slotmachine
Hunt is pretty ordinary.
Yeah, but Rossdog is even more ordinaryHunt is pretty ordinary.
If Ross was to go we would have 6-700 to spend, but still 2 spots to fill.And Ross might not be here round 1 after getting an offer from Huddersfield who are coached by woolfords dad.
What's he on at the knights? That plus the +$300k left in the warchest offers a luxurious position; start the season, see how everyone fits, throw ~600-700k at a decent target to fill any apparent gap or use that money to upgrade anyone that deserves it.
I'd be inclined to fill those spots with fringe players or young prospects and save the cash for upgrades to Kalyn and whoever else shows they deserve it. In fact, I'd be looking at putting a contract extension + upgrade to Kalyn over the next 12 months.If Ross was to go we would have 6-700 to spend, but still 2 spots to fill.
Good spot to be in, nonetheless.
yes pleaseI'd be looking at putting a contract extension + upgrade to Kalyn over the next 12 months.
Please let it be so. Would be good for the Rossdog and the extra cash will help us retain/recruit. Thanks for the memories Rossdog have fun in England.And Ross might not be here round 1 after getting an offer from Huddersfield who are coached by woolfords dad.
What's he on at the knights? That plus the +$300k left in the warchest offers a luxurious position; start the season, see how everyone fits, throw ~600-700k at a decent target to fill any apparent gap or use that money to upgrade anyone that deserves it.
https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nrl-mi...holds-key-to-three-club-merry-go-round_111218
ROSS CONSIDERS SUPER LEAGUE OFFER
Cult hero Nathan Ross is determined to defy Newcastle’s plans to send him packing - but may find an offer from Huddersfield too good to refuse.
The Knights signed Ross until the end of 2020 last year but now want him out after picking up Sharks pair Edrick Lee and Jesse Ramien and Souths’ Hymel Hunt.
The tryscoring utility back had an injury-plagued season in 2018 and has been determined to prove his worth to the Knights in the off-season, training his butt off.
But the offer from Huddersfield - and the fact that the Knights may not consider him for the top grade next year - may see Ross move to the UK, where he would be a sensation.
Giants coach Simon Woolford is pushing hard for the deal to go through - but it isn’t over the line…. yet.
Geez Ross cops a bad wrap on here these days. How times have changed...Yeah, but Rossdog is even more ordinary
I'm ok with Ross. He puts a lot into his game. I reckon he could work on skills and passing. There was a brief time he worked well with Denniss when Denniss actually showed some promise.Geez Ross cops a bad wrap on here these days. How times have changed...
The bloke was badly injured last year and people seem to overlook this. I told my mate who played australian school boys years ago about Ross's injury and he was amazed that Ross was even able to run with it, let alone play. The older i get, the more i realise that most people make up their quickly on little evidence, as opposed to looking at the big picture. This forum is no different.
One of the arguments against Ross is that he looked good in a bad team. You have to have rocks in your head if you think thay this strengthens an argument against him. When a team lacks go forward and a roll on, this effects the wingers as much as anyone, yet Ross was still able to score plenty of trys and made lots of metres. pre injury, he was also a good metre eater out of dummy half.
When we re-signed him, its interesting how quiet the forum was with protests. In fact, i remember heaps of people on here championing the idea of signing him.
The one gripe i have is that he was paid overs. I reckon 250k would have been a more reasonable salary for a 28 year old winger who was a late bloomer into first grade.
For mine Guerra doesn't have enough in the tank to play 80 on the edge anymore - he looked shot in the back end of games last year. (Although maybe that's different in 2019, with a pack around him that will be more dominant, and give him less clean-up work to do).He played half of this year there.
If Fitz and Guerra aren't starting second rowers it's because one of them is injured.
Toohey had an article a week or so a good saying the best 17 basically picks itself apart from choosing Sione or Barnett on the bench.
I agree with that but Brown had Buhrer and Lamb on his bench for Round 1 this year, so who knows.
same with Lamb, he's about to learn you dont get given an NRL jersey you earn it the hard way. .How did Cory Dennises search for a better offer go for him? Not always best to listen to your manager, especially when he’s a douchebag
Can't get behind this.Yeah, but Rossdog is even more ordinary
7I'm ok with Ross. He puts a lot into his game. I reckon he could work on skills and passing. There was a brief time he worked well with Denniss when Denniss actually showed some promise.
"With just one spot remaining in the club’s 30-man roster for next season unless a current player is off-loaded to a rival, Brown indicated he will be looking to potentially give a younger player already in the system an opportunity for a promotion to fill it."
https://www.theherald.com.au/story/...-knights-assured-as-new-recruit-mann-arrives/
I'd be holding out in case of injury but we possibly have the best backup we have had in a long time.
I don't think it's so much a case of he looked good in a bad team but more so in those bad teams you want someone like Ross who if anything tries too hard because you're not going to get much from other guys in the team.Geez Ross cops a bad wrap on here these days. How times have changed...
The bloke was badly injured last year and people seem to overlook this. I told my mate who played australian school boys years ago about Ross's injury and he was amazed that Ross was even able to run with it, let alone play. The older i get, the more i realise that most people make up their minds quickly on little evidence, as opposed to looking at the big picture. This forum is no different.
One of the arguments against Ross is that he looked good in a bad team. You have to have rocks in your head if you think that this strengthens an argument against him. When a team lacks go forward and a roll on, this affects the wingers as much as anyone, yet Ross was still able to score plenty of trys and made lots of metres. pre injury, he was also a good metre eater out of dummy half.
When we re-signed him, its interesting how quiet the forum was with protests. In fact, i remember heaps of people on here championing the idea of signing him.
The one gripe i have is that he was paid overs. I reckon 250k would have been a more reasonable salary for a 28 year old winger who was a late bloomer into first grade.