA has cut a stack of Island boys

Bigfella

What about the break hoppa made-Morgan would of run about 20mtr min before dropping the ball?

Pretty sure that is the adjustment they made to the stats.

Before that amendment they had attributed him with 2 runs for 12m - so that can't have included that particular 20m run.

It should be included too - the ball was live up until he dropped it and they had a scrum from where he dropped it.

Pretty sure that is the adjustment they made to the stats.

Before that amendment they had attributed him with 2 runs for 12m - so that can't have included that particular 20m run.

It should be included too - the ball was live up until he dropped it and they had a scrum from where he dropped it.

Yep. I'm pretty sure that's correct.

Chipmunk

Surely he ran about 30 minutes on that one play, so looks like he only ran 1.5 metres on the other 2 plays.

Having said that, he did have to go back and a pick up a couple of no-look passes from Hopoate that went to ground. Maybe he was deducted metres for that. Someone has to tell Hopoate that he isn't The Plane...His no look passes 90% of the time seem to go to ground.

Obscene Assassin

You have no idea what we are even talking about you dope.

All sides have a good balance in their squad, we simply dont. Get it?

Wasn't saying it's a good or a bad thing, I was pointing out that all clubs have the right balance overall in their squad/club.

And what balance would that be? Too many whites, not enough blacks? Too many blacks and not enough whites? You're the dope for even suggesting that we should pick/sign a player based on their ethnicity.

oldmancraigy

Surely he ran about 30 minutes on that one play, so looks like he only ran 1.5 metres on the other 2 plays.

Having said that, he did have to go back and a pick up a couple of no-look passes from Hopoate that went to ground. Maybe he was deducted metres for that. Someone has to tell Hopoate that he isn't The Plane...His no look passes 90% of the time seem to go to ground.

Well, he only touched the ball 4 times! There was that one no looker that he recovered (but I think they count meterage from the point the pick up the ball, not from where they were relative to the ball before touching it?)

To be honest, I was surprised to see 3 runs for 33m! That 20m break was good and all, but I can't remember him running with the footy apart from that.

Obscene Assassin

Bit Harsh mate. Its clear the club has signed white guys so to speak. Look at the ins and out. BA has cut a stack of Island boys

I reckon Foran and Scott were signed because they bring something to the table that we need. Consistency and mental toughness, we didn't sign them because they are white.

emjaycee

I reckon Foran and Scott were signed because they bring something to the table that we need. Consistency and mental toughness, we didn't sign them because they are white.

If the coaching staff believe the attributes of consistency and mental toughness are found more in players with a particular ethnicity and therefore they are inadvertently favouring players of said ethnicity over players of another ethnicity does that make them (the coaching staff) rasicts or are they simply looking for the needed attributes and chasing their view of the best players available with these attributes?

And is this any different to recruiting for speed, ball handling, tackling or any other attribute of a rugby league player they believe we lack in our squad?

Incorrect

On the subject of ethnicity, one thing's for sure... I'm glad we got rid of that American bloke that was taking up a spot in our 17... Seffa was 1 American too many!

TheRam

Generational ethnic cleansing seems to be working for the best then Ram ?

Idiots here called it the stolen generation. :roll:

I didn't realize our club or I were advocating stealing babies from their mothers.

TheRam

For what it's worth, mate, I understand your point about the Polynesian players.

Scott will be a Godsend next year.

Yes he will if he can stay fit.

Race has nothi9ng to do with it. Sign the best players you can and get rid of the shit ones regardless of race. Let's say Ryan Morgan and Semi Radradra are both off contract. Do you let Semi go and keep Morgan because your over your self imposed Islander quota or do you sign the better player?

No because Semi is Melanesian.

TheRam

But seriously, I am not advocating not signing Islanders.

I just don't think there are enough at this point in time, that have that hard edged attitude that a team needs, to do really well and play consistently in well in the NRL.

That is why you cannot have a team that is majority Polynesian, unless you are blessed to have the majority of the mentally tough ones in the NRL.

Skill, strength and speed as we all know is only part of the story. We always talk about mental toughness.

Brian Smith, with his love of the big powerful and fast Poly player, started this trend in the Parra club. He liked yes men that would just follow his instructions(and I put Hindmarsh in this group too) and weeded out all our leaders and mentally strong guys, and we haven't come back since.

People may not like this, but it is what it is. Mental toughness is a trait just like speed or strength, why do we select on those basis???

No because Semi is Melanesian.

Really ?

polymap1.jpg

oldmancraigy

Didn't we have 6 Polynesians in the game the other night? I'm still confused as to how having 1 less Polynesian [to get to Rammys magical number of 5] would have made Sandow and Morgan a more effective tackling combination?

Anyone?