Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I feel like the wet should suit our team but I'm probably missing something.

I agree - our physical, safety first style of football should translate well to the wet.

But then, 2022 has been a weird season all around - we defended pretty well last year, and with mostly the same roster our defence is abysmal this season.

JokerEel

Apparently, Joseph Suaalii has a clause in his Roosters contract that allows him to leave at any time to either play rugby union, or play fullback at another NRL club.

Yes I read that today, It will be interesting if he feels like sticking on the wing behind Teddy for 5 or so years OR will Teddy go back to the Tigers to be with Benji in a year or 2.

I would be happy to get him but we won't even try.

chiefy1

Because it generally reduces the opposition's time with the ball. Arthur also has us as the highest offloading team for the fourth straight year.

f**k Arthur. You've been talking Arthur up for the past year yet its looking very likely parra will be bottom of the 8 or even miss the finals completely. Are you related to Brad pau pau ?.

No it doesn't. Our big forward tire amd can't get feet out of ground.
You're saying wet weather increases fatigue?
Moses and Brown are dry weather hot steppers.
This is true but plenty of teams have players with good footwork. Look at the Panthers.
BA has built a team for dry warm weather footy. It's certaintly a September team.
Problem is La Niña. We are very unlucky 😔
Here's hoping it's lucky come finals time.

eels_fan

And this is why the Eels are not a top club...
The cowboys are paying Townsend $800k and he wasn’t even making the sharks first grade squad last year…

if you look at 80% of the million dollar players in the NRL you could easily make a case on them being on overs.

It’s a supply and demand thing - is there a better half on the market than Moses? Nope. Is going rate for a top 5 player in the halfback position at or near $1m - yep.

If I didn't think they made a difference I wouldn't care who the coach was, would I? But under Barrett they played seven games (from ten) against current top eight sides and beat the Cowboys and Roosters. Under Potter they have played only half their games (four from eight) against the top eight and beat the bottom two teams plus Parra. Barrett also got Manly into the finals. Potter has never coached in the finals. Barrett might be shit but don't pretend Potter is a better coach.
So Potter is lucky and Barrett isn’t, gotcha.

Stevie

Yes I read that today, It will be interesting if he feels like sticking on the wing behind Teddy for 5 or so years OR will Teddy go back to the Tigers to be with Benji in a year or 2.

I would be happy to get him but we won't even try.
Teddy is on mega bucks at Roosters and plays with a great team. He is already a legend there. No way he is leaving for a measly bit more money.

Oh Rammy. My point is how much better would Penisini be if hed been in the Chooks system these past 2 years? Id suggest hed be considerably better. Now consider the reverse with Suaalii in our system. Not so dumb I reckon.
I think Penisini definitely would've looked better at the Roosters and Suaali wouldn't have looked as good at Parra as he does at the Roosters, but I think Suaali is objectively a better player. Penisni might play Origin whereas Suaali will for sure. He could be the next Hayne or Inglis.

parra pete

Didnt we beat Melbourne twice in the wet?
No...What is a premership win..Put in perspective, it is three hours of euphoria after the full time siren...and then waiting another four months until it starts on equal terms again...and watching Clubs plunder each others stocks and then say "Yah, we're the best"...lol. I enjoy the contests. Win bewdy, lose nah, just a game..You live longer with less stress.

JokerEel

The cowboys are paying Townsend $800k and he wasn’t even making the sharks first grade squad last year…

if you look at 80% of the million dollar players in the NRL you could easily make a case on them being on overs.

It’s a supply and demand thing - is there a better half on the market than Moses? Nope. Is going rate for a top 5 player in the halfback position at or near $1m - yep.

Yep and Reynolds at the Broncos getting paid good money and look where those 2 teams are at the Moment in the first season at halves...
Moses has been at the Eels for 5 seasons and thinks he should get 1 million and not being a consistent rep player...

Moses isn't a top 5 half just like Gutho isn't a top 5 Fullback.

Just because there isnt anyone better doesn't mean the club should waste money on him..

Win a competition you then get your money not before.

Gazzamatta

I think Penisini definitely would've looked better at the Roosters and Suaali wouldn't have looked as good at Parra as he does at the Roosters, but I think Suaali is objectively a better player. Penisni might play Origin whereas Suaali will for sure. He could be the next Hayne or Inglis.
Probably but we are most definitely not comparing oranges with oranges. Way too many variables. Id suggest hed be as effective as Simmonson given our lack of resources. 😁