Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

I'm unsure how our season will go.

We could win 5/7, finish top 4 and feel good.

We could win 2/7 and miss the 8 or just sneak in an not be confident.

We could just win 3 or 4 and go into finals with no more idea then right now.

All I do know is tonight's game and next week will get us closer to these answers. If we come out and flog Brisbane tonight and compete with Penrith win or lose in a close game I reckon our odds to win title come into about 7-1
There are some interesting games ahead for everyone over the next 7 weeks that will have a big bearing on the final 8, however we definitely have the hardest draw.

If you assume that the current Top 8 remains (the only serious challengers for spots in the 8 are Roosters and Raiders), apart from Penrith and the Cowboys, based on how each team has peformed against the rest of the top 8 makes the remaining teams look pretty even (although Manly has struggled).

TeamGames v Top 8 (current)Win/LossesTo play (current Top 8)
Panthers65/1 83% wins5 more (11 total)
Cowboys75/2 72% wins2 more (9 total)
Sharks64/2 66% wins3 more (9 total)
Storm94/5 44% wins4 more (13 total)
Broncos84/4 50% wins3 more (11 total)
Eels63/3 50% wins6 more (12 total)
Bunnies62/4 33% wins5 more (11 total)
Manly81/8 11% wins2 more (10 total)

Legal Eel

I hope you’re right mate

To clarify, you hope that the original poster is right in their opinion that "we will shit the bed and be lucky to win 2-3 of our remaining games... probably scrape into the 8 by the skin of our teeth and then get bundled out first week."

Is that because such a scenario would facilitate internet battles for months on end?

Legal Eel

I’m sure he would’ve given promising youngsters a run off the bench if he had four spots to fill. Plenty of other coaches have.
The great fallacy here is the acceptance of the premise that Jake Arthur is a "promising youngster".

Youngster? Yes.

Promising? Undoubtedly not - the kid would be lucky to be anywhere but the Jersey Flegg squad at any other club.

84 Baby

There are some interesting games ahead for everyone over the next 7 weeks that will have a big bearing on the final 8, however we definitely have the hardest draw.

If you assume that the current Top 8 remains (the only serious challengers for spots in the 8 are Roosters and Raiders), apart from Penrith and the Cowboys, based on how each team has peformed against the rest of the top 8 makes the remaining teams look pretty even (although Manly has struggled).

TeamGames v Top 8 (current)Win/LossesTo play (current Top 8)
Panthers65/1 83% wins5 more (11 total)
Cowboys75/2 72% wins2 more (9 total)
Sharks64/2 66% wins3 more (9 total)
Storm94/5 44% wins4 more (13 total)
Broncos84/4 50% wins3 more (11 total)
Eels63/3 50% wins6 more (12 total)
Bunnies62/4 33% wins5 more (11 total)
Manly81/8 11% wins2 more (10 total)
I see what you’re saying… 4 point games!!!

Also that the Cows & Sharks got one of them easy draws

84 Baby

To clarify, you hope that the original poster is right in their opinion that "we will shit the bed and be lucky to win 2-3 of our remaining games... probably scrape into the 8 by the skin of our teeth and then get bundled out first week."

Is that because such a scenario would facilitate internet battles for months on end?
You’ll need to dumb down your posts for us dummies

Chipmunk

Has anyone ever won the GF when coming 11th last with 7 rounds to go though?
I'd put money on the Tigpies.

EDIT - Tigpies were equal 7th last (equal 9th in a 15 team comp) with 7 rounds to go in 2005. However, they were also equal 12th last (4th in a 15 team comp). Amazingly there was 6 teams on 22 points at the conclusion of Round 19 in 2005. I don't have the for and against details.

We were 2nd on 26 points at the time. 2005 is really the one that got away for us.

The great fallacy here is the acceptance of the premise that Jake Arthur is a "promising youngster".

Youngster? Yes.

Promising? Undoubtedly not - the kid would be lucky to be anywhere but the Jersey Flegg squad at any other club.

Yet, he didn't accept the premise. He simply implied it. People are free to disagree.

JA would play in Reggies at several clubs. He just wouldn't be first cab off the rank to back up the NRL team.

Youngster? Yes.

Yes and many agree including me. But I am sick to death hearing about it.
I don't want the kid in side but he is. We are all just armchair judges as well. As much as we bag coaching staff they see things we do not so have a better idea.
I think it is time for everyone to let the JA thing go for a bit. Its becoming a bit much now.

Fafita is going to be available. We should be looking to get him. He is a genuine game breaker and x factor. When on he is better then Kikau.
If we snagged for 750k I'd be happy to risk it. If we have enough to keep Papali'i then we must have close to 550k spare. If we can release N.Brown ( We will have to chip in) we should gain another 300k
Gee this would make us potent

Fafita is going to be available. We should be looking to get him. He is a genuine game breaker and x factor. When on he is better then Kikau.
If we snagged for 750k I'd be happy to risk it. If we have enough to keep Papali'i then we must have close to 550k spare. If we can release N.Brown ( We will have to chip in) we should gain another 300k
The roosters will release crighton and free up a million (nudge nudge, wink wink) on their cap

lucablight

I'd put money on the Tigpies.

EDIT - Tigpies were equal 7th last (equal 9th in a 15 team comp) with 7 rounds to go in 2005. However, they were also equal 12th last (4th in a 15 team comp). Amazingly there was 6 teams on 22 points at the conclusion of Round 19 in 2005. I don't have the for and against details.

We were 2nd on 26 points at the time. 2005 is really the one that got away for us.
Fui getting suspended and Hindmarsh (our two best forwards) getting injured right before the finals really screwed us over.

yy_cheng

I've put up fafita before.

Get him this year as well to make our charge into the finals. He could really solve our attack in the red zone issue.

Not only giving it to him in the red zone but also like kikau, use him as a decoy.

Lane on the left, Fafita right.

Paps into the middle on the bench for Plodderman

If we get Fafita, dont care so much then that we lost Paps and Marata