Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Apatus

And Ross might not be here round 1 after getting an offer from Huddersfield who are coached by woolfords dad.

What's he on at the knights? That plus the +$300k left in the warchest offers a luxurious position; start the season, see how everyone fits, throw ~600-700k at a decent target to fill any apparent gap or use that money to upgrade anyone that deserves it.

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nrl-mi...holds-key-to-three-club-merry-go-round_111218

ROSS CONSIDERS SUPER LEAGUE OFFER

Cult hero Nathan Ross is determined to defy Newcastle’s plans to send him packing - but may find an offer from Huddersfield too good to refuse.

The Knights signed Ross until the end of 2020 last year but now want him out after picking up Sharks pair Edrick Lee and Jesse Ramien and Souths’ Hymel Hunt.

The tryscoring utility back had an injury-plagued season in 2018 and has been determined to prove his worth to the Knights in the off-season, training his butt off.

But the offer from Huddersfield - and the fact that the Knights may not consider him for the top grade next year - may see Ross move to the UK, where he would be a sensation.

Giants coach Simon Woolford is pushing hard for the deal to go through - but it isn’t over the line…. yet.

Loose Cannon

And Ross might not be here round 1 after getting an offer from Huddersfield who are coached by woolfords dad.

What's he on at the knights? That plus the +$300k left in the warchest offers a luxurious position; start the season, see how everyone fits, throw ~600-700k at a decent target to fill any apparent gap or use that money to upgrade anyone that deserves it.
If Ross was to go we would have 6-700 to spend, but still 2 spots to fill.

Good spot to be in, nonetheless.

If Ross was to go we would have 6-700 to spend, but still 2 spots to fill.

Good spot to be in, nonetheless.
I'd be inclined to fill those spots with fringe players or young prospects and save the cash for upgrades to Kalyn and whoever else shows they deserve it. In fact, I'd be looking at putting a contract extension + upgrade to Kalyn over the next 12 months.

Mr_Knightside

The great thing about 2019 is that we have a versatile forward pack with heaps of options for the first time in ages. In fact there are a number of combinations that I would be quite happy with seeing on the team sheet in round 1.

From my perspective the only guys who pick themselves in the starting side at this stage are Klemmer, Fitzy and Guerra. I also think D Saf, Herman and Glasby will all be somewhere in the 17 so it just depends on whether that’s starting or bench and who plays prop/lock.

Then we’ve got Gavet, Sione, Barnett & Buhrer all battling for spots on the bench and the reality is a couple of these guys will be playing reserve grade in round 1.

Btw I’m also basing all of this on the assumption that both Levi and Mann will be in the 17. Not sure who Brown will start but Mann is too versatile to leave out and Levi will show his best form behind a good pack and with reduced minutes imo.

The fact that there isn’t an easy decision to make on team selections is amazing and I bet Brown will need to go off trial form and combos at training too. Either way I’m super excited for 2019.

Knight Vision

https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nrl-mi...holds-key-to-three-club-merry-go-round_111218

ROSS CONSIDERS SUPER LEAGUE OFFER

Cult hero Nathan Ross is determined to defy Newcastle’s plans to send him packing - but may find an offer from Huddersfield too good to refuse.

The Knights signed Ross until the end of 2020 last year but now want him out after picking up Sharks pair Edrick Lee and Jesse Ramien and Souths’ Hymel Hunt.

The tryscoring utility back had an injury-plagued season in 2018 and has been determined to prove his worth to the Knights in the off-season, training his butt off.

But the offer from Huddersfield - and the fact that the Knights may not consider him for the top grade next year - may see Ross move to the UK, where he would be a sensation.

Giants coach Simon Woolford is pushing hard for the deal to go through - but it isn’t over the line…. yet.
Please let it be so. Would be good for the Rossdog and the extra cash will help us retain/recruit. Thanks for the memories Rossdog have fun in England.

Bring it home Knights

Yeah, but Rossdog is even more ordinary
Geez Ross cops a bad wrap on here these days. How times have changed...

The bloke was badly injured last year and people seem to overlook this. I told my mate who played australian school boys years ago about Ross's injury and he was amazed that Ross was even able to run with it, let alone play. The older i get, the more i realise that most people make up their minds quickly on little evidence, as opposed to looking at the big picture. This forum is no different.

One of the arguments against Ross is that he looked good in a bad team. You have to have rocks in your head if you think that this strengthens an argument against him. When a team lacks go forward and a roll on, this affects the wingers as much as anyone, yet Ross was still able to score plenty of trys and made lots of metres. pre injury, he was also a good metre eater out of dummy half.

When we re-signed him, its interesting how quiet the forum was with protests. In fact, i remember heaps of people on here championing the idea of signing him.

The one gripe i have is that he was paid overs. I reckon 250k would have been a more reasonable salary for a 28 year old winger who was a late bloomer into first grade.

The bloke was badly injured last year and people seem to overlook this. I told my mate who played australian school boys years ago about Ross's injury and he was amazed that Ross was even able to run with it, let alone play. The older i get, the more i realise that most people make up their quickly on little evidence, as opposed to looking at the big picture. This forum is no different.

One of the arguments against Ross is that he looked good in a bad team. You have to have rocks in your head if you think thay this strengthens an argument against him. When a team lacks go forward and a roll on, this effects the wingers as much as anyone, yet Ross was still able to score plenty of trys and made lots of metres. pre injury, he was also a good metre eater out of dummy half.

When we re-signed him, its interesting how quiet the forum was with protests. In fact, i remember heaps of people on here championing the idea of signing him.

The one gripe i have is that he was paid overs. I reckon 250k would have been a more reasonable salary for a 28 year old winger who was a late bloomer into first grade.
I'm ok with Ross. He puts a lot into his game. I reckon he could work on skills and passing. There was a brief time he worked well with Denniss when Denniss actually showed some promise.

MrTwoBits

He played half of this year there.

If Fitz and Guerra aren't starting second rowers it's because one of them is injured.

Toohey had an article a week or so a good saying the best 17 basically picks itself apart from choosing Sione or Barnett on the bench.

I agree with that but Brown had Buhrer and Lamb on his bench for Round 1 this year, so who knows.
For mine Guerra doesn't have enough in the tank to play 80 on the edge anymore - he looked shot in the back end of games last year. (Although maybe that's different in 2019, with a pack around him that will be more dominant, and give him less clean-up work to do).

Think we likely see either Guerra on the edge with a bench of Glasby, Gavet and Sione/Barnett or Guerra at 13, moving Sione to 11. and a bench of Glasby, Ese Ese and Gavet.

"With just one spot remaining in the club’s 30-man roster for next season unless a current player is off-loaded to a rival, Brown indicated he will be looking to potentially give a younger player already in the system an opportunity for a promotion to fill it."
https://www.theherald.com.au/story/...-knights-assured-as-new-recruit-mann-arrives/

I'd be holding out in case of injury but we possibly have the best backup we have had in a long time.

Spot On

I'm ok with Ross. He puts a lot into his game. I reckon he could work on skills and passing. There was a brief time he worked well with Denniss when Denniss actually showed some promise.
"With just one spot remaining in the club’s 30-man roster for next season unless a current player is off-loaded to a rival, Brown indicated he will be looking to potentially give a younger player already in the system an opportunity for a promotion to fill it."
https://www.theherald.com.au/story/...-knights-assured-as-new-recruit-mann-arrives/

I'd be holding out in case of injury but we possibly have the best backup we have had in a long time.

There is a rumour that Seibold wants to move at least 2 more Bronco players on. Don't know which ones but will be interesting to watch who they are if true.

aqua_duck

The bloke was badly injured last year and people seem to overlook this. I told my mate who played australian school boys years ago about Ross's injury and he was amazed that Ross was even able to run with it, let alone play. The older i get, the more i realise that most people make up their minds quickly on little evidence, as opposed to looking at the big picture. This forum is no different.

One of the arguments against Ross is that he looked good in a bad team. You have to have rocks in your head if you think that this strengthens an argument against him. When a team lacks go forward and a roll on, this affects the wingers as much as anyone, yet Ross was still able to score plenty of trys and made lots of metres. pre injury, he was also a good metre eater out of dummy half.

I don't think it's so much a case of he looked good in a bad team but more so in those bad teams you want someone like Ross who if anything tries too hard because you're not going to get much from other guys in the team.
For mine Ross is the equivalent of a homeless man's Kurt Gidley, someone who looks fantastic playing in mediocre teams because you admire their hussle and their effort, but in good teams where you just need them to do their job they actually get in the way of more skilled players. With the team we've assembled for next season we don't need someone who tries too hard we just need someone that can do their job. I know Moga got injured quite early on but there were times you could tell he was getting visibly frustrated with Ross because Ross never wanted to stay on his wing and kept coming in field looking for the ball.
Point is for what we require Ross is simply not suited and well overpriced, Hunt I agree is nothing special but he's probably on 1/3 of the money Ross is on and could probably do just as good a job for what we require.