Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Whats over's for Mahoney???? You really think overs for Mahoney is 650k???
It doesn't actually matter what the figures are because we'll never know them. All we know is he's left a club that is being accused of not paying players what they're worth, despite performing well on the field, and joined a club that is struggling on the field and is paying players so much that they're having to subsidise them to leave. You notice the player managers and their media mates have never attacked the Bulldogs' spending? They love it.
I reckon an offer of around 500-550k and a 3 yr deal might of snared him originally which is nowhere near overs.
It doesn't matter what either of us reckon. The fact is we don't know what it would've taken to retain the player at any point during the past year, nor do we know what either club offered. So criticising anyone has no basis in fact. The only one who has enough public evidence to justify criticism is you, for being such a f**king idiot.

It doesn't actually matter what the figures are because we'll never know them. All we know is he's left a club that is being accused of not paying players what they're worth, despite performing well on the field, and joined a club that is struggling on the field and is paying players so much that they're having to subsidise them to leave. You notice the player managers and their media mates have never attacked the Bulldogs' spending? They love it.
It doesn't matter what either of us reckon. The fact is we don't know what it would've taken to retain the player at any point during the past year, nor do we know what either club offered. So criticising anyone has no basis in fact. The only one who has enough public evidence to justify criticism is you, for being such a f**king idiot.
Yet it’s ok for you to make bullshit assumptions on a daily basis. The club is right no matter what is the Pou motto. That and Plodders get me hard.

Sash

^^^^^
I'd be letting Mahoney go early but only if we can snare Hodgson for 2022. @lingard you could be on the money mate.

I wanted BA gone if we could replace him with someone like Bennett or Trent Robinson. I thought Shane Flanagan was a possibility however I spoke to some people in the know and they told me things and I changed my mind about him. Many clubs agree which is why he is now coaching North Macedonia.

I also spoke to a current player at Parra over a coffee and he gave me some insights on BA. He was very complimentary on him as a man and a coach. Sorry to big note but I know some people that know shit more than both of us.

When I was armed with all this information I supported BA’s extension because he was the best option.

Flip flop flip flop flip.

Sash

I wanted BA gone if we could replace him with someone like Bennett or Trent Robinson. I thought Shane Flanagan was a possibility however I spoke to some people in the know and they told me things and I changed my mind about him. Many clubs agree which is why he is now coaching North Macedonia.

I also spoke to a current player at Parra over a coffee and he gave me some insights on BA. He was very complimentary on him as a man and a coach. Sorry to big note but I know some people that know shit more than both of us.

When I was armed with all this information I supported BA’s extension because he was the best option.

Flip flop flip fl the

I reckon Tom Starling will be free to play next year. So I think Hodgson will come to us a year early, and Mahoney will be at the Bulldogs next year. To me that improves our side big time. Also Curtis Scott will come on board. At his best, he's very good. If I'm right, we could start 2022 with:
1. Gutherson
2. Simonsson
3. Waqa Blake
4. Penisini
5. Scott
6. Brown
7. Moses
8. R.C.G.
9. Hodgson
10. Paulo
11. Nuikorai
12. Matterson
13. N. Brown
14. Mitch Rein
15. Kaufusi
16. Papalii
17. Cartwright/Lane
With Dunster, Russell, Sivo, Emu, the Canterbury forward we just bought, and a couple of others I've forgotten, that's a team that could take the title next year.
It's very exciting!

That's a bloody good side!

Matty Bhoy

That's all well and good, but @Matty Bhoy also posted here a couple of months ago (from memory) his photos after working out with a couple of Eels like Drown and Ice and saying they all told him they're super jazzed playing for BA and pretty much all off contract players for 2023 were ready to re-sign en masse....

This is 100% not a criticism of @Matty Bhoy or to call in to question his info, I'm just trying to illustrate that what a bloke in negotiations tells a footy fan is something far different from what might actually be happening...
Nah all good. Yeah it was Papali’i specifically who said he was glad BA had re-signed and he was keen to know who the coach was before he extended. Obviously water flowed under the bridge after that.

Matty Bhoy

This article has quotes from Michael ennis about the signing.

Seems he was a key driver behind this decision
Ennis is now coaching at the Eeels but he’s spent the past three years working closely with Hodgson as an assistant in Canberra.

Ennis beleives Hodgson could be the perfect cog to complement the Eels budding spine which includes Dylan Brown, Mitchell Moses and Clint Gutherson.

Honestly… I have no idea how some of these guys have jobs :D

I reckon Tom Starling will be free to play next year. So I think Hodgson will come to us a year early, and Mahoney will be at the Bulldogs next year. To me that improves our side big time. Also Curtis Scott will come on board. At his best, he's very good. If I'm right, we could start 2022 with:
1. Gutherson
2. Simonsson
3. Waqa Blake
4. Penisini
5. Scott
6. Brown
7. Moses
8. R.C.G.
9. Hodgson
10. Paulo
11. Nuikorai
12. Matterson
13. N. Brown
14. Mitch Rein
15. Kaufusi
16. Papalii
17. Cartwright/Lane
With Dunster, Russell, Sivo, Emu, the Canterbury forward we just bought, and a couple of others I've forgotten, that's a team that could take the title next year.
It's very exciting!

Our backline looks fast again. I think Dunster will get a starting spot and it will be his to lose. Russel will depend on his off-season.

Gutherson,Simmonson,Blake,Pensini,Scott if started means our NSW CUP backline could be

Russel, Dunster, Opacic, Perham, Sivo. Quite good back ups to NRL with youth and experience.. You then have Laizou and Naiduki coming through also who all could be smokies for NRL.

Incorrect

Ennis is now coaching at the Eeels but he’s spent the past three years working closely with Hodgson as an assistant in Canberra.

Ennis beleives Hodgson could be the perfect cog to complement the Eels budding spine which includes Dylan Brown, Mitchell Moses and Clint Gutherson.

Honestly… I have no idea how some of these guys have jobs :D
You know what's going to be fun?

Listening to Sticky's mates on NRL 360 and the broader Fox coverage tell us and everyone what a poisonous influence Hodgson was the last 2 years and how he disregarded Ricky's playbook every time the Raiders lost, even when Hodgson wasn't even playing!!!!