Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

The questions needs to be asked, how and why did both halves, who both were potential origin prospects this year, fail so miserably??? And how did an origin and test centre fall from grace so quickly??? These are our 3 highest paid stars and we’re looking to offload them all at the same time. Let’s not forget the rumours of French being shopped. And who do we have on our books that can replace these players? Which younger players, salmon???? The kid was bog average.
I reckon being 'bog average' in first grade at the age of 19 is the sign of a future first grader.

Cameron Smith was bog average in the two NRL games he played when he was 19. Cronk didn't even play first grade until the year he turned 21. Thurston was pretty good in attack at 19 but he was a massive liability in defence. Salmon is already NRL level in defence and he's still eligible for Jersey Flegg next year. Don't write him off.

100%. No point in offloading two or three players with a year to run and you can’t strengthen the squad. What’s the point paying them to play elsewhere. Isn’t this what RS did and we got into a huge mess cap wise?
It's part of rebuilding. The Chooks did it in 2016 to create space for their youngsters to come into the team. And no, Stuart didn't put us into a cap mess. We had a solid team in 2014. The only problem was Sandow still f**king up our defensive line.

Do you see the cycle here? Every year we are talking about our chances in a year or twos time. Why not f**k this clown off and bring in someone with fresh ideas for 3-5 years.
Except at the start of this year we were talking about our chances this year. It wasn't because we had a shit squad.

Obscene Assassin

I don’t think we’re looking to move all of them on at once, particularly Moses/Norman

Yeah I reckon by the time pre-season is finished one of them won't be here. The other will partner either Salmon or Brown then we'll see how they fair and if we don't think it's worth it the other will be gone by the 30th of June, if we find someone willing to take them.

Ok, name me one club in the history of the NRL that has looked to offload it’s top 3 paid players in a single season. It’s very concerning to say the least. What does it say about BA’s recruitment decisions? Put the choc and Foran signings on top of those, and it’s no wonder we’re the laughing stock of the nrl.
I doubt we are trying to offload all three of them. Just giving them the option and seeing which one(s) we need to subsidise the least.

Salmon was solid IMO, his defence was first grade standard at just 19. Not sure if he is a 6 just yet maybe a 4 or 14 at this stage in his career.

IFR33K

I don’t think we’re looking to move all of them on at once, particularly Moses/Norman

I’m not sure mate, I don’t even think the club knows what they’re doing. BA builds the team then looks to offload several star signings.

IFR33K

It's part of rebuilding. The Chooks did it in 2016 to create space for their youngsters to come into the team. And no, Stuart didn't put us into a cap mess. We had a solid team in 2014. The only problem was Sandow still f**king up our defensive line.

Yep, welcome to parra. Where the rebuilding never ends. Tell us again that winning spoons doesn’t hurt us attractting players

Ok, re our halves, does it raise any concerns about what in fact are our coaching staff doing? Do they have an actual plan or just signing players for the sake of it? Signing these players and then offloading them isn’t how it should be done. No wonder we have lack of leadership on the field, bc we lack it off it.

As for salmon, how would you describe him this year? Would you think he’s ready for a full season of FG?
I'd say signing Paulo and Ferguson shows they know exactly what they are doing. These two address our biggest shortfalls, which are go-forward out of our own half, and go-forward near the opposition line.

After another off season Salmon should be twice the player next year.

IFR33K

I doubt we are trying to offload all three of them. Just giving them the option and seeing which one(s) we need to subsidise the least.

Seems like we’re hoping for a miracle but no ones coming to the party. The club has no idea on what they’re doing.

Yep, welcome to parra. Where the rebuilding never ends. Tell us again that winning spoons doesn’t hurt us attractting players
The rebuild started in 2016. Last year we obviously overachieved. This year we underachieved. It's exciting to think how we'll go next year. Very exciting.