Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

It would of been 500k minus what Penrith chipped in which I heard 150k for first 3 season. Full freight after.
High chance we averaged the whole lot out which brings it to about 400k. I think at the time that would of been seen as a fair deal. Young with stack of upside. And he hasn't been a terrible player.
I reckon guy like Opacic would cost 200k while Superman closer to the 250k mark.
150k wouldn't get you anything much good. Id guess even Russel is north of that amount as is Dunster. And both aren't even guaranteed NRL players. Jury still out.

Waqa is still at this point better then both regardless of what fans on here think. Not to say either wont be better. But on his day Waqa is a game breaker. And if one on one within 10mtrs he is unstoppable. The other two are not.
All fair, except why would he have been on $500k at Penrith? He signed that contract in about 2018 ffs. He had achieved nothing, and $500k was huge back then.

TheRam

Im not keen on Schuster for all the reasons you have listed. We are in desperate need for an organising half with good passing and kicking game and not Schuster who effectively would be a bigger Brooks in the halves. It seems that Schuster is set against playing in the pack.

I dont want him .......but........I love our pack at the moment but the one position we dont really have sorted is a ball playing lock. If Schuster put his mid and body to it, he could be an excellent 13. As everyone has said, he needs a serious attitude adjustment and I dont think the Tigers is the place that would do it for him. Storm would turn him into a monster.
You signed one of the best junior locks mate. I wish we had him.

Legal Eel

If you go back you’ll see I said he might be on $500k but it makes no sense as there is no mechanism to pay him that much. Not by us and not by Penrith. He was an outside back (not a spine player or a forward) in his mid-20s who had achieved nothing. There just wouldn’t have been the demand, especially with the security provided by such a long contract. Clubs might take that risk on a shorter contract but not for four or five years.

This isn’t evidence. It is private information and the media claim to know how much every player is on? It’s bullshit, designed to stir up idiot footy fans.

You are doing exactly what sports journalists want you to do.
So multiple media articles have reported that he is on big money (including Phil Gould in previous podcasts) but, because you cant conceive of the logic of Blake being paid that amount, you conclude that it is not true?

Just how self-deluded are you? Some things just are, whether you can conceive them or not.