Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Lemon Squash

think we'll go on a run this year. We haven't peaked at all and BA seems to be confident that this is our best chance of winning a GF. I feel we're the only team that can beat Penrith this year. I'd love to see those pricks faces if we beat them in the GF it would be priceless.

I hope I am wrong but I think we will shit the bed and be lucky to win 2-3 of our remaining games... probably scrape into the 8 by the skin of our teeth and then get bundled out first week.

Nothing I have seen from us this season is giving me any confidence.

Yes we managed to get up in one off games and knock of Melbourne and Penrith but it means nothing if you can't be consistent enough to win games against 'lesser' teams and put ourselves into the 4 so we can give it a shake.

Our defence is putrid, the worst its been in years... a team conceding on average 20 points a game historically does not compete for a premiership.

I hope more than anything that these merkins prove me wrong but we are miles off where we need to be.

Pazza

I hope I am wrong but I think we will shit the bed and be lucky to win 2-3 of our remaining games... probably scrape into the 8 by the skin of our teeth and then get bundled out first week.

Yes we managed to get up in one off games and knock of Melbourne and Penrith but it means nothing if you can't be consistent enough to win games against 'lesser' teams and put ourselves into the 4 so we can give it a shake.

Our defence is putrid, the worst its been in years... a team conceding on average 20 points a game historically does not compete for a premiership.

I hope more than anything that these merkins prove me wrong but we are miles off where we need to be.

We are too big, too slow and in turn too compressed in defense.

84 Baby

I reckon either we finish strong (I.e. top 4 chance) or we don’t even make 8 (unless the other challengers gift it to us).
I feel this year the “our games are decided in first couple of sets” isn’t quite correct. I reckon they’re being decided midweek, and that attitude of “we’ll be right at the end of season” has pervaded through the squad. Peaking at the business time of season is all well and good, but a shit attitude is going to lower that peak no matter how well you time it.

Given that we've won 11 games, I reckon that we might have beaten some teams other than Melbourne and Penrith.

Frankly, if we only the beaten the lowest ranked teams, and lost to all the better ones, people would complain about that too.

Basically no result would surprise me tonight. But I think our style works better against the Broncs than against Manly/Souths.

SneakyEel

I disagree I don't think we're miles from where we need to be. In the warriors game, we were very good against a Warriors team that was playing very well against us. A couple of late tries made the score look a lot better than it was. I think BA is trying to not batter us by the time finals come and we're playing more conserved footy. Watch us in the next couple of weeks heading towards finals start playing that bashing, hard-running footy that we are known for. Last year we were playing like that and we couldn't maintain it for the whole year. I believe we're Penrith's biggest threat and I wouldn't be surprised if we finished 4th and beat them in week 1 of finals. Also, BA said at a press conference that he believes this is our best chance for us to win a premiership I don't think he'll be saying that for the hell of it. He's obviously seen something over the weeks for him to say that.

Lemon Squash

I disagree I don't think we're miles from where we need to be. In the warriors game, we were very good against a Warriors team that was playing very well against us. A couple of late tries made the score look a lot better than it was. I think BA is trying to not batter us by the time finals come and we're playing more conserved footy. Watch us in the next couple of weeks heading towards finals start playing that bashing, hard-running footy that we are known for. Last year we were playing like that and we couldn't maintain it for the whole year. I believe we're Penrith's biggest threat and I wouldn't be surprised if we finished 4th and beat them in week 1 of finals. Also, BA said at a press conference that he believes this is our best chance for us to win a premiership I don't think he'll be saying that for the hell of it. He's obviously seen something over the weeks for him to say that.

The Panthers played The Warriors 3-4 weeks ago up at Redcliffe. The Warriors turned up and actually had a red hot crack, they moved the ball around nicely and created a few early chances and played pretty close to their ability.

Penrith were a bit scratchy early and never really got out of third gear for the entire game.

Penrith won 40-6. That's the difference.

If you want to believe BA is just taking in the p*ss by having us just going through the motions this time of year, lulling the rest of the competition into a false sense of security, then you have more faith than me brother. Hope you are right though!

Lemon Squash

Given that we've won 11 games, I reckon that we might have beaten some teams other than Melbourne and Penrith.

Frankly, if we only the beaten the lowest ranked teams, and lost to all the better ones, people would complain about that too.

Basically no result would surprise me tonight. But I think our style works better against the Broncs than against Manly/Souths.

Of course... but we have also been beaten by the other 2 teams which are sitting in the top 4 and one was a belting.

All teams drop points against teams below them but its the nature of how we have done it this year. Even games we have managed to win we really struggle to be 'dominant' and put teams away early, our ordinary for and against shows that.

Of course... but we have also been beaten by the other 2 teams which are sitting in the top 4 and one was a belting.

All teams drop points against teams below them but its the nature of how we have done it this year. Even games we have managed to win we really struggle to be 'dominant' and put teams away early, our ordinary for and against shows that.

Oh, we're not great, but we are better than ok. I don't think there's much consistent difference between teams 2 through 7, and the NRL ladder supports that.

King-Gutho94

Tigers loss is the one that will stewed over all year. There is no way we should have lost to that mob at home.

Even with a minute to go we should have closed it out.

If we won that I don't think everyone will feel as shitty as the reality is you lose games throughout out the year. We would be 12-5 equal 2nd.

No other team has given up 2 points for a home game by losing to the Tigers this year.

Tigers loss is the one that will stewed over all year. There is no way we should have lost to that mob at home.

Even with a minute to go we should have closed it out.

If we won that I don't think everyone will feel as shitty as the reality is you lose games throughout out the year. We would be 12-5 equal 2nd.

No other team has given up 2 points for a home game by losing to the Tigers this year.

Absolutely. I wasn't suggesting that losing that game didn't annoy me. It's just not a big KPI in my book.

Did Jack Gibson parachute his son in to the squad with 7 rounds to go?

Do you seriously think it is as simply as BA saying, "I'm gonna pick my son no matter what, no one will notice"? The problem is that we don't have too many other backup options in the halves who can defend in the NRL. We should have, but we don't.

I'm unsure how our season will go.

We could win 5/7, finish top 4 and feel good.

We could win 2/7 and miss the 8 or just sneak in an not be confident.

We could just win 3 or 4 and go into finals with no more idea then right now.

All I do know is tonight's game and next week will get us closer to these answers. If we come out and flog Brisbane tonight and compete with Penrith win or lose in a close game I reckon our odds to win title come into about 7-1

I hope you’re right mate